Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Slothfield Says Gallen Battling Black Dog

typicalfan

To me it's not so much as the penalty, it's the f**kin inconsistency. He has brought a lot of shyt down on himself BUT, other players and clubs have committed bigger sins against the game and the penalties are far less in severity.

Eg: Smith, Inglis, Cronk and Slater. What penalty did they get? They knew that they had rorted the cap. Bellamy had to know.

Thurston calls the refs cheats. Penalty? None, he was frustrated.

Barba and Inlgis allegedly assault the other halves. Penalty?

Broncos rort the cap. Penalty?

3 Broncos in a toilet cubicle with a female. Penalty?

Dank at Manly. Penalty?

HGH levels at the Roosters. Penalty?

See where I'm going and this is the tip of the iceberg.

I'm all but out of this game. Gallen deserved to be punished. He spoke the truth but you can't in any profession publicly abuse your boss or company and expect to not be penalised in some form BUT......

Gallen is a cheat mate, you can debate all the other things but Gallen is by his own admission a cheat.

He has done the game a great disservice and the NRL handling ASADA well has probably saved his ads from years of suspension.

Sharky Shark

Not that he can but would it be the end of the world if Gal spat the dummy and walked?

He's barely played for the club, the one's that pay his salary, over the last 3 years.

How many games did he play this year, 6 or less? Not a great use of salary cap room anymore.

He has been a great warrior for the club but he has to somehow mentally get past the ASADA stuff, drop the siege mentality and start looking forward rather than backwards, he can't change the past.

chewsta

He is by far our best player and Id hate to see him walk under these circumstances but it wouldn't be the end of the world.
i do see plenty of positives if he were to leave. without him some of these young blokes will get a better opportunity to stamp their authority on a game instead of standing back and letting Gal do it all.

PHaTMaN

Not that he can but would it be the end of the world if Gal spat the dummy and walked?

He's barely played for the club, the one's that pay his salary, over the last 3 years.

How many games did he play this year, 6 or less? Not a great use of salary cap room anymore.

He has been a great warrior for the club but he has to somehow mentally get past the ASADA stuff, drop the siege mentality and start looking forward rather than backwards, he can't change the past.

Gallen played 9 games this yr and missed the last 3 due to an ASADA suspension. The two years before that he played 16 games each yr.

It's a contact sport, people get injured.

Why the f**k would you want our captain and close to our best player to walk? It's not like people are lining up to come play at Cronulla.

If Gallen walks it maybe straight across harbour to Eagles, Watmough working on early release.

I could only imagine Toovey & Gallen together, now that would be a interesting interview

sharkadelic

Gallen is a cheat mate, you can debate all the other things but Gallen is by his own admission a cheat.

He has done the game a great disservice and the NRL handling ASADA well has probably saved his ads from years of suspension.

Wasn't much of a choice, typo. You, despite your obvious lofty moral standards would have done exactly the same thing.

On the subject, Gal has given his all and that can't be disputed. I think even he realizes he went too far but the inconsistency would be the part that hurts.

I think Gal's value to the club is more than onfield, it draws other players in (let's face it, it got Lewis and probably others that weren't so public) but also inspires players to lift on field around him. That can't be under estimated. We were just too thin on the ground for experience and too much b.s off field to click this year.

That said, he needs to remember it's a team sport - on and off the field and be a little less selfish

Eion

And just for the record for all the dopes like typical, gal did not admit to being a cheat at all, exactly the opposite actually.

Surely

Since when was it mandatory to have common sense and impeccable morals to play footy, is the nrl the new monastery

The section where he speaks of not getting any contact from the NRL for months at a time while the daily telegraph go to town on the club will be interesting.

GW.

lol when i saw this thread title i thought it related to Gal going into the ring with mundine.
Evil mind.