Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stop The Rot - Media Day

You are the one being a smartarse nospam49. Having a total stir.

Doesn't matter anyway, because as Sincas said, most don't share your view.

Dr Crane

because I've been to Penriff a few times & I'm stumped as to why you're taking the high ground here.

I recall banks upon banks of empty red seats...

Of course, there are no red seats at the best suburban ground: Leichardt

I was talking about Pemwiff FS.

Yeah...there are about 1,500 people in the whole world that like that broken down little hole your mob plays half its games at.

Sincas

nospam49 said:
Yeah...there are about 1,500 people in the whole world that like that broken down little hole your mob plays half its games at.

7000 in 2 months actually and growing by the day as more become aware of it. I'd say the Footy Show and coverage on every television station and newspaper should bump that up a bit too.

Can those who do agree with the campaign please visit www.stoptherot.org when it comes back online and fill out a petition which can be mailed to us for free. We hope that will be tomorrow and we should have a lot of photos to go in as well.

Cheers.

Wow....7,000.....its just like the whole world wants $2,000,000 to be poured into a Stadium so that half of it can be torn down.

Maybe those 7,000....if they feel so strongly about it can put forth their own money towards the project.

Im sure they'd all be willing to do that....

Once Dead

nospam49 said:
Wow....7,000.....its just like the whole world wants $2,000,000 to be poured into a Stadium so that half of it can be torn down.

Maybe those 7,000....if they feel so strongly about it can put forth their own money towards the project.

Let me be the first or second to say that you are an idiot

Sincas

nospam49 said:

Yep, another pearler. If you had a clue you'd realise most petitions submitted to Parliament don't get near 10,000 so 7000 is pretty good in 2 months and without any real coverage. That has just changed today.

This will be my last reply to you as you obviously have no idea about anything to do with the campaign or the processes involved. We'll let the Govt and the public decide this one.

Thanks for an entertaining afternoon.

CULLUS.ONLINE

nospam49 said:
The West Tigers have only been around for a few years.

Dear nospam49

Your correct, Wests Tigers are in their 5th year this season.
However the two clubs, Balmain Tigers and Wests Magpies, have been around since 1908. That is a total of 187 years of tradition, pride, honour and loyalty.

I beg to ask how long Penrith has been around for?

How much do you love the panthers? Alot? Good onya! I love to tigers as heaps too, as does every league fan loving their club.
Do you like Rugby League? You name says you are a nospam49, so i suppose that you LOVE your rugby league.

The point that i am try to get to is that you may not know that the very first game of rugby league in Australia was played at Birchgrove Oval (Balmains first home ground) between Balmain and Wests. From there our great game of rubgy league started. Prehaps now you might have a little more respect for the Wests Tigers.

Now onto Leichhardt.

Have you ever been to Leichhardt Oval? Have you ever been there when 19000 fans pack the ground, cheering out "Tigers!!!! Tigers!!!!". Have you ever whitnessed the pride and form of opposing teams go out the window when they face the Tigers at Leichhardt Oval?

I quote several well known League personalities:

"This [Leichhardt Oval] is probably the best rugby league ground in the country"

The immense emotion that a fan gets at leichhardt oval is amazing. Im sure you get the same out at Penrith. I did when i went out there earlier. Penrith fans were very welcoming and I rated that night as my best ever away-game, even though we lost.

The government putting $2 million, $200,000 or even $2 of tax-payers money into Leichhardt Oval to keep it from falling to the ground is soo important to us Balmain fans, Wests Tigers fans, RUgby League fans and Australians.

Imagine if penrith stadium was falling down? Imagine if penrith stadium, in 70 years time, had seen hundreds of players go through its feilds, 100000 of fans flock there and millions of memories start there and it was about to fall down. Wouldnt you like to see money be put forwards to "prop it back up"?

I ask you this:

Would you rather see Leichhardt Oval be demolished and have units built there and thousands of fans left to ponder on memories of rugby league, then go off and watch Union or AFL matches because there arn't any other closer NRL teams to support.....

or would you rather see fans be happy, tradition continued and the proud banner of your friendly rival club fly high?

$2million is a sum of money that may come from many places! Fund rasing, the leagues clubs, the NRL, the council. It may come over several years.

If Penrith stadium, or any other stadium was falling down, i would support the governement spending money to fix it up. Because i know how proud those fans must feel when they can walk into their home ground and watch their team play.

So please, you dont have to sign the petition, but understand why we are trying to stop the rot.

So tonight, sit down and relax, watch the footy show tonight and see the interview.

Have a nice night.

MEE

I travelled to Leichart earlier this year for the Tigers V Manly game. The place is busting at the seams with character. The charm of the place is unique and needs to be preserved.

tigergran

Hi everyone
Congratulations to the Stop the Rot team who are doing so marvellously well in their promotion of the cause to upgrade Leichhardt Oval. If I lived closer, I would certainly be doing more to help.
Well done everyone - I love Leichhardt Oval, and am most appreciative of the people who are working so hard for the upgrade. I love going to games there, and am so proud to be a Tiger supporter.
Looking forward now to the Footy Show.

Yours tigerly

Tigergran

Sincas

my eagle eye said:
I travelled to Leichart earlier this year for the Tigers V Manly game. The place is busting at the seams with character. The charm of the place is unique and needs to be preserved.

Cheers mate. We were out at Brooky last week in the rain and you guys have a very similar ground out there.

Just like us (well maybe not lately) you have a great record at Brooky and thats no coincidence. These grounds generate a great atmosphere and as Sirro and Barnesy said today, the players really appreciate playing there in front of their home crowds.

A lot of people from other team's come away from Leichhardt with the same opinion as you.. thats why it has significance for rugby league fans in general.

Sincas

tigergran said:
Hi everyone
Congratulations to the Stop the Rot team who are doing so marvellously well in their promotion of the cause to upgrade Leichhardt Oval. If I lived closer, I would certainly be doing more to help.
Well done everyone - I love Leichhardt Oval, and am most appreciative of the people who are working so hard for the upgrade. I love going to games there, and am so proud to be a Tiger supporter.
Looking forward now to the Footy Show.

Yours tigerly

Tigergran

Thanks Tigergran. You've done plenty and your support is always appreciated. But you know your work isn't done until everyone in Orange has signed that petition.

Look forward to catching up at the club on Saturday night and enjoy the Footy Show tonight, I have a feeling it will be a great story. Junior wouldn't let us down.

BuffaloRules

nospam49 has visions of the Tigers moving to Brisbane or the Gold Coast, hence his bitterness on this issue.

Aint going to happen freak.

Beaussie

More of our taxpayer dollars down the drain for this ridiculous proposal. Seriously the ground aint up to standard turf, facilities etc wise, and if the Tigers require the assistance of the taxpayer to fix a rotting grandstand that will never get filled, then perhaps they shouldn't even be in the comp.

Give em nothing Mr Carr.

BuffaloRules

Beaussie said:
More of our taxpayer dollars down the drain for this ridiculous proposal. Seriously the ground aint up to standard turf, facilities etc wise, and if the Tigers require the assistance of the taxpayer to fix a rotting grandstand that will never get filled, then perhaps they shouldn't even be in the comp.

Give em nothing Mr Carr.

As I've said to you before Bea, you should be the last person whinging about taxpayers dollars, when you have your fat hand out collecting Abstudy.

At least you could do some study instead of wasting your time here.

Most negligent waste of taxpayers money - ever :lol:

Its like buying new wheels for you 1070's $hitbox of a car and thinking it will make things better.

They need about $40,000,000 to make that stadium any good......and then again, it will just be a suburban ground.

What....$24,000,000 spent at Campbelltown wasnt enough. Now the Tigers want more?

BuffaloRules

Freak, shouldn't you be over at TotalRL giving the Poms sh*t in your oh so witty way ??

Can't beat the Aussies third string side etc etc :roll: