Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXXI - Honouring Phil Hughes. 63*

afinalsin666

My old man tore his stomach muscles the other day, massive hernia. Kept lifting shit with it, finally went to the doctors today and they are doing emergency surgery first thing in the morning.

Crazy old bastard.

t-ba

Sadly, the truely classic Norths games generally involving completely f**king up in grand final qualifiers.

I went to 94,96,97 and the Dogs game in 98.

1996 and 1997 were disappointing. A Manly-Norths final would have been epic.

Even though I followed the eagles, I Always liked the Bears since I saw more of them than Manly growing up, (I walked from the old house through Crows Nest to NS Oval these holidays, maybe a 20-30 minute stroll. We used to train in the park opposite next to the opera shell.) which always infuriated the Manly supporters and delighted the Norths supporters in my family. My uncle actually spent a Flegg match for Norths on the bench cheering for Manly. :lol:

They're not coming back, which sucks.

Red Bear

I went to 94,96,97 and the Dogs game in 98.

1996 and 1997 were disappointing. A Manly-Norths final would have been epic.

Even though I followed the eagles, I Always liked the Bears since I saw more of them than Manly growing up, (I walked from the old house through Crows Nest to NS Oval these holidays, maybe a 20-30 minute stroll. We used to train in the park opposite next to the opera shell.) which always infuriated the Manly supporters and delighted the Norths supporters in my family. My uncle actually spent a Flegg match for Norths on the bench cheering for Manly. :lol:

They're not coming back, which sucks.
I was at 96, and as I said earlier 97 stands out for me.

Dad went to school across the road and used to play school footy there, as well as junior reps up to about flegg for Norths.

And yeah, I'm pretty resigned to them never reappearing, which is shitty. Still, great arvo spent at NSO for a NSW Cup game (although I didnt make any in 2014, probably a good thing as they were dreadful).

so found out today my little brother has a brain tumour, the size of a duck egg..

spent a fair bit of time with him this evening in hospital - he's doing ok, just worried as f**k about what it means... quite understandably..

strapping myself in for a rather rough ride ahead...

needless to say, managed to relieve the local bottleshop of a few of their highest ABV beers on the way home tonight.....

here's to you, bro.. you'll get thru this.

Misanthrope

f**k, that's awful news, mate.

I remember being in university and finding out my brother (only about 5 at the time, and 16 years my junior) had a tumour in his arm that they suspected was cancer.

I went out that night, got absolute maggot, wrote poetry about hating God, and told everybody who'd listen how much I loved my brother and hated the world.

It ended up being benign and the kid's 15 and fighting fit now. I hope your brother gets similarly good news.

thanks mate.. always good to know similar situations ended up with happy endings..

although I think if my brother's situation ends up the same as the above, I could be in trouble for all the liquor I have bought him and his girlfriend could be in a lot of trouble, given his new sudden new found youth...

so just having just turned on the tennis..

I am trying to work out the reason why I have not heard of this aussie chick tomljanovic before...........

Bulldog Force

so just having just turned on the tennis..

I am trying to work out the reason why I have not heard of this aussie chick tomljanovic before...........

It's because she wasn't born here. The sad thing is that most of the foreign-born Aussie players don't get the same media attention the ones born here do. A few got eliminated in round 1 that were foreign born, but the media only likes our locals.

Foreign-born success stories such as Jokic (yes before her career turned sour) and Tomic only get media attention because they go pretty far in tournaments and represent us.

Quite pathetic by the media really.

Every Aussie in my opinion should at least get their scorecard displayed on the sports report during the news.