Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

State of Origin 1 - 2024

Draginzaaar

I dont think Freddy has the skillset for coaching.. i think he floats around life, hes reactive, hes a media personality...obviously a genius player, but I dont think he has the strategic head for it.

Something little I noticed after last nights game, gould, freddy & fatty were on the panel.. the question came up about where parra would play lomax.. and fittler almost emotionally blew up 'surely its on the wing' as if how could you ask the question, and gould was discussing that either position was possible.. I mean maybe freddy was right... but it was just a little thing, but hes reactive.. im not sure how much longterm vision he has.

I must say though, we did only win that series in the last 20 minutes of game 3.. and there were a few close calls.. not to mention we almost had murray sent off (ref apparently said he was going to on comms), if we had lost that last 20 minutes, we might not be feeling as rosey about Maguire as a coach.
You all go on about Freddy not being able to coach. He won 2 series. How many did Bellamy win?

Blood Shot Eyes

Just finally my last comment on SOO.....Qld sooking re the penalty count, 6 agains and other things, when listening to the apparent stats from past games played North of the border out of 60 matches Qld have led the penalty count 51 times to NSW 9.....bloody Queenslanders they whinge when they win and they whinge when they lose

Slippery Morris

Poor Billy, he brought out all the Storm grubby tactics in the first half. Heaps of grappling especially around the head, escorts galore blocking Lomax to any kicks which they got away with and finally a kick to the head on Crichton when he nearly scored yet the ref was kind to the blues in his eyes. Madge clearly rattled him and good on Madge.

You could not fault any NSW player , they were all great on the night. How good was Lomax's goal kicking. He was so composed when he kicked from the sideline to make it 2-2. Geez we are really going to miss Zac.

For Qld hats off to Dearden. He was their best by far. I can see why Flanno wanted him early in the season but he had no chance of landing him.

maestro1

I dont think qld need 2 hookers, I wouldnt have picked hunt, but they went with the combination that won last years series... but yeah next year will be a fresh start after a loss.. I reckon Hunt would be wise to retire from rep footy before that... DCE thats his call I wouldnt be picking Walker over him.. not in this arena.. they would run at him all night.

Qld's really need Tino+Carrigan though, we dominated them, they did 100 extra tackles.. I think it made all of their attack struggle. We also need another prop or 2, I dunno what we would do if Haas was injured, and it seems like Jake is done.
Hunt was QLDs best hooker in this origin series.

TheRev

Hunt was QLDs best hooker in this origin series.
He was alright yeah in his minutes, maybe we can blame the HIA also in that last match, but 12mths is a long way away also... he will be 35yrs old, unless they are giving up on Grant, hes the one id be focussing on @27yrs in the next origin series. I'd be trying to get my utility into 1 person instead of using up 2 slots on the bench.... so they can fit guys like Flegler, Tino and maybe even a Fifita off the bench. Cant believe Carrigan was run for 80 minutes.

As others have mentioned.. I think Billy outsmarted himself a bit this year... and I think we will see more of a traditional power game next year (just an opinion ofcourse).

Slippery Morris

Reed Mahoney will surely be picked at Hooker for Qld in 2025 and not the aging Ben Hunt. I think Mahoney will be the type of player Billy wants so he can stir the pot and be extra grubby. He has Qld origin written all over him.

Ben is better off retiring now and if needed Billy can ask for him to come out of retirement rather than wait next year to get disappointed if he is overlooked. Ben has had a great SOO career with 20 games and some series wins. He can hold his head up for sure as he served Qld well.

TheRev

The series loss gives Billy the opportunity for a mini-reset of sorts.. different when ur going for ur 3rd straight series.

jay mac

Here’s a fun fact - Billy Slater has never won an NRL premiership or State of Origin series (as player or coach) without Cam Smith by his side.

since77

Here’s a fun fact - Billy Slater has never won an NRL premiership or State of Origin series (as player or coach) without Cam Smith by his side.
Or without being a cheating cat / weak gutted dog of the highest order. Hearing Slater's name mentioned as a possible Immortal makes me want to vomit.