Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Soundwave 2014

beave

I like ill niño and thought they had a great high energy set. But I don't reckon they were influenced by soulfly or sepultura. (Soulfly shit on sepultura from above IMO)

Depends what era of Sepultura you are comparing though mate.

Roots and newer Sep albums, yep Soulfly is better.

But go back to Beneath the Remains and Arise and to a very lesser extent Chaos AD and IMO those earlier 2 albums shit over anything Soulfly have released. Chaos AD you could hear them going a different direction and whilst a good album, not as good as Arise and Beneath the Remains.

This Sepultura at the finest imo

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Fr_pFHRwWHU

Interesting tempo changes, decent solos, superb.

Packy

I took a different journey to most:

Trophy Eyes: Went in early to lend some support to the Unearthed band. They were good. Bit heavier than their studio stuff let on, but enjoyed their set.

Real Friends: Sing along pop-punk from some new kids on the Soundwave scene. Tight as, and their lead singer spent much of the set in the crowd getting groped. I love these guys

Mayday Parade: Haven't really paid them much mind since Lancaster left, but they were very tight.

The Story So Far: I saw these guys at a small show last year. Shocked by how many fans they've picked up since then. A bit formulaic, but catchy, energetic and near flawless

The Living End: So keen to go nuts in the mosh for these guys... then the GF gets sick :( No need to say they were awesome. We all know they were awesome.

Placebo: Meh. Only caught a couple of songs and didn't know them, so hard to enjoy

Panic! at the disco: they have plenty of haters, but I can't help loving these guys. Urie in a freak. Hitting crazy notes, doing back flips and running around the stage without missing a note. They've gone a little too electronic for my liking lately, but this set was amazing.

Bowling for soup: My highlight of the day. There's something about and old pop-punk band that puts zero energy into making them selves seem cool that appeals to just about any one. They were freaking funny too. Played most of their hits in a short set.

Pennywise: I've never been a huge fan, but have always wanted to see these guys. Very good. Loved finally getting in amongst it during Bro Hyme

Finch: One album wonders from the early 2000's... They played mostly that album... So points for being self aware I guess. Sounded a bit messy

Jimmy Eat World: Awesome set, but they should have been on a smaller stage this time I think, especially with Korn playing at the same time. I guess the promoters didn't want a massive crowd change over on the main stage before Green Day, which brings me to

Green Day: 3 hours set... Ok, now minus all the times Billy Joe did 'aaaaaeeee-yo' call and responses with the crowd mid song, a intro to the set that consisted of 3 recorded songs, and 'Wake me up when September ends' (and song that i define as 'Nickleback bad'), and you have maybe a solid 2 hour set.

Ultimately they were good. The first hour of their set was kind of painful, as they played a lot of their more recent stuff, including afore-mentioned 'aaaaaeeee-yo''s, but after that they played heaps of stuff for older fans, with a lot of tracks off Dookie.

End of the day, their banter was 90% entertaining, 10% irritating, which I'll call passable. But it is a bit annoying that they look 3 hours of main stage time when a big part of that was just wasted.

Sick day as usual. GG Soundwave

I agree on Panic at the Disco. I was listening to a lot of punk when their 1st album came out and I loved it at the time. Very creative.

braz

I honestly didn't even think it was up for debate. I've seen Soulfly a couple of times and they get their best reaction from old Sepuls songs.

Sepultura in their prime were unbelievably good. I'm still spewing they broke up right before their Aus tour for Roots. Had tickets to see em twice in a week. BTR, Arise, Chaos AD - all classic metal albums.

I'm also one of the few that doesn't mind the post Max Sep albums. A-lex was bloody good in particular.

I bought the first Soulfly album when it came out but have not liked much of what they have put out since. Even found Cavalera Conspiracy quite boring.

You guys should check out Nailbomb if you are Max fans. Awesome stuff.

I suppose the fact I am a nu metal fanboy has something to do with it.

I can't stand older style metal, hell I don't even like Metallica.

I will admit that roots bloody roots is the best song however I prefer soulflys version.

Packy

Oh man you are really missing out I reckon. Thrash isn't for everyone but every now and then I go back to old Metallica an it hits me right in the feels. Master of Puppets and Ride the Lightning in particular.

zombie jesus

Crosses was the highlight for me, had no idea what they would sound like but hung around after clutch to check them out and was very impressed.

Zigwaa

No, if Ahrue Luster manned up and played the good era of Machinehead tunes and he wouldn't have been given the ass and Ill nino wouldn't even exist........

Ill Nino had an album or two around before Ahrue Luster joined the band.

Packy

How much did he have to do with The Burning Red? That album turned me right off Machine Head. Supercharger pushed me off the edge. Fortunately I gave The Blackening a chance and liked it. They went back to Ages.. and liked that too.

Going on Saturday, Expecting to see:

Biffy Clyro (More of a BDO band i would have thought)
Alterbridge (On before lunch?? hmm ok)
Alkaline Trio (Theyve slipped, Could almost be headlining their stage)
AFI (should be playing as a lead up to A7X imo)
Placebo
ADTR or Trivium (50/50 atm)
Finch
Korn
Soil
Rob Zombie
About 15mins of Greenday
A7X (Dont deserve the hate they get, was hoping they would get a longer set)

braz

I suppose the fact I am a nu metal fanboy has something to do with it.

I can't stand older style metal, hell I don't even like Metallica.

I will admit that roots bloody roots is the best song however I prefer soulflys version.

Each to their own mate. There was enough variety at S/wave for most people to be happy.

That said if you are a nu metal fanboy you should prob be giving more props to Sepultura. No Seps/Biohazard etc no Nu metal.

And if there was no Metallica there may not be a Sepultura. All music is derivative!

braz

How much did he have to do with The Burning Red? That album turned me right off Machine Head. Supercharger pushed me off the edge. Fortunately I gave The Blackening a chance and liked it. They went back to Ages.. and liked that too.

He joined after The More Things Change, before the Burning Red. They got Phil Demmel for Through The Ashes and suddenly got good again! So you can indirectly blame him for their crappy Nu metal phase :lol:

BLKOUT!

Went and saw GWAR tonight (sideshow), I wasn't really familiar with the next biggest band (Amon Amarth) but they were pretty f**kin good. I was impressed, will definitely check them out again at Soundwave. GWAR were ridiculous, was disappointed there was no Gor Gor though. Amon Amarth might've been the highlight for me.

BLKOUT!

I ended up seeing something like 14 bands today, here's a few that stood out for better or worse. I was with a mate plus f**king exhausted by about 3pm so I didn't really stick to my time table, saw a bunch of bands I'd never heard of or thought to see..

Hacktivist - Weird, not terrible but kinda cringeworthy at times. It's like metalcore plus hip hop. Their N*ggas In Paris cover was cool though.

August Burns Red - Third or fourth time I've seen them, hated the set list but they were great otherwise. Just happy I got to see them back when they were still playing stuff like Barbarian.

AFI - This one hurt. They were pretty much the main reason I went this year. The stage had all sorts of audio problems, the mic dropped for a while during one song, the guitar would fade in and out, Davey lost his voice a couple of times etc. Stoked to have seen them but I wish they were on a better stage.

Satyricon - f**king awesome. I caught the end of one of their songs at the GWAR sidewave, had no idea who they were but I loved their stuff.

Black Veil Brides - ... so we hung around after Satyricon since we were too lazy to wander off anywhere else. The singer is basically a metal Justin Bieber, he would look stone-faced at the crowd for a second, then smile and they would f**king erupt like he'd just won a gold medal. It was bizarre. I dunno what the music was like I was so distracted by this weird cult-leader type vibe the singer has. Creepy.

Went and saw GWAR tonight (sideshow), I wasn't really familiar with the next biggest band (Amon Amarth) but they were pretty f**kin good. I was impressed, will definitely check them out again at Soundwave. GWAR were ridiculous, was disappointed there was no Gor Gor though. Amon Amarth might've been the highlight for me.

Amon Amarth shit on GWAR from great heights, and basically every other band at SW tbh

did anyone actually watch GWAR ?

I was watching some other band at the time but I cant believe all a crap that has gone on in the social media

you'd think it was the real Tony Abbott who they beheaded

some people need to get over them selves and realise its just a bit of fun and entertainment

Packy

Gwar have some surprisingly good tunes but in general I agree.

They are however funny as f**k and put on a great show.

BLKOUT!

Yeah I couldn't name a Gwar song to be honest but the show alone makes it worth watching. The Tony Abbott thing was such a non event, I mean at one point they have the Queen and what looks like an aborted foetus on the stage and no one says anything about that.