Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

squads for aust v nz u20 game

Cloudsurfer

Matt Mcgahan is been injured the whole year.
Tia-kilifi didnt he play for nsw and aus?
I would pick taukieaho on talent - but he hasnt played much footy this year.
Jason is a definate now lol

1. RTS (roosters)
2. Wayne Ulugia (cowboys)
3. Curtis Rona (roosters)
4. Jeremy Hawkins (Canberra)
5. Peta Hiku (sharks)
6. Carlos Tuimavave (Warriors)
7. Peni Manumalii (sharks)
8. Ligi Sao (warriors)
9. Siliva Havili (warriors)
10. Mosese Fotuiaka (tigers)
11. Tupou Soapoaga (bulldogs)
12. Mike Chee Kam (canberra)
13. John Palavi (warriors)

14. Pritchard (eels) / Zach Clay (eels) or Trent Bishop (Warriors)
15. Uiti Baker (canberra)
16. Dylan Napa (roosters)
17. Tohu Harris (storm)

McGahan would've been in imo if he hadn't been injured....Harris will be in & Storm's Auva'a could be a bolter

I thought napa picked origin... Errr.... I mean Aussie.

And I thought hugh mcgahan said that his son had defected to Aussie in the hope
Of playing origin one day?

Son of Minto

Of course Napa picked Australia. After all he is Australian. You guys wouldnt want an Australian wearing the black and white now would you?

Tucantango

He is Samoan isnt he?

Ed,

In the mid-90's I played rugby with two lightning quick brothers called Asa and Lua Milford. Both were headhunted by Wayne Pearce and soon after joined the then Balmain Tigers. They were of Samoan origin but had extensive family in Auckland NZ.

In this very site I asked the question if anyone knew if Anthony Milford was related to these brothers. I had no response. Several weeks ago I met another old (Samoan) team mate who knew the brothers very well and asked if Anthony Milford was related to the two abovementioned brothers, and he confirmed that they were cousins.

In answer to your question, Anthony Milford is of Samoan origin but like many others of Samoan origin he maybe NZ born.

mean_maori_mean

I thought napa picked origin... Errr.... I mean Aussie.

And I thought hugh mcgahan said that his son had defected to Aussie in the hope
Of playing origin one day?

I was sorta taking the piss. like I said Napa will be play for Cook Islands at the world cup imo
Patrick Vaivai from the knights it the obvious player I missed - who should easily get picked over Toka likiliki.

We dont need tia-kilifi - we already have a stacked backrow

R2Coupe

Are these proposed teams picked on form or reputation? There are a number of Kiwis playing in both teams on Sunday. Kurtis Rowe, Soni Passi and Mosese Fotuaiki are among a few from the Tigers. I guess the Raiders have a few Kiwi players as well. Wouldn't the players form these teams be in the running?

mean_maori_mean

Are these proposed teams picked on form or reputation? There are a number of Kiwis playing in both teams on Sunday. Kurtis Rowe, Soni Passi and Mosese Fotuaiki are among a few from the Tigers. I guess the Raiders have a few Kiwi players as well. Wouldn't the players form these teams be in the running?

Mate - they are picked on ability and form.
You are right though plenty of kiwi talent on show on Sunday in both the NYC and NRL

Rowe will come into contention next year...probably be considered for a wing spot though.
I rate him .. although he played for aussie schoolboys - he is a kiwi through and through
But he has no chance on been selected at fullback ...not over RTS, ulugia and even Hiku (warriors poy).

Samisoni is gun....still rough around the edges
He is playing bigger minutes, but still need to be
He walked out/got shafted by the warriors - so will be interesting

Same as Vaivai - who apparently doesnt get along with Ackland.
So both do warrant strong consideration.

Even Akaoula is a gun - but still raw and will need to battle his way in nsw cup first.
He has plenty of athletiscm just need to increase workrate.

Raiders have chee-kam, who is a cert and baker will be considered.
Hawkins still has next year - I like him though.

Tigers have heaps of kiwis at Keebra park.
Richard Ene, Watson Heleta and Sa fifita will go well at nyc level.
Fafita could be a superstar.

R2Coupe

Mate - they are picked on ability and form.
You are right though plenty of kiwi talent on show on Sunday in both the NYC and NRL

Rowe will come into contention next year...probably be considered for a wing spot though.
I rate him .. although he played for aussie schoolboys - he is a kiwi through and through
But he has no chance on been selected at fullback ...not over RTS, ulugia and even Hiku (warriors poy).

Samisoni is gun....still rough around the edges
He is playing bigger minutes, but still need to be
He walked out/got shafted by the warriors - so will be interesting

Same as Vaivai - who apparently doesnt get along with Ackland.
So both do warrant strong consideration.

Even Akaoula is a gun - but still raw and will need to battle his way in nsw cup first.
He has plenty of athletiscm just need to increase workrate.

Raiders have chee-kam, who is a cert and baker will be considered.
Hawkins still has next year - I like him though.

Tigers have heaps of kiwis at Keebra park.
Richard Ene, Watson Heleta and Sa fifita will go well at nyc level.
Fafita could be a superstar.

Thanks for your reply. Kiwis have lots of talent and let's hope the powers to be realise a strong Kiwi team at all levels is the best outcome for rugby league.

RTS is a very good player. Rowe has genuine pace. RTS seems more like a 5/8 than an outside back or fullback.

mean_maori_mean

Thanks for your reply. Kiwis have lots of talent and let's hope the powers to be realise a strong Kiwi team at all levels is the best outcome for rugby league.

RTS is a very good player. Rowe has genuine pace. RTS seems more like a 5/8 than an outside back or fullback.

RTS is one of the best talents I have seen from NZ league .....dont believe the crap they say on fox, first year of league
He captain Otahuhu College in league and rugby for past two years.
National champ for school and rep league

Without a doubt.. We have so much young talent coming through.
I like how the kiwis tests nz eligible players for their desires etc.
Because the last thing you want to do is ignore a quality player without enquiring with them.

Guys like nightengale could easily of been ignored, considering he was aussie born. But he is now part of the leadership group and has always considered himself a kiwi.

However with the development of the game in New Zealand and the inclusion of the NYC we are producing huge amounts of talent. They dont need to go to aussie at age 14 anymore. Therefore we will have less James Tamous etc

APRIL BELLE

Of course Napa picked Australia. After all he is Australian. You guys wouldnt want an Australian wearing the black and white now would you?

Hi Father, Stan is Kiwi, even played for Junior Kiwis and that would give Dylan a choice to play either regardless that he is born in Aus. His mum is Aussie born and bred.

Kiwi squad apparently will be:

(just waiting for link)

[FONT=&quot]David Bhana, Mosese Fotuaika, David Fusitua, Tohu Harris, Siliva Havili, Jeremy Hawkins, Peta Hiku, Ngataua Hukatai, Toka Likiliki, Penani Manumalealii, Api Pewhairangi, Curtis Rona, Tupou Sopoaga, Jesse Sue, Jason Taumalolo, Carlos Tuimavave, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Wayne Ulugia[/FONT]

http://www.voxy.co.nz/sport/junior-kiwis-squad-announced/5/136473

The Junior Kiwis selectors have today named a squad of 18 for their match against the Junior Kangaroos in Townsville on October 13.
The squad features five members of the team that beat the Junior Kangaroos 28-16 in Newcastle last year. Among them are last year’s captain Carlos Tuimavave, who is one of seven named from the Vodafone Warriors, and Jason Taumalolo from the North Queensland Cowboys, who was the NZRL’s Junior Player of the Year in 2011. The other returning players are Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Siliva Havili (Warriors) and Wayne Ulugia (Cowboys).
Tuimavave and Taumalolo, who were also part of the Junior Kiwis back in 2010, have had big seasons. Taumalolo was involved with the Cowboys NRL finals campaign and he was a member of the Kiwis squad for April’s VB Test in Auckland. Tuimavave got his call-up to the Warriors NRL team late in their campaign and he was also named in the Toyota Cup ‘Team of the Year’.
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck was another to impress in the NRL and to also make that top Toyota Cup selection. The Sydney Roosters hot-stepper is one of the newcomers to the Junior Kiwis squad. The winger/fullback has made the most rapid of rises after captaining Otahuhu College to their win in the NZRL’s National Secondary Schools Tournament last year.
Two players in the John Ackland-coached Junior Kiwis squad come off the high of a Toyota Cup grand final win with the Wests Tigers. They’re the prop Mosese Fotuaika and the second rower Jesse Sue, who scored a try in the Tigers 46-6 victory over the Canberra Raiders on Sunday.
The Junior Kiwis play the Junior Kangaroos at Dairy Farmers Stadium, Townsville, as the curtain-raiser to the Kiwis vs Kangaroos match.
2012 JUNIOR KIWIS
David Bhana, Vodafone Warriors
Mosese Fotuaika, Wests Tigers
David Fusitua, Vodafone Warriors
Tohu Harris, Melbourne Storm
Siliva Havili, Vodafone Warriors
Jeremy Hawkins, Canberra Raiders
Peta Hiku, Vodafone Warriors
Ngataua Hukatai, Vodafone Warriors
Toka Likiliki, Vodafone Warriors
Penani Manumalealii, Cronulla Sharks
Api Pewhairangi, Newcastle Knights