Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Singer Robbie Williams new face of NRL TV campaign

Gee I love the negativity about the decision to go with this song. One complaint seems to be it "does not appeal to the average league follower". Well gee, I thought it was designed to get more people to watch or go to a game, not the same people who go week in week out. I mean having stagnant or falling crowds/ratings won't hurt the game will it :crazy:

The other complaint seems to be because it is a "old" song or "by some old fogey". Really? What a surprise they get a song by someone who is known across more than the youth generation of today. :shock: I mean what is the point if a song chosen (for example) only appeals to 15 year old head bangers but has no appeal to any other cross section of society? I would suggest that this song is appealing to an untapped market in league, and that is women.

Quite frankly the negativity is surprising, but what is funnier is the lack of viable alternatives anyone has thrown up.

Exactly .
But according to one brain on here they are wrong .
Maybe next yr the NRL should consult with some clueless sharks fan .

Someone

I always envision a head stuck up an arse when I see people boasting about their taste in music.

we get it you're a music snob, move on.

Someone

do ya mate?

think about stuff put up arse's a lot?

fishing-fail-o.gif

veggiepatch1959

A few of my favourite Aussie bands there but none of those songs would work for an NRL ad campaign.

And who the f**k are Airbourne?? If there was a law against musical plagiarism, AC/DC would have a field day. Useless bunch of copycat hacks.

I reckon any of those would shit all over robbie Williams or Bon jovi
I could shit onto a microphone and it would be better than Bon jovi though.
Heaps better

At least airborne would show up on grand final day.
They are on the list for the 80% bogan fan base that NRL has.

pHyR3

I reckon any of those would shit all over robbie Williams or Bon jovi
I could shit onto a microphone and it would be better than Bon jovi though.
Heaps better

At least airborne would show up on grand final day.
They are on the list for the 80% bogan fan base that NRL has.

the NRL isnt trying to appeal to its fan base with this ad

ads are designed to get NEW PEOPLE interested in the NRL.

TheVelourFog

Well for a start you cant identify the song with NRL because it has been used hundreds of times to promote everything in the last 20 years. Compare that to Simply The Best, which to this day evokes memories of rugby league.

It appears lazy.

veggiepatch1959

Well for a start you cant identify the song with NRL because it has been used hundreds of times to promote everything in the last 20 years. Compare that to Simply The Best, which to this day evokes memories of rugby league.

It appears lazy.

You have to be kidding....OK???

That song evokes memories of a washed up old hag....even in its day.

Lambretta

Awesome
A soccer fan from England that was in a boy band is singing the anthem.

Singing a song that is older than half the players in the game.

Yippee ... At least Dave smith will know the words.
He probably has the cd from his clubbing days back home.

lol

I love you Carch
You can't count and you've no idea what a nightclub

Unless you think that half the players in our game are under 18

What game are you watching?

If they'd picked a clubbing tune they would have used Hey Boy, Hey Girl, by the Chems, or Firestarter by the Prodigy. At least they got played in clubs at some point in the late 90's. Both would have been brilliant choices btw.