Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sonny Bill set to make millions for NRL clubs

dogslife

:lol::lol:

When glass shoulder himself gets carried off on Thursday night, I can just see 154000 people tear up their memberships..........
:lol: Technically it'll only be an average of 6000 members per club that tear up their memberships

:lol: True.

I can see the headlines now.

TITANS ON THE VERGE OF FOLDING

The NRL is in crisis following revelations that the Gold Coast Titans, and several other clubs, are on the verge of bankruptcy, following the withdrawal of Roosters backrower Sonny Bill Williams from Saturday Night's clash with the Raiders at Canberra Stadium. At least 6000 tickets for Friday Night's home clash against the Cowboys have been returned, with disgruntled fans feeling the all Queensland clash is not worth watching now that SBW wont take the field in Canberra the following night.

FFS, News Ltd journos. Less intelligence in their newsroom than in a mouldy petrie dish!!!!!

beave

Not trying to be rude but......... Can you actually post the article as well as the link so these merkins at the telecrap don't get my interwebz traffic?

Cheers.

ozenzud

I'd hope that any increases to Easts crowds are based on a better team performance, not on this Money Bill clown.

I hate everything him/Nasser stand for in 'professional' sport. I don't hate professional sport don't get me wrong, but I hate their version of it.

I hate what they have done so much it will be 5999 increase in crowds if they were counting me going. Television ratings will be -1. Because I would have watched but I can't stand the insults and derision that Nasser and his mates have for me and my love of RL. I refuse to buy into this bloke and will boycott every game he plays in. I can't wait for him to leave. Something tells me I won't have to wait long. If he was like his bulldogs days he will only play 50% of the games anyway.

ozenzud

Yes! Thats what I will refer to them as!
I believe that this should be their name and as a long time fan will call them that regardless!

I hope one day that Roosters management will wake up to naming this club with the history of East included in its name and the locality name of Sydney to give an idea of where they come from! Sydney alone is just too vague and is not representative of their locality.

East Sydney Roosters is more appropriate than just Sydney Roosters.

Hear, hear! Except I always call them just plain Easts.

BunniesMan

Easts fans who discovered the club 6 months ago really should get a refund for their tickets when SBW doesn't play.

carlosthedwarf

Anyone got refund numbers for Thursday's game now Money Bill has been ruled out? Must be in the thousands by now

You're kidding yourself. Even if the Roosters average that many more per game it'll be more than likely due to the fact that Anzac day and round 1 clashes are home games as opposed to last year (which are huge games in their own rights), it won't be because of one bloke. The crowds outside of Sydney will barely change at all I reckon. Not sure there'll be 6000 people each week contemplating whether or not to go to the footy simply because Sonny Bill Williams will be playing

History disagrees. We have hosted both games in 2011, 2009 and 2007 and our averages in the other years are comparable and better in some cases.

Says the guy who only started watching souths on TV once Rusty's cheque to burgess cleared

000805zXJHF.jpg

gUt

http://www.theroar.com.au/2013/03/05/sbws-pectoral-benched/

It has been revealed that Roosters star recruit Sonny-Bill Williams’s pectoral muscle will be rested for the NRL’s much-anticipated Thursday night blockbuster against the Rabbitohs.

Speaking from its home inside Williams’s shirt, the fast-twitch soft-tissue told us it was “99% right”.

This was literally true, being located on the right side of Williams’s chest.

continues...

:lol::lol::lol::lol:
Well if that aint funnier than a Cheech and Chong movie marathon with a tank of nitrous oxide.

More hype than a f*cking royal wedding. The gridlock from the SFS was supposed to stretch back to f*cking Uluru. And the overrated pussy is on the f*cking bench!!!!!!

If all reports about SBW's huge effect on RL is true, tomorrow Nick Politis will file for bankruptcy, the Chooks will be defunct by Friday arvo and there will be cobwebs over at least 6 grounds by Easter.