Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Steve Rogers

beekershark

Does anyone know how well Steve Rogers gets on with Stu Raper ?

The reason I ask is that I think it's time this club legend is finally allowed to stamp his well credentialed administration qualities on our club.

Rogers lives and breaths the sharks football club and genuinely feels each loss and warms to each win. He is the one to breed the kind of club spirit needed to win a GF.

I really believe that if Rogers was not continually hamstrung by the grumpy old men upstairs, then he would have already had a much more positive effect on our young team.

Raper is a bloody good coach who also shares rogers love of the club, I think that Rogers as president of the club with a genuine board of skilled and knowledgable experts in fields such as property, management, marketing, and finance, leading and ASSISTING a football club run by raper and our current squad of talented and versatile players, is the real and very obtainable key to unlocking our premiership dreams.

If president or direector is not a position people feel would suit Rogers, then allow him freedom under a new board to run the club as CEO as a genuine football club, free from board and marketing politics.

PJ

Don't know about Rogers as CEO but I'd love to see him with a professional front office.

But if there is a board out there they missed their chance for the next year at least.

beekershark

I know mate,

I dont know if there are any other answers out there, and my idea above may not be the answer, but its one I think would work.

I just think that it is more than obvious of late seasons that premierships are not just about a coach and buying players. it is an attitude, an us against the world feeling of pride and loyalty that the club as a whole must have.

PLayers, coaching staff, fans, sponsors, everyone.

And the one constant in the past half dozen years that has stood in the way of that, is our board. Thye have looked at every other way to change the "culture" of the club, but should they have been looking much closer to home than coaches and playing staff ?

Shark

I'd like to see him in a coaching role, to be honest.

Leave the running of the Administration and club to someone suitably qualified in Management. An MBA graduate at least.

Being a club legend does not automatically qualify someone as a brilliant administrator. Same as being a gifted or brilliant player does not automatically make someone a great coach. Indeed, some of the BEST coaches were also-rans as players.

If he has no interest in being a director, then maybe put him into a coaching director role and let business people handle the business.

My position

The Board and CEO
Ensure the books are correct, promote and run the club, lure and secure sponsors.
Hire the Football Manager.
Ensure the players contracts are legal and under the cap overall.

Basically the accountants

The Football Manager
Hire the Coaches
Approve and sign the players the coaches want.
Manage the cap budget.

Basically the selector of coaches and players for the club.

The coach
Coach the team.
Select the team.
Recommend the players wanted for the squad.

Specifically the instructors and motivators of the squads.

beekershark

well said Angry, do you have an opinion on how that does, or should work at our club currently ?, do you think the structure should be changed to achieve what you have outlined above ?

Shark

beekershark said:
well said Angry, do you have an opinion on how that does, or should work at our club currently ?, do you think the structure should be changed to achieve what you have outlined above ?

It's not rocket science Beeks...Any 1st year Business/Economics/Management/Marketing/Commerce student will be able to draft something up!

In fact, the course outline for MGT 100 at CSU just about covers it.

Problem is, if any of our board actually WENT to Uni or ran a business hands-on, it was so bloody long ago that they have forgotten the basics, or they are still living by 1970s business practices and principles.

In fact, our club may provide a good, objective case study for a student in one of the above disciplines.

givmeabeer

I think we need a change at Board Level The majority of the current board has held office for years now so I think its time for a clean out.

beekershark

There are a good many board members who are currently in business mate, and they are by all accounts very good at it too, there is an accountant, Barrister, and a few company directors and they all run good shows outside of the club.

But perhaps they are not having enough say because the board is run along ticket lines ?

pogo

the effort to effect a change at board level is immense and needs to a well orchestrated plan, due to the barry pierce ticket which holds power.

if an independent challenges or stands for a position he is up against it due to the concerted effort which goes into protecting the ticket members.

this situation has existed over the last 20 years at cronulla through various factions.

unfortunately i do not share beekersharks judgement of the quality of our board, there is not as much commercial or business experience as i feel there could be and what there is is limited to a narrow area of expertise.

the only real entrepreneurial approach taken to running the club was by peter gow who as i said in an earlier post fell on his sword.

to stand as a board member you need to have a great deal of free time..be retired as are a few of our board or be wealthy enough to withstand time away from your business...more so if you are president.

i can say from experience over nearly 20 years cronulla has a habit at board level of keeping the status quo and not welcoming new blood, ideas or strategies.

i say this with no malice as a sharks supporter since 1967!

generational changes will produce a candidate and people who will run the club with a dynamic outlook..... i hope that some one emerges shortly .

Shark

Yeah Pogo, so unless your surname is Rogers, Ettingshausen, Miller, etc etc, then you ain't got a hope unless you're part of the 'annointed' ticket... :?

PJ

I doubt those names would help if you are out on the board.

Ask Docking and Sorenson

fizman

Legend Footballers DO NOT make Legend Administrators/CEO's.

I do not believe that Sludge has the negotiating skills to "seal the deal". In fairness I am basing my comparison to Richo was IS the best in his expertise. I certainly feel that he could offer something to the players, just not in the Admin side of things.

beekershark

I think Sludge had a pretty good admin record from Darwin and Perth didnt he mate ?

Pogo, That is the best summation and objective piece written about the board for a long time.

The other hard thing about fans and supporters wanting the best for the club, is that any talk or suggestion that perhaps a change at board level would be good for our club, it taken as blasphemy by the current power holders and met with extremely defensive actions.

It's not rocket science Beeks

pffffft!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Try looking at it from this angle..... :|

generational changes will produce a candidate and people who will run the club with a dynamic outlook..... i hope that some one emerges shortly .

The fans can't wait for "generational changes" :lol:

This isn't 1980

I can't offer a solution (cue the the top bit) I wouldn't know management if it jumped up and scorned me. 8)

Sideline Eye

The board signed Chris Anderson under his conditions, he failed and then got the sack. That sacking will cost us heaps of dollars, so would the people responsible for his appointment be somewhat responsible for this mess?? That's the great joke

gunnamatta bay

I know nothing about the people running the Sharks club but I do know about another large club not far away, and it's not Penrith, where rorts are part of the culture and continue on to this day. Like all the clubs they are moaning about the new taxes and how they'll no longer be able to support the local grey rinse set anymore when in reality they are really only concerned abut losing their perks. The rot starts at the head and goes down to the roots. The place I refer to is a prime example.

Pres: Beekershark.

CEO: Mr. Angry.

Football manager/ director. Sludge... who else????

Bar Manager: ME!!!

Mermaid Manager: Jimbo.

Gaming: Fizman

Board Members: Beeks. Pierre. Jimbo. Fizman. Mr. Angry. Don Juan DeLotto. Shark. Bubbles. Sheros los Deros.
And they said cronyism isn't dead!!!!

Pres: Beekershark.

CEO: Mr. Angry.

Football manager/ director. Sludge... who else????

Bar Manager: ME!!!

Mermaid Manager: Jimbo.

Gaming: Fizman

Board Members: Beeks. Pierre. Jimbo. Fizman. Mr. Angry. Don Juan DeLotto. Shark. Bubbles. Sheros los Deros.
And they said cronyism isn't dead!!!!