Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sullivan Brain Snap

Objective One

Well done to the entire team for much needed 2 points yesterday BUT, I think Sullivan earned himself a week in A grade for that complete brain snap with 3 mins. to go, 6 points up, on the Manly 20m line, Kimmorley to his right in perfect field goal or roll into the in goal grubber range and he crabs it towards the blind side touchline from dummy half, throws the attempted miracle pass to our winger and it goes across the touchline about 9 feet in the air. WTF????? That lead to Manly getting the last try when we should have had the ball back with 2 mins. to go on the halfway, roll down the clock, 6 points win, easy peasy. How can someone who plays first grade think like that?????

Quint

Id say his mind was'nt quite on the game after the death of his mother early last week.
I commend him for actually playing,would have been tough,
:clap:

millersnose

hmm

i have seen peachey do similar things through the years

luckily it didnt ultimately cost us

reefy thinks it was a set play gone wrong

i think it was sully trying to be a hero selfishly

Luke Priddis, thats who. Particularly in GF'sagainst the Rorters.
Danny buderus another & Cameron Smith.
Both this year.

I'm not convinced that what sully did was not supposed to happen.
I can't for the life of me work out what Noddy was doing waving his arm in the air long before Sully even ran off.
We also have to remember that the one point was far from a gimme.
Remember who the kicker is.

Foz

I thought it was a planned move too Reefy.
Peach also put his hand up (next to Noddy).
At the time I thought they were acting as decoys.
They could have also been calling for the ball.
Something we may never know.

wittyfan

Schooner Of New said:
Id say his mind was'nt quite on the game after the death of his mother early last week.

That is some very sad news. :cry:

You can't drop him for that. There are a number of what if's that could have arisen from that.

*What if Sullivan had've made the pass stick and Simmons managed to score?
*What if SUllivan had've scored
*What if Kimmorley had his kick charged down, and a run away try under the sticks

What if's are frequent with the game. You can't drop Sully for his one mistake, and anyways, it didn't cost the Sharks the game, so why blow up over it?

Schooner Of New said:
I agree, an amazing effort to play. I feel so sorry for him, it is easy to forget how young they are.

On the football side, his little kick for Simmons' try balanced out the brain snap I thought.

millersnose

madunit said:
*What if Sullivan had've made the pass stick and Simmons managed to score?
*What if SUllivan had've scored
*What if Kimmorley had his kick charged down, and a run away try under the sticks

what if sullivan threw the worst pass in the game and it goes over the sideline and many score off the next set

Objective One

I feel like a complete dickhead. Had I know about his terrible personal news I would never have made this post. My condolences and apologies to Sullivan and his family. I agree that it is a huge statement about his character and strength that he got himself out there at all. Topic closed please.

carinashark

My condolences to the Sullivan family. Its ok Ob One , we have all done similar things ( well I have). But looking at the replay maybe the manly tacklers arm pushed sullivans elbow causing the ball to fly. Just a thought.
Carinashark

Hey I've thrown those passes heaps of times ...its easy to do :D
So what if he threw a shite pass , it's not as if he does it every game ....we can think ourselve's lucky Dykes is not still here.Who saw Dykes run 30 metres sideways and straight off the field? Now that was a monumental phuckup.

Personally I think he has been one of, if not , the best players this year.

SirShire

Why is it that whenever a player does something wrong its a brain snap?

Good onya Sully. Must of been hard playing under those circumstances.

Generalzod

Objective One said:
Well done to the entire team for much needed 2 points yesterday BUT, I think Sullivan earned himself a week in A grade for that complete brain snap with 3 mins. to go, 6 points up, on the Manly 20m line, Kimmorley to his right in perfect field goal or roll into the in goal grubber range and he crabs it towards the blind side touchline from dummy half, throws the attempted miracle pass to our winger and it goes across the touchline about 9 feet in the air. WTF????? That lead to Manly getting the last try when we should have had the ball back with 2 mins. to go on the halfway, roll down the clock, 6 points win, easy peasy. How can someone who plays first grade think like that?????

Mate he just lost his mother..........Have a bit of compassion.

SirShire

Can anyone confirm that Sully was struck in the head when he was throwing the pass? The might be the reason it went so high.

Mate he just lost his mother..........Have a bit of compassion
I think he know's that going by this
I feel like a complete dickhead. Had I know about his terrible personal news I would never have made this post. My condolences and apologies to Sullivan and his family. I agree that it is a huge statement about his character and strength that he got himself out there at all. Topic closed please.

millersnose

Generalzod said:
Objective One said:

Mate he just lost his mother..........Have a bit of compassion.

if you read a few posts above yours OO had posted a retraction as he - and i for that matter - didnt know about this personal tradgedy

all comment on sullivans form on the weekend was, i am sure - ignorant of this tragedy

shadowboxer

it was unlucky, but we shouldnt have been in that position anyway. Ultimately, we won the game......

brumal

It might have been a planned move. I have been of the opinion now since his persistent placement on the bench by Raper, that when he is on the field for whatever time it is he tries to do too much to try and get a starting position.

That's my opinion anyway, by giving him less time he tries to do too much.

Seemed like the no 6 and 9 last week played as second rowers when Sully was on the field. I reckon he needs to establish himself at hooker now, and expose sloppy marker defence and get the team moving forward.