Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tasmania is getting really pissed off with the AFL, it is time for the NRL to act

Bulldog Force

So you would call the team the Tasmanian Crabs:lol:
One would suggest a Tassie Tiger. But seeing we've already got a Tiger Mascot, they'll have too settle for good old...

tasmania.gif

Lambretta

If the population, sponsors etc are deemed too small by the AFL why on earth would the NRL consider it?

Tasmania is not deemed too small for AFL - rather the decision to look elsewhere is entirely political.

Tasmania is ready for an AFL team - in fact they're screaming out for one. BUT the AFL knows it owns Tasmania as far as junior development, media coverage etc goes.

Therefore the AFL have decided they need to expand into areas they dont own - rather than consolidate in areas they do - as they believe they have the money to do so.

Time will tell if it's a good move or a bad one, with well supported teams such as Port Adelaide in financial difficulty.

Back to NRL going to Tasmania. It would be financial suicide for the NRL to expand into Tasmania. There is no history of league support in Tassie, there are no children playing the game, there is no media coverage, there would be no sponsorship interest - there would be no patrons ready to step in and support the club if things got tough.

In short a move to Tasmania would be suicide and doomed to failure.

Rugby League survives in Hull in the UK because it has a proud tradition. It is a working class, industrial area, with long established roots in League and until recently no successful football team to compete with. Hull also has quite a large catchment with Lincolnshire close by (has no football teams either - except Smerkinhorpe). Hull is considered Yorkshire by the locals (maps call it Humberside) and Yorks is one of the most populous counties in the UK. It can draw players from a wide market. Tasmania would be drawing fish from the sea. Hardly a good juniors policy.

Hull has the media, the schools, the companies to support the code and a large catchment area to draw on. It also has a younger population. Tasmania's population is largely older. When kids reach teenage years, they're straight on the boat to Melbourne. League cant succeed against cricket and AFL in such a tight market place.

There is absolutely nothing to this idea, other than a deep rooted desire to stick one up the AFL for ignoring their own back yard and trying to expand into ours.

The politics of "f**k you too pal" is not a winning formula for success. As much as we'd want it to be.

Didgi

Sell it as a derby and pull extra crowds. That's the beggining of a rivalry, that is.

What abot the Tassie Devils, instead of something that doesn't even exist anymore.

Mate I lived there for 2006 & 2007 due to work. I can tell you that they get confused with league and union. Union internations are on live though. sh*t even state or origin is on delay down there.

Like locky says we don't even have a local comp and there are only 500 thousand people in the whole state.

Yep same here worked in the heart of Hobart back in 2000, and they pretty much thought they were the same.

They had the same level of enthusiasm for both as well - zero.

Plus people in Tasmania dont like new idea's.

Of course I realise that.

On a different note, tomorrow the Tigers play the Tasmanian Tigers. That has a great ring to it :sarcasm:

Is that "realise" as in you actually get it, or is that "realise" as in you realised you were being made fun of on April fools day but actually didn't, but told everyone you did when it was plainly obvious otherwise?

IanG

Also where in Tassie would it be played? Bellrieve Oval in Hobart or York Park in Launceston?
Or would there be another decent facility for them to play an NRL game down there.

RL1908

Got a vague recollection that the Storm's first ever trial game in 1998 was against the Adelaide Rams in Launceston or Hobart.

RL1908

Found it - Melbourne Storm v Adelaide Rams, NRL trial game - North Hobart Oval, Tasmania, 07/02/98. No idea of result.

Didgi

They would definitely need a new more suitable stadium to play in, Bellerive wouldn't work at all.