Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sydney Crowds

Dogs Of War

The other benefit of having 3 day games on Sunday, is that the season schedule can be at the start of the year. This alone would help crowds, as people could actually plan to take weekends away to follow there team, while currently you don't quite know if it's can be done till closer to the actual date.

With 2xfriday, and 3xSunday games, Channel 9 (or whomever has the rights), will have plenty of games to choose from, the only alteration is the kickoff time.

2 hourse time difference and Perth's ability to host games on a Sat would make a Perth team provide a much more flexible programming. You could have 8pm live games into the East coast or 5 or 6pm live Sunday game every other week with the Reds in the comp.

Stadiums within spitting distance of the city entertainment districts will always work for evening games unlike grounds in middle of nowhere. Nothing better than a 6pm game then into the city for a night out to celebrate/drown the sorrows!

LeagueXIII

Exactly, by having teams in Perth, 4 in Qld, and 2 in NZ there is less reliance on having Sydney clubs home games fill night TV schedule. Only one game say a Friday night in Sydney.

babyg

i didnt read it, its probably your usual high standard

but i would think the fox guys would be cringing
Screw foxtel, they pay f**k all money to the NRL and they should have f**k all say in the scheduling of games.

Sydney games should be priority No1 for the game. If Sydney looks good, the game looks good.

hutch

Exactly, by having teams in Perth, 4 in Qld, and 2 in NZ their is less reliance on having Sydney clubs home games fill night TV schedule. Only one game say a Friday night in Sydney.

it will happen one day. i dont think it will happen under the current admin though.

Timbo

Just have 2 games at 2pm. And you can select which one you watch on Foxtel like Saturday nights. With a replay at 6pm of both if you want to watch the other one. Though Channel 9 would have to play ball with the 3rd match at 4pm and not reveal the scores.

I used to hate the old delayed Sunday 2pm at 6pm game before viewers choice existed. The Raiders got it every second week and it meant I could never watch the Sunday footy on 9 because they always gave the score sometime during the second half.

Green Machine

Screw foxtel, they pay f**k all money to the NRL and they should have f**k all say in the scheduling of games.

Sydney games should be priority No1 for the game. If Sydney looks good, the game looks good.
That's true, Foxtel do pay f**k all, but Foxsports pay around $65m a season for NRL coverage,

Green Machine

What’s the crowd numbers for NRL games at Sydney suburban grounds on Monday nights?

15,150 @ Brookie for Dogs/Manly was the last one.

LeagueXIII

For the record:

Night games in Sydney (Friday):

Played - 19

Total crowds - 252,432

Average - 13,286

Night games in Sydney (Saturday):

Played - 16

Total crowds - 216,205

Average - 13,512

ozenzud

Saturday day games should avoided. Give blokes playing in the park the "limelight". In the "old" days, in Sydney we used to play saturday arvo and go and watch an NRL game sundie arvo. We could then rush home and watch the game on Channel 7 at 6.30pm to see if you spotted yourself in the crowd!

We can't forget that kids and younger blokes that play the game play saturdays. Mind you, a great lesser people play and more just watch these days.

TV coverage these days is great. In the NSW country, in the 70's and early 80's we used to get a 3pm live game on Saturdays which was replayed on ABC at 5.00pm. Mind you, bush footy was/is played on Sundays (at least group 9 is).

Then on sundie, an edited Match of the day on Chanel 7. Now we get ALL games live on TV, be it you have to pay for all but, what 3? If your missus doesn't pack a sad, you can watch every team play every week. You can watch your team play every week. In the old days, if you didn't follow Manly or Para, you got to see them play about 2 or 3 times a year on tele. So there was more reason to go to the game then. I reckon having Pay TV is great. Particularly as I no longer live in an NRL town.

Green Machine

Sometimes, you can make stats what ever we want them to be. It’d quite interesting to compare the difference in crowds between the Channel 9 delayed telecast to the “Live” 2.00pm Foxsports telecast. When you drill down of the figures, they don’t seem much different to trends in the 80’s and early 90’s.
Currently, the Sunday game is 3rd pick for Channel 9, so it is usually a quality game. Channel 9 tend to pick teams that rate well in Sydney. The Channel 9 choice always includes a Sydney team. If it was the case that you just scheduled all available Sydney home games on a Sunday, would they all be as well attended as the Channel 9 Sunday pick? There is a big difference in attendance figures from the 2.00pm and the 3.00pm games. In the 80’s, there were plenty of Sunday games with crowds below 10,000, outside the top pick Sunday game that usually drew close to 20,000.

All in All... Sunday Afternoon games kick ass!!! The ground aint wet, the sun is shininning and the fans aint home, they're at the game.

LeagueXIII

Exactly, address the imbalance, listen to the market. Time do do what's right for the game and create the perception the game is on the up which is a far cry from where it is now.

brendothejet

gotta laugh at people carrying on about how crowds used to be when the simple fact is that crowds are bigger these days than ever before...

I say drop a saturday night game and have sunday 12pm, 2pm and 4pm kickoffs. Two live on FOX then 4pm kick off live on 9.

gotta laugh at people carrying on about how crowds used to be when the simple fact is that crowds are bigger these days than ever before...

I say drop a saturday night game and have sunday 12pm, 2pm and 4pm kickoffs. Two live on FOX then 4pm kick off live on 9.

12pm is just to early...