Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXV - Honouring Alex McKinnon

Bulldog Force

Err, what? How exactly could it be anything like a cap unless they forgot to add the chocolate?!

Exactly! What they did is squirt liquid chocolate to the bottom then pour the coffee and milk over it. A proper barista would have used the chocolate, blended it in well with the coffee, then added the milk... not just pour it all in without mixing. That's why it tasted like coffee!

Drew-Sta

I'm more than willing to take you up on that, Drew. I reckon you're fighting a losing battle with coffee, though. I like 'em sweet to the point of barely tasting like coffee.

Wine... my mates were fans and I did occasionally join them for a drop. I don't think I'll ever be able to enjoy a red, though. Just too rich for me.

Coffee will be easy. Good strong cap with two sugars and some cinnamon on top will ease you into it. Once you begin to enjoy the flavours, you just need to gradually pull back on the sugar and you'll be drinking piccolo's and short macchiato's in no time.

Wine is a bit more complex. Sounds like you've had a lot of big brutal stuff that has a bit too much sulfate; generally cheap stuff. If you get some subtle Hunter Shiraz or Hilltops Cab Sauv which is smoother you'll begin to enjoy it I think. The Canberra syrah I mentioned a few pages back would be one I'd recommend.

If you pay a pittance you get piss with wine; spending an extra $5-10 on a bottle generally nets a massive improvement. Not always, but genreally. Our Inheritance is about $7 a bottle but is generally fairly reasonable. Our Hanwood stuff is $12 usually, but scores quite well at shows.

Exactly! What they did is squirt liquid chocolate to the bottom then pour the coffee and milk over it. A proper barista would have used the chocolate, blended it in well with the coffee, then added the milk... not just pour it all in without mixing. That's why it tasted like coffee!

I don't understand why you didn't order a hot chocolate. I also don't understand why I persist in my thinking that you'll see reason. :crazy:

Jason Maher

So Drew's a coffee snob. Wanker. :p Coffee tastes like shit. If I really want to consume something burnt, I can just turn the toaster up. If I want caffeine, I can drink Coke.

Misanthrope

You have BM on facebook?

Happy birthday SGL mate.

I don't, but I operated under the assumption that SGLC was BunniesMan for longer than I'm proud to admit.

Coffee will be easy. Good strong cap with two sugars and some cinnamon on top will ease you into it. Once you begin to enjoy the flavours, you just need to gradually pull back on the sugar and you'll be drinking piccolo's and short macchiato's in no time.

Wine is a bit more complex. Sounds like you've had a lot of big brutal stuff that has a bit too much sulfate; generally cheap stuff. If you get some subtle Hunter Shiraz or Hilltops Cab Sauv which is smoother you'll begin to enjoy it I think. The Canberra syrah I mentioned a few pages back would be one I'd recommend.

If you pay a pittance you get piss with wine; spending an extra $5-10 on a bottle generally nets a massive improvement. Not always, but genreally. Our Inheritance is about $7 a bottle but is generally fairly reasonable. Our Hanwood stuff is $12 usually, but scores quite well at shows.

That does sound pretty good. I'm fond of coffee when it's 'cut' with a complimentary flavour like cinammon or caramel, which I guess puts me in a similar boat to the Philistine, BF.

As for wine, I've had some nicer reds, but the flavours generally don't appeal to me. I can stomach a rose, and can drink most any white as long as it's not terribly dry.

More than willing to expand my palate though.

Bulldog Force

I once worked with a guy that put 5 or 6 sugars in a coffee.

f**k that! It's an unwritten rule that coffee isn't meant to taste sweet. If you want sweet and caffine, then buy coke. Coffee is meant to taste like coffee, not like the coffee beans were attacked by a sugar cane.

Drew-Sta

So Drew's a coffee snob. Wanker. :p Coffee tastes like shit. If I really want to consume something burnt, I can just turn the toaster up. If I want caffeine, I can drink Coke.

I prefer connoisseur ;-) And if you've only had burnt coffee I appreciate your comment, but would suggest you get someone that isn't Steve Price to make it in future.

Coke is terrible for your guts and teeth. Ok for a treat, but more than once or twice a week begins to stack up.

I once worked with a guy that put 5 or 6 sugars in a coffee.

Yeck. That's not coffee. That's a sugar bowl sprinkled with milk and caffeine.

Drew-Sta

I don't, but I operated under the assumption that SGLC was BunniesMan for longer than I'm proud to admit.

That does sound pretty good. I'm fond of coffee when it's 'cut' with a complimentary flavour like cinammon or caramel, which I guess puts me in a similar boat to the Philistine, BF.

As for wine, I've had some nicer reds, but the flavours generally don't appeal to me. I can stomach a rose, and can drink most any white as long as it's not terribly dry.

More than willing to expand my palate though.

Done! You're back in August, right?

I did work experience with a guy once that drank 24 cans of diet coke a day. Do the maths...

Had a friend go in for stomach surgery a few years back. Her stomach inside was blue. Doc asked if she drank diet Coke. She said yes. He said that was the cause. She hasn't touched it since.

f**k that! It's an unwritten rule that coffee isn't meant to taste sweet. If you want sweet and caffine, then buy coke. Coffee is meant to taste like coffee, not like the coffee beans were attacked by a sugar cane.

Argh :crazy::crazy::crazy:

Misanthrope

I want to facepalm, but I'm too lazy to go find an image to link to.

Done! You're back in August, right?

Yep. Angling for 2-3 weeks off. One weekend for the wedding, one for a bucks, and one at home - but I'll likely be in Sydney for two of the three weeks.