Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

*Spoiler* Allgood or Allbad?

effnic

Matai owned?

A prop punches a centre square in the jaw, yet the centre not only stays on his feet, but does his best to return fire, and had other players not intervened the fight may have continued, the result of which we can only speculate.

Two minutes later, after the prop has been sent off, the centre who was "owned" proceeds to play a part in another try, contributing to a 40 point victory.

There are no sour grapes this Manly fan. Our centre easily absorbed a clean shot by a fired up prop. We got the points. I am happy y'all enjoy seeing Matai get a fist to the chin - I would be equally pleased if Slater or Smith or whoever got the same treatment. But I disagree Matai was "owned". He took the punch well, and played on.
Now this is being owned!!

Matai owned?

A prop punches a centre square in the jaw, yet the centre not only stays on his feet, but does his best to return fire, and had other players not intervened the fight may have continued, the result of which we can only speculate.

Two minutes later, after the prop has been sent off, the centre who was "owned" proceeds to play a part in another try, contributing to a 40 point victory.

There are no sour grapes this Manly fan. Our centre easily absorbed a clean shot by a fired up prop. We got the points. I am happy y'all enjoy seeing Matai get a fist to the chin - I would be equally pleased if Slater or Smith or whoever got the same treatment. But I disagree Matai was "owned". He took the punch well, and played on.

So to "own" someone in a fight on the footy field you to knock them out cold immediately? Ok got it. Blood pissing out of his mouth doesn't count.

Agree with your first point but if you think Matai won't have the balls to go looking for Allgood in a few weeks your head is in the clouds. I am worried he will do something stupid.
He had his chance on Monday night. I laughed when he was hiding behind a 4ft 6 trainer, and the trainer was screaming "send him off"! You could see the tears welling up in Matai's eyes :lol:

Totally worth it.

My team has won games by 40 points and I'll remember Matai getting smashed a lot longer than I remember any big win.

As for big losses, they're a lot easier than losing by 1.
Speak for yourself - sounds like you are having an easy season.

He never says boo to proven hard merkins like Justin Hodges.
:lol::lol:

MuTT

It was an appalling lack of discipline from an average player. His team was getting thrashed and not being able to do anything else, he went the biff. We play the eels in about 3 weeks and if he's not still suspended, I'm sure Matai will be looking for him. Not that I think he'll have the balls to run at Matai... but you never know.

He allready went looking for him on monday night , and got a smack in the chops for it , hope the dose gets repeated !

^_^

Matai ran at him telling him he is a dog merkin with his hands by his side, Allgood panicked threw the punches cause he thought he was in trouble. To me it was just obvious that Allgood was a bit more edgy with being confronted by Matai then the latter was with telling Allgood he was a POS, that will come with experience. If you dish it out you need to prepare to be returned which actually worked both ways here with the swinging arm dogshot and with Matai confronting him. I guess the Eels need to take something away from this, thanks for the +40 F/A as it helped Manly on the table.

Im just surprised they havent changed the rule to state players can not confront each other anymore.

natheel

Matai ran at him telling him he is a dog merkin with his hands by his side, Allgood panicked threw the punches cause he thought he was in trouble. To me it was just obvious that Allgood was a bit more edgy with being confronted by Matai then the latter was with telling Allgood he was a POS, that will come with experience. If you dish it out you need to prepare to be returned which actually worked both ways here with the swinging arm dogshot and with Matai confronting him. I guess the Eels need to take something away from this, thanks for the +40 F/A as it helped Manly on the table.

Im just surprised they havent changed the rule to state players can not confront each other anymore.

Mate Allgood hit him.because Matai is a merkin and a cheap shot thug. Allgood simply got in first. Hit or be hit pretty much.

Round 2 will be interesting. I'm expecting a stupid brain snap from Stevie

^_^

look theres probably a few reasons why he hit Matai, the fact is Matai was giving him a spray with his hand by his side and Allgood got itchy and let a few off. I dont agree with hit or be hit as Matai never raised a fist or even shirt grabbed which I think can be a catalyst for a fist fight. Matai being a grub has nothing to do with it besides everyones justification of the hit being warranted.

Like i said i am still waiting for the NRL to change the rule on players confronting each other.

Matai owned?

In the 7 minutes after he was pummeled by Allgood, Matai refused to take a single tackle. He was too scared to go looking for the ball, and the one time he got the ball, he passed it as soon as he received it. Looks like the self proclaimed "hard man" was put in his place if you ask me.

Michael Bishop

In the 7 minutes after he was pummeled by Allgood, Matai refused to take a single tackle. He was too scared to go looking for the ball, and the one time he got the ball, he passed it as soon as he received it. Looks like the self proclaimed "hard man" was put in his place if you ask me.

Yes he got the ball, passed it on and Manly scored because of the fact he did. You're an idiot.

CliffyIsGod

Hahaha

But I disagree Matai was "owned".

Definitely owned.

He's a good player, and he could have shut the f**k up and merely had a good game in a huge win.

Instead he tried to carry on like a hard merkin, as he always does, and got punched in the mouth on national TV and everyone laughed at him. It's becoming a bit of a recurring theme for this hoax tough guy. merkins keep calling his bluff and he keeps getting smacked around.

He's fast running out of people who are scared of him. That's why NRL fans everywhere applauded. It's only Manly fans with their knickers in a bunch.

He took the punch well, and played on.

He took the punch well, as you'd expect from any big bloke with no neck. In 'Supercoach' Jack Gibson is quoted as saying nobody in first grade is hurt by a couple of punches. Professional boxers (who are generally leaner than NRL players) get punched in the head dozens of times in a bout.

But Steve Matai didn't just play on; he carried on. Like a f**king sook who just got bashed. Behind a wall of teammates that didn't really try to hold him back.

He acted like he'd been humiliated because he was. He probably felt safe because of the punching ban, but if he's that much of a c**k that he wants to go charging up gobbing off at a shit team while they're down, he should expect the unexpected. And he didn't.

As I said, totally worth it. And plenty of neutral fans agree.

oval

Well to be honest even I enjoyed it, and Matai is one of my favourite players ;-)

betcats

Well to be honest even I enjoyed it, and Matai is one of my favourite players ;-)
Hahaha Matai, even your fans enloy seeing you get belted.

For a guy who gets talked up as tough and likes to act like an enforcer he got put on the bitch hard.

veggiepatch1959

Putting the fight aside, surely if the reports are true that Matai wanted to have a go at Allgood in the Eels sheds after the game, which was after he had to be held back from chasing Allgood after he was binned, and then subsequently gave him the bird which was caught on camera, surely Matai will be facing a stint on the sidelines himself.

Are you for real? Firstly you say that your pinup boy Allgood has nothing to answer for after his attempted clenched fist to Buhrer's "gut". And now this shit!

Ever heard of the term intent? Watching Allgood's movement around the players on the ground showed obvious intent. He was trying to find the best vantage point to unleash his devestating gut punch.

You applaud Allgood's actions but probably criticised Gallen's for his in SOO 1. Love the hypocrisy!!