Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sign Tom Turbo

In my opinion, we should sign Tom Turbo and Hasler before someone else does.

Suli to 11.
Ramsey to 3
Tom Turbi to fullback

1. Tom Turbo
2. Matt Feagai
2. Ramsey
4. Lomax
5. Ravalawa
6. Amone
7. Hunt / Sullivan
8. Bew prop
9. Robson / Sullivan
10. De Belin
11. Suli
12. Su'A
13. Bird

14. Sullivan / Mbye
15. F Molo
16. Lawrie
17. M Molo

Dragon David

Manly supporter here, Turbo is incredible but unfortunately made of glass and he ain't signing for less then 1.1 million a year I reckon...

Sure you want him?
I read that he has played 34 games in 3 years for your club. A match winner, yes, however his injuries are a concern and as you say he is made of glass and would be a gamble for any club to be paying out that sort of money. So it is a no from me. Sorry possm.

Chippy73

I read that he has played 34 games in 3 years for your club. A match winner, yes, however his injuries are a concern and as you say he is made of glass and would be a gamble for any club to be paying out that sort of money. So it is a no from me. Sorry possm.
I am guessing there is no way the Turbo Bros (i.e. Turbo and Jurbo and the other young Turbo whose name escapes me) will play against each other either so it's gonna be sign all three or not at all (at the very least Turbo and Jurbo AKA Fat Turbo)

Attachments

• Bilsey reeees.gif
    Bilsey reeees.gif
    542.4 KB · Views: 4

Possum old mate , the only hitch is that they are signed until 2026 .

Should they activate the get-out clause of their contract if Hasler is not there , then they will still be seeking top dollar from any prospective buyer .

Our management have enough trouble spending a penny let alone having the wits to lure 2 international players down to Wollongong .

Parko1310

We don't need backs, we need forwards. So I'd consider Jake, but not Tom (if they were to even become available). And then maybe Ben as he's touted to become a second-rower.

redv13

In my opinion, we should sign Tom Turbo and Hasler before someone else does.

Suli to 11.
Ramsey to 3
Tom Turbi to fullback

1. Tom Turbo
2. Matt Feagai
2. Ramsey
4. Lomax
5. Ravalawa
6. Amone
7. Hunt / Sullivan
8. Bew prop
9. Robson / Sullivan
10. De Belin
11. Suli
12. Su'A
13. Bird

14. Sullivan / Mbye
15. F Molo
16. Lawrie
17. M Molo
Love you possm but fair dinkum. Come on mate, Hook has a better chance of getting a 5 year extension than Tommy playing in the red v

And poor David Fifita, dropped like a hot potato.....you are heartless, poss'm
Well, management do not seem to be moving to recruit Fifita. I still believe he is the right replacement for Sims given that Sims was on 800k.

Now our club has made a decision on Hunt and that decision will affect how many marquee players we can afford for 2023. Surely there is room for at least one given the price of our current spine is compared to other clubs.

So, bring in one of the best fullbacks and game changes in the NRL, move Ramsey to left-center, and Suli to replace Sims. Suli has the size, speed and attacking flair to make the move to the edge; he has been playing edge like football ever since coming to the Dragons.

I say we can't just sit still and hope things will change for the better without making any positive changes. Tom Turbo and possibly his brothers as well would love the chance to move to a new club coached by Hasler. So it all makes sense to me. It would also allow the club to rid itself of discounted players like Su'A and possibly any other forward that wants out.

If I had my way, there would be wholesale changes at the Board level, followed by more changes in the football department i.e. saying goodbye to Horan and Griffin. All of these changes could very well set the Dragons up for a successful 2023 and beyond.

Reactions: Qdf

Phantom V

Well, management do not seem to be moving to recruit Fifita. I still believe he is the right replacement for Sims given that Sims was on 800k.

Now our club has made a decision on Hunt and that decision will affect how many marquee players we can afford for 2023. Surely there is room for at least one given the price of our current spine is compared to other clubs.

So, bring in one of the best fullbacks and game changes in the NRL, move Ramsey to left-center, and Suli to replace Sims. Suli has the size, speed and attacking flair to make the move to the edge; he has been playing edge like football ever since coming to the Dragons.

I say we can't just sit still and hope things will change for the better without making any positive changes. Tom Turbo and possibly his brothers as well would love the chance to move to a new club coached by Hasler. So it all makes sense to me. It would also allow the club to rid itself of discounted players like Su'A and possibly any other forward that wants out.

If I had my way, there would be wholesale changes at the Board level, followed by more changes in the football department i.e. saying goodbye to Horan and Griffin. All of these changes could very well set the Dragons up for a successful 2023 and beyond.
Love your work Possm, but I have to disagree regarding bringing in Fifita. We all witnessed how Simms became a player who would drift in and out of games and it would just be more of the same for bigger $$.
I’d rather be spending that money on some descent props.

matPORTS

Would gladly take Jake as we have a void which he could definitely fill. Not sold on the other brothers being good signings vs what we currently have.

One thing I (and I'm sure others) nearly overlooked in this latest 'Possum Dream Team' - Robson at 9 ?

redandwhite4evr

Des' sacking at Manly is likely to trigger player unrest and my preference would be to sign some of the big bopper Polynesian forwards (Olakauatu and Paseka) who may come onto the market. Jake and Tom are part of a family dynasty on the Northern Beaches and I can't see them moving and like previous posters, I have injury concerns about Tom anyway. It's a no to Hasler as well from me- he's getting old, cranky and set in his ways like Hook. However, we do need to move Hook on and sign a younger coach for multiple years because no player agent will recommend their client go to a club with the coach only signed for 2023 and with not much more security than Des had. My preference would be either Flanno or Hannay.

Phantom V

w
Des' sacking at Manly is likely to trigger player unrest and my preference would be to sign some of the big bopper Polynesian forwards (Olakauatu and Paseka) who may come onto the market. Jake and Tom are part of a family dynasty on the Northern Beaches and I can't see them moving and like previous posters, I have injury concerns about Tom anyway. It's a no to Hasler as well from me- he's getting old, cranky and set in his ways like Hook. However, we do need to move Hook on and sign a younger coach for multiple years because no player agent will recommend their client go to a club with the coach only signed for 2023 and with not much more security than Des had. My preference would be either Flanno or Hannay.

Phantom V

Good post! I agree 100%.