Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Small diminutive very tough guys that played first grade

Nah.
Mate of mine who played with him during junior footy and in second grade.
Related an anecdote on a Saturday night about Irvine and a bunch of North players at the Manly Corso on the median strip.
everyone (any yobbo that was present) had to try to dislodge
them off the median strip.
Irvine just kept knocking them all off; he was the last man standing. so strong, so tough!
Do you know the one about the goal?

Inisai Toga

Darcy Lawler , the ref, helped him aim the ball on a goal kick. He got his games mixed up , thought it was golf & he was a caddy! Also Wests claim he took bribes to favor StGeorge in those 60s grand finals
Mainly associated with the 1963 I thought, due to the story Jack Gibson who knew things from that part of town and was also in the Wests Grand Final side that day - told the players prior to the game……. still reckon Johnny King wasn’t tackled despite all the talk.

Nutz

Kevin Hastings wasn't that big
But a fantastic player for Rooster's
Mick Potter. Bulldog's Dragons
Played well above his size
Preston. Toovey. What Can you say
Legends
"Horrie" was a tough little player. Half, hooker, lock...played where he was needed and didn't shirk the hard stuff but was always on the ball.
He was Dally M half for three straight years, that's impressive.