Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXVIII: Honouring Sore Losers from Queensland

Apey

I'm not sure how that is a sneaky punch at the NRL?

Saying an NRL player coming out reduces the sting of a homophobic slur holds the implication that NRL supporters are homophobic. Why would any homophobic who isn't an NRL fan be affected by this? They wouldn't give a shit that a person they've never heard of, playing a sport they don't care about, has come out of the closet. It's only going to challenge the viewpoint of NRL fans. So 'reducing the sting' from all those nasty homophobic NRL supporters because one of their own has caught that gay disease.

Nothing substantial on its own. Made humorous by the timing of the articles and the genuine homophobia by an AFL commentator just last night. :lol:

ek999

Saying an NRL player coming out reduces the sting of a homophobic slur holds the implication that NRL supporters are homophobic. Why would any homophobic who isn't an NRL fan be affected by this? They wouldn't give a shit that a person they've never heard of, playing a sport they don't care about, has come out of the closet. It's only going to challenge the viewpoint of NRL fans. So 'reducing the sting' from all those nasty homophobic NRL supporters because one of their own has caught that gay disease.

Nothing substantial on it's own. Made humorous by the timing of the articles and the genuine homophobia by an AFL commentator just last night. :lol:

I think you're reading way, way too much into it.

Yeah, could have just been commentary to the effect that any reduction in the impact of the taunt was a result of rugby league being the more popular code?

Although reading too much into media stories is a regular El D trait, so Apey was kind of spot on....

Apey

I think you're reading way, way too much into it.

And you're clutching at straws.

Explain why an NRL player coming out reduces the sting of a homophobic slur then. Where do you think this homophobic slur that is supposedly being reduced is coming from? Average homophobic Joe doesn't care about NRL, an NRL player comes out of the closet, *insert missing logic connector*, homophobic Joe now thinks 'I see the light maybe the gays aren't all bad'.

Pretty bleeding obvious it was aimed at the line of thought "oh he's gay but rugby league is tough so maybe not all gays are pansies after all". I don't think I need to spell it out which subgroup of people is more likely and primarily going to think this.

Yeah, could have just been commentary to the effect that any reduction in the impact of the taunt was a result of rugby league being the more popular code?

The jibe wasn't an NRL vs AFL thing (only the timing of the articles/the AFL incident) so it wasn't commenting on the NRL being more popular. The popularity arguments lends to my point anyway, not yours. Popularity = more fans. So the reduction in impact of this slur is because the NRL has so many fans. Uhuh...

Brian Taylor is a dickhead regardless of what he said about Harry Taylor.

It was Taylor's 150th game so he got chaired of by his team mates. Big deal. HE was only f**king around but just shows how stupid he is, dumb comment and his apology looked like it was written for him.

Worst commentator in the AFL so hopefully we is out of a job for a while.

He's also the fat f**k that came on to do the adds about the betting odds during SOO 3 with that other douche with the vitamin drink or what ever the f**k it was supposed to be.

Douchebag of the highest order.

Misanthrope

Although reading too much into media stories is a regular El D trait, so Apey was kind of spot on....

I'd have to agree. I read it as the NRL's mainstream popularity plus a prominent player coming out meant that homosexuality was seen as being more acceptable as a result. In turn, this diminished the effect of a word like 'twinkie'.

-----

In other news, the Newcastle Knights FB group is the gift that just keeps on giving.

Thorpie copped a bit of flak on FB which I thought was a bit odd.

People saying, why is he so brave just because he admitted the truth about his sexuality ?

Apey

You can't be working on all cylinders to call someone a twinkie on a national broadcast.

I'd have to agree. I read it as the NRL's mainstream popularity plus a prominent player coming out meant that homosexuality was seen as being more acceptable as a result. In turn, this diminished the effect of a word like 'twinkie'.

Seen more acceptable to whom? To people who don't give a shit about rugby league or you know maybe to the fans of the sport?

Please

You guys are making my arguments for me.

Misanthrope

Seen more acceptable to whom? To people who don't give a shit about rugby league or you know maybe to the fans of the sport?

Please

You guys are making my arguments for me.

Seen by the general public. If a famous actor comes out as gay, you don't need to like their movies to see that him being confident enough to come out is an indicator that homosexuality is more acceptable and therefore insulting people by implying or inferring they are gay is less effective.

Apey

Seen by the general public. If a famous actor comes out as gay, you don't need to like their movies to see that him being confident enough to come out is an indicator that homosexuality is more acceptable and therefore insulting people by implying or inferring they are gay is less effective.

Except in the case of a sportsman nobody who isn't a fan of the sport is going to care. In fact I'll go as far as to say the more likely response would be something like "I always knew NRL was gay" rather than a positive one.

To be honest I think this is completely irrelevant to the point they were making anyway. It seems pretty obvious to me it was aimed at the "gay men aren't real (or tough) men" line of thinking rather than a confidence thing. They could have named any old celebrity to make that point if it was their intention. They picked a sportsman playing a tough sport to reference the homophobic stereotype that gay men are 'lesser' men.

I feel like if I hadn't mentioned El Diablo nobody would even bother trying to argue the opposite. :lol: It's okay it doesn't mean he's not a lunatic you can stop ignoring the most pertinent point now so we can all be on our merry way.

People saying, why is he so brave just because he admitted the truth about his sexuality ?

I agree with that. Not criticising the guy, but seriously who cares. I get that it was a big thing for him, and hey, good on him. But why is it such massive news? And why is it brave? I haven't seen the interview but why is him coming out brave, but no one (I've seen anyway) mentions how brave he is for talking about his depression and whatnot? Honestly who gives a shit about his sexuality? It doesn't change his achievements, it's not a condition he has to suffer, it's not something that changes him. Dude's gay...maybe I'm missing something having never had to go through it, but seriously I don't see the big deal here.

Like I said, I'm not criticising him at all, I can imagine it was a big deal for him. But the massive deal being made out of it is something I don't understand.

Joker's Wild

Apey, I think the lads are right here mate

Roberts coming out was big news across the country. His status as a top level sportsman was the key point and if it was AFL, cricket, soccer, weighlifting, baseball, etc he was involved in the effect remains the same imo

Apey

Apey, I think the lads are right here mate

Roberts coming out was big news across the country. His status as a top level sportsman was the key point and if it was AFL, cricket, soccer, weighlifting, baseball, etc he was involved in the effect remains the same imo

When I think of the homophobes I've come across (whether it be here on LU or in the real world), I can't honestly imagine a single one of them changing their view because a sportsman of a sport they don't follow has come out of the closet. I can imagine them at least considering rethinking their position if they follow the sport, though.

I'll concede that it may not be true for all of them I guess. For the sake of ending the conversation rather than actually agreeing with it though, lol.

Bulldog Force

Ok... that's enough gay talk for this evening.

I'm off to play Battletoads & Double Dragon and then sleep until 5am.

Laters gators!

BunniesMan

People in media are so far from the typical bogan in the outer suburbs. They have no idea how a lot of people think. Homophobes don't care about sportsmen coming out or not, it's not going to stop them from being homophobic.

And the AFL-NRL comparison is nonsensical too. Do you really think everybody working in a newspaper is 100% coordinated at all times? Especially in the internet age when they're posting shit in real time across the whole day rather than just working on one newspaper to go out at one point during the day.

The stuff about Roberts had nothing to do with the Taylor drama.

Taylor is a wanker, a lot like a Ray Hadley. Nobody likes him.

because it's a massive, life changing step..

whilst it may not change the way others view you, it changes your view on the outside world.. Your perceptions on how you think everyone else is looking at you..

good on him.. Yes, it's a brave step, for the reasons I've just listed..

IMHO, he should have done it years ago, may have helped him..

but who am i to judge..?