Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

So we base our team around what ??

macnaz

It seemed we picked a side that we could base our future around, but who out of that can we base a side on ?

1-6-7-9 are the key positions after picking a forward pack , so lets have a look at the perfomances in those positions.

1. Hayne looked lerthargic but when he did have a go he showed he can be a damaging and important player, if he wants to be there for the long haul he has to be 100% with every play and not just some .

6. Barrett tried hard for the whole game on old legs and as far as the future goes that will be his last game .

7. Pearce ?? um that guy out there somewhere with a number 7 on his jersey ( i think he was there ) . Im sure his stats will say he made heaps of tackles but if he is the man for the future he needs to actually show he can control a game and direct the side around, if Gildly didnt step up tonight we would not have been in the contest at all.

9. Ennis .. Why did the selectors pick a player they didnt even have faith in to play the whole 80 minutes ? If he is and was considered the chossen one it wouldnt need "as above" a player off the bench to come on and show the side some direction.

Overall maybe 1 out of 4 showed they are worthy of being part of the future NSW side. What does everyone else think ?

MightyBronco

You have it all wrong. Bellamy's plan is better. Tackle around the head and slow the play the ball down. Chuck in a bunch of grubby sh*t too and the rest will look after itself.

sarahk

Hayne showed tonight why he is NSW fullback. Out of the 4 you mentioned he definitely deserves a start next year as he was great!

As for Ennis...GOODBYE!

WaznTheGreat

If Hayne was more motivated he would the greatest sportsman of all time,unfortunately he only turns up and plays hard when he can be bothered,when he runs with venom he always pushes people off and makes line breaks,alot of the time though he will be lazy and run back like a Kade Snowden.

Hayne was good when he had a crack. i still worry about his urgency and effort for the full 80, though. big time. he also wasn't overly tested in defence tonight... and when he was it wasn't overly impressive. the tackle on Shillington was a just barely pass mark... he was lucky it was Shillington and not someone with a bit more toe and/or footwork.

He took some decent advantage of good work up the middle by NSW's forward pack and Gidley, though. I still want Dugan to have a crack for the reasons mentioned above, however for continuities sake, and for the sake of actually sticking with a team for once (and the fact that Hayne can do some great things in attack), i'm happy enough to stick with him for game 1 next year.

i still don't rate the bloke overall though. he's a fair bludger... potential, hype and athleticism. he does have it in him to be much better than he is... so to speak. needs to learn so much about when to do what, though... needs to learn patience... needs to learn a LOT about fullback play... and he needs to pull his finger out and play for 80, every match.

mrpwnd

It seemed we picked a side that we could base our future around, but who out of that can we base a side on ?

1-6-7-9 are the key positions after picking a forward pack , so lets have a look at the perfomances in those positions.

1. Hayne looked lerthargic but when he did have a go he showed he can be a damaging and important player, if he wants to be there for the long haul he has to be 100% with every play and not just some .

6. Barrett tried hard for the whole game on old legs and as far as the future goes that will be his last game .

7. Pearce ?? um that guy out there somewhere with a number 7 on his jersey ( i think he was there ) . Im sure his stats will say he made heaps of tackles but if he is the man for the future he needs to actually show he can control a game and direct the side around, if Gildly didnt step up tonight we would not have been in the contest at all.

9. Ennis .. Why did the selectors pick a player they didnt even have faith in to play the whole 80 minutes ? If he is and was considered the chossen one it wouldnt need "as above" a player off the bench to come on and show the side some direction.
I thought Hayne was probably the most dangerous player for NSW tonight. Was transparent in the first 20 minutes on the back of consecutive and poor penalties, but for the later 60 minutes of the game, imo, he showed why he is a player of the present and the future. Agreed I would like to see him play with alot more intensity.
I'd love to see Soward take up the no. 6 jersey. I know that whole choker tag on dragons players, but, personally i believe Soward is by far the best halves option NSW have.
Agreed on Pearce, I would have him dropped for 2011, but I don't want that whole 'oh god another different halves combo', he really needs to step up, hopefully we see him improve alot more and get blooded abit better.
Also agreed on Ennis, Robbie Farrah will be a hot and cold option, but i'd take that over 80 minutes of below average dummy half play.
With that said, i'd keep Hayne and Pearce(debatable, but he seems to be the selectors blooding target so w/e) and bring in Soward and Farrah.

Hayne had a great game. He didn't set up any tries or anything but the way he threw the ball around, offloaded, flick passes etc shows why he has to be there. Without him NSW have nothing in attack. Barrett's bombs were uesless, Ennis was poor, Farah should be NSW hooker. Pierce is no superstar but he's the best NSW have at the current time.

Hayne played much better tonight than in the previous 2 games.

1 - Hayne
6 - Gidley
7 - Pearce
9 - Farah

macnaz

The best game ive seen Hayne play this year was against Storm when he had a blue with Slater, he fired up big time and every run after was explosive. That is the attitude that origin should inspire him to play with every minute. If he can do that he could be a future captain and leader.
I know im a Tigers fan but Farah is the man for the future, it has been said his game and plays are complicated , but tonight if they were building for the future the opportunity was there to play him and have those around him learn his vision and direction, now if he is picked next year we go in cold learning new combinations :

kickback

Hayne played better in the 2nd half when you got some field position, but is 3rd class to slatter, he is still young should start listening not socking.

ennis has to go got showed up all night

Pearce played good but when you are playing against locky and thurston what can he do, i think he tryed his best and nsw should keep him.

sarahk

he is still young should start listening not socking.

Hayne doesnt sook.

The DT does. He plays every week for parra with a truckload of pressure on him and is constantly under media attention. Just because the DT quotes what 'insider sources' say doesn't mean Hayne is actually saying them. I know its abit off topic but i just wanted to clarify in case some people didn't quite get it.

timka4

I still think abit of the reason why Pearce went occasionally missing is because Trent over game 1 and 2 has tried to play a lot more a half back role rather than a 5/8. He seemed to dominate a lot of the ball IMO.

I think next year with hopefully himself and Carney working up a brilliant combo. They will work in perfect limbo for the blues and roosters (not that I care for the roosters).

1. Hayne
6. Carney
7. Pearce
9. Farah
13. Bird

IMO what I have written above is the core of the most offensive NSW spine that we can offer for the next 5 years.

What I was going to say about Hayne has been said above. Awesome skills when he wants too, but can lack intensity. Hopefully this will change with the new coach and hopefully new culture they produce next year.

the #6 is wide open for mine... and it's the only position with no clear standouts whatsoever. Carney isn't a bad pick at this stage. whichever 5/8th that is elligible for NSW stands up over the next 12 months can have the job as far as i'm concerned.

macnaz

I still think abit of the reason why Pearce went occasionally missing is because Trent over game 1 and 2 has tried to play a lot more a half back role rather than a 5/8. He seemed to dominate a lot of the ball IMO.

I think next year with hopefully himself and Carney working up a brilliant combo. They will work in perfect limbo for the blues and roosters (not that I care for the roosters).

1. Hayne
6. Carney
7. Pearce
9. Farah
13. Bird

Agree on Bird for lock and u can also throw in Gallan. Both played like origin players.

D

Deleted member 10972

The core really began to emerge last night, and I am proud as punch for the boys and their effort. Lacked the finishing touch, but played with plenty of guts and heart.

1. Hayne (showed what he can do, needs to realize Dugan and Coote are pushing hard for selection)
4. Jennings
5. Morris
7. Pearce
8. Snowden (first game, give him time to develop in Origin conditions, he will be better for the experience)
11. Lewis
12. Gallen
13. Bird

14. Gidley
15. Watmough
16. Learoyd-Lahrs
17. Mannah

That is the framework we have learnt from this years series. Now, the first step is to NOT go backwards and pick Creagh, Hoffman, White, Perry, Kite, Bailey, Hindmarsh, Waterhouse, Ryan, Cooper, Monaghan, Lyon, Barrett, Kimmorley, Wallace, or whoever else they want to try and resurrect. Stick with their guns and go for gold with the players there.

Second step, is prepare for next series. Beau Scott and Michael Ennis had shockers, bloody average games by both of them. Chris Lawrence is a great defender and strong in attack - I don't see why he didn't warrant selection. Also, if they want a backrow-built centre, why not Joel Thompson? Essentially the same role as Scott but with ten times the pace, attacking prowess and tackle-busting ability. Ennis has had enough chances to do something and has messed up, so if NSW can't find a better option then we might as well put Gidley at hooker and bring Heighington onto the bench.

Jason King and Michael Gordon were safe selections and did what they were asked to do, BUT in the long run I think neither should be considered Origin prospects. I would look to Luke Douglas and Aiden Tolman to push for King's spot next season, and Akuila Uate and Kevin Gordon to make a strong play for Flash's spot next year.

As for that troublesome five-eighth spot, I am hoping that one of Carney, Soward or Mullen really step up and emerge from their shells as Origin contenders. All have shown flashes of brilliance marred with quiet periods (in Sowards case) or frustrating lack of consistency (in Carney and Mullens cases). They are the attacking dynamos, I hope they push for selection.