Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

steve mortimer ...

the bit that stood out was a couple of times he stopped and checked himself, and dead set i thought he was going to cry, it looked like he had tears in his eyes.

did a good job running the dogs through their crisis and he has to be involved in the running of the game.

i couldnt give a s&&t he was a SL person, he cares about RL.

i was cheering last night when he did that, it was amazing.

with someone like him that cares so much about the game being involved in running it, we would be fine.

Jobdog

Liked it, but this should be a discussion held behind closed doors, it gives the game zero credibility when you have to air stuff like that on FTA television.

You really hoped no one else was watching...
Why? The game is in awful trouble as it is right now and the way forward is to have people like Turvey who do care about the game coming out and saying what they think.

the bit that stood out was a couple of times he stopped and checked himself, and dead set i thought he was going to cry, it looked like he had tears in his eyes.

He was not about to cry at any stage. No tears in his eyes. Just alot of sweat. My god you love to over dramatise things. He stopped as he needed to think what he was going to say next.
Having said that, Turvey made alot of great comments about the game.

Utey

Liked it, but this should be a discussion held behind closed doors, it gives the game zero credibility when you have to air stuff like that on FTA television.

You really hoped no one else was watching...

It's the footy show, it would have been exposed to 12 or 13 people max.

BN420

I think getting the ARL *cough* NSWRL bosses to give up their power and step back for the good of the game will be harder than getting News Limited too.

And besides how do you pick a independent board / committee ? the only way i can see its done if NO formal NSW, QLD Reps, NO ARL reps, NO News Limited reps.

So what do we do pick people from overseas ? or from the AFL community ?

Fact remains you pick anyone from the rugby league comunity at all and its not going to be independent / non bias for all.

Ram Man

I think getting the ARL *cough* NSWRL bosses to give up their power and step back for the good of the game will be harder than getting News Limited too.

And besides how do you pick a independent board / committee ? the only way i can see its done if NO formal NSW, QLD Reps, NO ARL reps, NO News Limited reps.

Fact remains you pick anyone from the rugby league comunity at all and its not going to be independent / non bias for all.

I agree partly with that..."I think getting the ARL *cough* NSWRL bosses to give up their power and step back for the good of the game will be harder than getting News Limited too." especially that statement. We really cant have an independant board but in saying that we need people who have the best interest and the longevity and continued success of the game at heart. So having people from the Rugby League community is a must, the problem is we need people who dont have an over-sized agenda.

Pigskin

Turvey's a champ ... it was all from the heart

Seeing him speak about the game he loves just confirms why he is still to this day King Cockroach.

Oink !

forward pass

I am really strating to think that the biggest problem in our game is Colin Love - head of the ARL.

This guy has made millions out of the game as both a lawyer and as head of the ARL. He is also charging the ARL a consultancy fee for organising the Rugby League World Cup.

Any change in the structure is going to have to come from him - not Gallop imo. He needs to have the balls to hand over the ARL functions to the NRL.

BrisVegas

The members of the AFL Commission are directly nominated and elected by the competitions clubs:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AFL_Commission

The AFL Commission is responsible for the administration of the AFL competition and is the "keeper of the code". There are eight members that comprise the AFL Commission, including a Chairman and a Chief Executive Officier. Commissioners are elected by the 16 AFL clubs, who each are entitled to make nominations. Should an election be necessary, then the membership is decided by a vote of the AFL clubs.
Current people elected to the AFL commission include:

• Mike Fitzpatrick: Ex-AFL footballer, Engineering Degree, Rhodes Scholar, Advisor to the Victorian Treasury Department, Worked for the International Investment Banks Merrill Lynch and Credit Suisse First Boston in New York, Founded the superannuation funds company Hastings Funds Management, is a current director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research and Rio Tinto Ltd. Was previously director of Telstra and the Australian Infrastructure Fund Limited. Was a former chairman of the Australian Sports Commission.

• Andrew Demetriou: Ex-AFL footballer, former CEO of the AFL Players Association, Qualified Teacher and has taught Business, Law and Politics at Trinity Grammar School and RMIT University.

• William John (Bill) Kelty: Australian Trade Unionist, former Secretary of the ACTU, degree in Economics. Has been awarded the Order of Australia.

• Graeme John: Ex-AFL footballer and Coach. Managing Director of Australia Post. Previously Australia Post's Chief Manager of National Operations. Former Deputy General Manger of TNT Australia. Director of the Road Transport Forum, Consolidated Paper Industries and Australian air Express.

I'd suggest nominating successful Business men first and first and foremost, and if they have experience in Rugby League through playing or coaching that is a bonus (Michael Searle is a good example).

As to the chances of such a set-up being implemented, I recall an article from about a year ago where a News Ltd higher up stated that they would by happy to relinquish control of the NRL, but only is a suitable administrative structure was in place to take over (which is clearly not the ARL).

BrisVegas

I hear John Howard is looking for a job!!

And while some people may laugh he would be a perfect candidate. He has a Law Degree, was a solicitor for 12 years, not to mention his political career and the business and political connections made during it.

Rockin Ronny

And while some people may laugh he would be a perfect candidate. He has a Law Degree, was a solicitor for 12 years, not to mention his political career and the business and political connections made during it.

Great. All you legends are getting fired up now about News Limited and the game when we were crying out about the rort on Souths and the Bears over 10 years ago. All we got was sledging - "stop causing trouble". Now, it's the way to go.

Even dally has no clue about what happened back in those times. Listen to his crap about Manly and Arko being the white knights of rugby league.

And Turvy? - thanks to Bullfrog Moore super league got a leg-up. Where was Turvy when the carnage was happening? Selling shuffleboard.

BrisVegas

Great. All you legends are getting fired up now about News Limited and the game when we were crying out about the rort on Souths and the Bears over 10 years ago. All we got was sledging - "stop causing trouble". Now, it's the way to go.

Even dally has no clue about what happened back in those times. Listen to his crap about Manly and Arko being the white knights of rugby league.

And Turvy? - thanks to Bullfrog Moore super league got a leg-up. Where was Turvy when the carnage was happening? Selling shuffleboard.

This isn't about assigning blame for what happened over a decade ago, or assigning people into the groups "us" and "them". It's far bigger and more important than that. It's about how to best form an administrative body that can guide the game at all levels through the coming decades.

What happened to the game prior to and post Super League is done and can't be undone. Their is more than enough blame to go around for both sides. People carrying grudges due to events that occurred back in the mid 90's should be the last people involved in any new administrative body.

I'm am however in 100% agreement about Dally not having a clue.

Nerd

Howards to old to put in the hard yards required. More like Lachlan Murdoch or James Packer etc.

I think we need some sort of consultancy(?) group to run an application process with interviews etc and end up with a list of reccomended candidates. Then ARL and News could then agree if they feel these people are good enough to take over the running of the game for several years and set out the intricacies of the game nation wide. At the end of say 5 years, they'd have completely restructed the inner workings and operations of the national body (which would fully control the game). This "new NRL" would set out the roles of and their relationship with all the lower rugby league bodies in Australia.

The Colin Loves of this world would have no chance... and probably wouldn't bother applying.

NK Arsenal

I think Mortimer deserves to be NRL CEO after that episode.

Legend.

Is he gonna be in the studio next week to give Gallop a grilling?