Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXVI: Honouring Whinging Dragons Fans

afinalsin666

6 months before unemployment benefits? Fanf**kingtastic. Work in an industry with f**ked security and you're gone. My uncle was a scaffolder, work ran dry. Looked for ages, centrelink wouldn't pay him. Four months with no money, debt collectors breathing down his neck, getting threatened with eviction, still no help. He killed himself, because of the bureaucratic bullshit f**ked him over.

f**k the government. f**k them.

Drew-Sta

6 months before unemployment benefits? Fanf**kingtastic. Work in an industry with f**ked security and you're gone. My uncle was a scaffolder, work ran dry. Looked for ages, centrelink wouldn't pay him. Four months with no money, debt collectors breathing down his neck, getting threatened with eviction, still no help. He killed himself, because of the bureaucratic bullshit f**ked him over.

So sorry to hear that mate :(

And I agree - they've done some terrible stuff in the latest budget for those who run onto hard times.

Dragon2010

Now AFS is there! It's like the FFB on Facebook!

Where's my invite!

You're in bro!

^This.

I wonder... if the ALP was still in power, would they have f**ked us up in this budget as much as Abbott and Hockey did?

Not saying you're wrong. But how does this budget affect you? Do you fall within target categories? GP/Medicare? (honestly, curious)

less centrelink bums is good

I know to many people who sit on their ass and do nothing and receive those benefits. They're perfectly capable of working (physically) yet refuse as they get paid to do drugs and get smashed. I'm talking people my age (~21) who rort the system.

That's unfortunate, mate.

So sorry to hear that mate :(

And I agree - they've done some terrible stuff in the latest budget for those who run onto hard times.

Both parties are as bad as each other.

I wonder... if the ALP was still in power, would they have f**ked us up in this budget as much as Abbott and Hockey did?

You mean the same Labor that pissed it all away and left the tough decisions to Abbott and Hockey?

It's a f**king tough budget for sure, but there is a clear and obvious reason why it is so.

You mean the same Labor that pissed it all away and left the tough decisions to Abbott and Hockey?

It's a f**king tough budget for sure, but there is a clear and obvious reason why it is so.

It disadvantages people who can least afford it while having almost zero affect on those who can...

I was thinking, whats $7 to see a doctor? f**k all to me. Price of a burger or decent beer. Probably seems like a lot more to a young family if a parent loses their job though, since welfare is cut for 6 months..

sensesmaybenumbed

Yeah, true. However I would put it to you that the answer is not giving big business an easy time and inflicting the hard work on the rest of us.

The coalition went in to an election saying x and now they've done y.

And don't peddle that garbage about Libs being great economic managers. They've had pure good fortune to be in power during times of global economic growth and in opposition when the crashes happen.

A bucket of gravel and a geniused kitten could have seen Australia through the mid 90's into 2005 with the economy the way it was globally.

Misanthrope

The budget does exactly what people who voted for Abbott would want it to do: doesn't disadvantage them at all, while f**king over those who can least afford it.

Every day I'm given a new reason not to move back to the country I love.

BunniesMan

It is sheer stupidity to try and discourage people from seeking primary healthcare. People will be collapsing and rushed to hospital when a simple blood pressure test for a hundredth of the price could have helped them fix their problems. People will die from cancer because they delayed getting that cough checked out or that funny spot looked at.

Everybody that isn't a complete genius knows a gp visit is cheaper than a hospital bed. Discouraging routine gp visits means more people suffering far worse sicknesses down the road...which hits the government budget far harder.

Labor's biggest policy mistake was not winding back the Howard taxcuts of his last 3 years. If we undid those they would add up to more than the current deficit. Those cuts were basic economic vandalism and that's why his reputation for being a supposed great economic pisses me off.

Rudd and Gillard also deserve to be personally blamed for their leadership circus which forced people to vote for these lunatics.

BunniesMan

Yeah, true. However I would put it to you that the answer is not giving big business an easy time and inflicting the hard work on the rest of us.

The coalition went in to an election saying x and now they've done y.

And don't peddle that garbage about Libs being great economic managers. They've had pure good fortune to be in power during times of global economic growth and in opposition when the crashes happen.

A bucket of gravel and a geniused kitten could have seen Australia through the mid 90's into 2005 with the economy the way it was globally.

A bucket of gravel and a geniused kitten would have done a better job.

Howard did good in his early years with guns and the GST. But then he went to shit when he decided governing meant just bribing people for votes while having no long term plan.

At least the gravel and kitten wouldn't have given us unsustainable tax cuts. They wouldn't have woken up one day and thought "oh look, it's a short term boom, instead of spending it on one off costs like vital infrastructure how about we slash taxes. That'll hurt the budget every single year in the long term, even when the boom dies off. Sounds logical!"

Misanthrope

It disadvantages people who can least afford it while having almost zero affect on those who can...

I was thinking, whats $7 to see a doctor? f**k all to me. Price of a burger or decent beer. Probably seems like a lot more to a young family if a parent loses their job though, since welfare is cut for 6 months..

My thinking exactly. If I were back in Australia, I'd be fine. I'd take less sickies (f**k paying $7 for a day off work), but it wouldn't impact me overmuch.

But what kind of country creates a budget that further strains those who can least afford it while lightening the burden for those who are financially well off?

Apparently it's now us and the US.

Didgi

Surely no one is surprised by the liberal budget?

Tis funny though seeing some of the tards on my FB who are clearly in it for the likes.

whall15

I'm glad to see that they've managed to find a QUARTER OF A BILLION DOLLARS to spend on school chaplains.

Meh. The next budget will be easier and the one following that will be full of handouts and gifts.

With the way our election cycle works, this budget was always going to be a tough one. First budgets in a term always are.

Skinner

For my mine, the most important areas for governments to manage are health and education.......well, there goes health.

Drew-Sta

I'm glad to see that they've managed to find a QUARTER OF A BILLION DOLLARS to spend on school chaplains.

I was surprised by that, if I'm honest. While I think Chaplains are great and should be in every school, I didn't think it would be money spent this time round given the supposed cuts they were trying to make.

sensesmaybenumbed

For my mine, the most important areas for governments to manage are health and education.......well, there goes health.

And the affordability of education....

I was surprised by that, if I'm honest. While I think Chaplains are great and should be in every school, I didn't think it would be money spent this time round given the supposed cuts they were trying to make.

It's ridiculous. The Federal or State governments have no place funding things like this. What's next? Maths and science being taught at church?!

Seriously though, it's a ridiculous breach of common sense. The churches, mosques, temples etc can pay for it.