Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should Smith, Warner, Bancroft bans be lifted asap?

Should Smith, Warner, Bancroft bans be lifted

Mr Spock!

I'd rather watch a team play fair and lose than a side cheat and win.

What's funny is that the very same people who complain about the punishments handed down, had zero issue with the Storm losing their titles for cheating the cap.
So you enjoyed the India series then.....

I'd rather watch a team play fair and lose than a side cheat and win.

What's funny is that the very same people who complain about the punishments handed down, had zero issue with the Storm losing their titles for cheating the cap.

wtf

The ICC has also been consistent with ball tampering, A few have been caught out and copped suspension and fines - without the hysteria.

It was click bait media suspension by CA. To quote a Green Day song "I don't want a nation controlled by the media"

What's even funnier, some people think others condone cheating and winning just because we think the punishment was unfair

Mr Spock!

[
I would love to know how much CA has cost themselves over this debacle. Putting this ban on Smith and Warner has exposed the mismanagement of CA
Well at least the Indians are going to the game. The crowd in Sydney seemed to be mainly Indian.

Channel 7 will be happy they outbid 9.

typicalfan

[

Well at least the Indians are going to the game. The crowd in Sydney seemed to be mainly Indian.

Channel 7 will be happy they outbid 9.
Not just crowds but ratings and merchandise given Smith and Warner were the two biggest names by far. The redemption story might have even increased crowds.

Fangs

Many years on now...Fangs older and wiser.

The Warner leadership ban wasn't necessary. They were never going to offer him a captaincy role in the national team anyway so why bother with the ban? It continued to hang around as an issue and we would have been better served just icing him out of the role unofficially.

The suspensions from playing cricket I'm happy with. We aren't SA, England or India. We have our own standards and ICC standards for blatant cheating are far too low.

Did the bowlers and other players know? Most likely. But it's not practical to ban them all. Who made the plan, who carried it out and who was the captain/coach? Start with them and deal with the rest. Langer came in and restored humility in the team (As per his mate Usman Khawaja) and now we are the number one team in the world.

Why not? If bowlers were in the know and went along with it, then they are no different to Smith

IMO I have thought the penalties were too harsh for the 3 outed, nothings changed , but protecting others who were involved is just as bad (if that was the case). Then again, there are other nations who would have done the same Im sure, but I thought we aint them when it comes to ethics??

Fangs

Why not? If bowlers were in the know and went along with it, then they are no different to Smith

IMO I have thought the penalties were too harsh for the 3 outed, nothings changed , but protecting others who were involved is just as bad (if that was the case). Then again, there are other nations who would have done the same Im sure, but I thought we aint them when it comes to ethics??

How many do you want to ban? The whole XI? What about the 12th man and substitute fielder from A-Grade?

I'm you've seen the footage of Khawaja watching Bancroft pour sugar into his pocket in the SCG dressing room during the Ashes. So its not just a bowler thing. Most would have known. Watch Handscomb's reaction on the walkie-talkie during the Capetown test when he gets word about the sandpaper on the big screen.

I know where you are coming from. Its an uneven punishment. But if we are going past the point of banning the offender (Bancroft) as well as the captain, vice and coach (He wasn't banned but he found his own way out) then we wouldn't even have a team to field. The rot starts at the head so cut it off.

On another note. Go back the year prior to the India tour. Smith looks to our dressing room to get information on an LBW referral. Kohli catches him in the act and Smith walks. I was surprised more wasn't said about that at the time. I didn't envision we'd do the sandpaper thing but it was clear in hindsight the team culture had devolved.

King-Gutho94

The South African series got out of control the moment Davey reacted to De Kock in the change rooms over a candice/SBW sledge and wanted to start a fight.

Australia were then abused from the crowd from that moment on and lost complete control of there emotions especially Davey.

A parra fan I met at the footy one day who I see a few times a year was telling me he went to Joberg for the 4th test had it booked 9 months in advance and then got to south Africa to see us dish out a B team get walloped after sandpaper.

Talk about bad timing

How many do you want to ban? The whole XI? What about the 12th man and substitute fielder from A-Grade?

I'm you've seen the footage of Khawaja watching Bancroft pour sugar into his pocket in the SCG dressing room during the Ashes. So its not just a bowler thing. Most would have known. Watch Handscomb's reaction on the walkie-talkie during the Capetown test when he gets word about the sandpaper on the big screen.

I know where you are coming from. Its an uneven punishment. But if we are going past the point of banning the offender (Bancroft) as well as the captain, vice and coach (He wasn't banned but he found his own way out) then we wouldn't even have a team to field. The rot starts at the head so cut it off.

On another note. Go back the year prior to the India tour. Smith looks to our dressing room to get information on an LBW referral. Kohli catches him in the act and Smith walks. I was surprised more wasn't said about that at the time. I didn't envision we'd do the sandpaper thing but it was clear in hindsight the team culture had devolved.

Yeah ban the lot
Not me talking , but on behalf of everyone outraged of the 3 outed.

The people who wanted blood for the 3 outed surely wouldn’t want any cheaters in the side at whatever cost , surely ??

All talk of Warner and a book spilling the beans but I reckon he won’t, he will throw SA under the bus and things they did

Fangs

Yeah ban the lot
Not me talking , but on behalf of everyone outraged of the 3 outed.

The people who wanted blood for the 3 outed surely wouldn’t want any cheaters in the side at whatever cost , surely ??

All talk of Warner and a book spilling the beans but I reckon he won’t, he will throw SA under the bus and things they did

Well that's our sport.

If it happened again today I bet the PM would make public comments about it. Its more than a national sport its an institution. People who don't even like cricket still put the boxing day test on the TV. So outrage or praise it's going to get attention.

I'm on the fence about Warner. In public it seems his relationship with his NSW team mates is alright. But it's his right to tell his side of the story and air the dirty laundry. Likewise Bancroft and others. I hope it doesn't sink to that because no one will gain anything writing a retrospective gossip column on ball tampering. Except perhaps some book sales.

Warner just made big headlines by being cheeky and offering to return to the test team. He is a polarising character, more than Michael Clarke I'd say. He barely lifts a finger and he will get the Facebook comment crowd into a frenzy. Whatever he wants to say post playing career is up to him but he won't have any problem getting attention.