Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team list Tuesday Rnd 24 vs Donkeys

Because there’s no reason I should believe any of you know better than me.
There's that assuming that you are right thing sneaking out again - despite claiming that (when having an opinion on the coach's choices and actions) you assume you are wrong? It's very confusing...
If you were talking about your own areas of expertise or even your own experience it would be different. It’s why I avoid the politics thread. There’s no useful debate to be had. It’s just competing opinions.
But we're all just footy fans here, and so the footy threads aren't any different either - just passionate fans trying to share opinions. Does anyone (other than perhaps you) really come here for "competing" and "debate"?

There's very few people who post with the assumption that their opinion is "right" beyond being just their own opinion... So it is ironic that in "debating" a "competing opinion" about the coach's choices with soemone, that you present (and infer above) that you assume your are right while simultaneously claiming that you assume you are wrong.

There's that assuming that you are right thing sneaking out again - despite claiming that (when having an opinion on the coach's choices and actions) you assume you are wrong? It's very confusing...
I have no doubt some people wouldn't be able to understand the difference. It would be confusing!
But we're all just footy fans here, and so the footy threads aren't any different either - just passionate fans trying to share opinions. Does anyone (other than perhaps you) really come here for "competing" and "debate"?
Well unlike political debates, I learn from footy debates. Whether an assessment offered by one of the handful of insightful posters here (as opposed to the ones who just come here to vent) or just from the research I have to do to support my arguments. That's the great thing about footy, it is very well bounded and much of the historical data is structured in the form of statistics. It makes it easy to develop an informed opinion and then to support it in debate. The only side that's opaque is the side we don't see; what happens off the field, leadership and coaching and so on. Those things are more like politics, where it's very difficult to be right and even harder to prove it. We're probably better off keeping that shit to ourselves.
There's very few people who post with the assumption that their opinion is "right" beyond being just their own opinion... So it is ironic that in "debating" a "competing opinion" about the coach's choices with soemone, that you present (and infer above) that you assume your are right while simultaneously claiming that you assume you are wrong.
Well I don't think people would direct such vitriol at a footy coach (and his family) for his decisions unless they were convinced that they're right and he is wrong. Anyone who thinks that way obviously lacks credibility. These people erase any doubt that I know better than them, and I'm ordinarily a humble and unassuming merkin who is prone to introspection. Basically, I think you merkins should be more like me.

JokerEel

I have finally figured out with the help of all you super intelligent forumers why the Eels have been so shit since the 1986 season.. It's because of JA.. 2009 Grand Final loss JAs fault.
Getting pumped by the Cowboys in the preliminary final in 2005 JAs fault. I get it now!

I have no doubt some people wouldn't be able to understand the difference. It would be confusing!
And that's why it's ironic!!
The only side that's opaque is the side we don't see; what happens off the field, leadership and coaching and so on. Those things are more like politics, where it's very difficult to be right and even harder to prove it. We're probably better off keeping that shit to ourselves.
In your opinion... but obviously a lot of people come here (and other sites) to not keep their thoughts on such opaque footy matters to themselves, and learn from each other without having some merkin focus on whether who might be right, or supporting their arguments etc.

Well I don't think people would direct such vitriol at a footy coach (and his family) for his decisions unless they were convinced that they're right and he is wrong. Anyone who thinks that way obviously lacks credibility. These people erase any doubt that I know better than them, and I'm ordinarily a humble and unassuming merkin who is prone to introspection. Basically, I think you merkins should be more like me.
The vitriol (booing BA/JA on match day) is hard to understand. But simple opinions about coaching selections, or game plans and team tactics, use of the bench etc should absolutely be able to be discussed on a fan forum, without some merkin meaninglessly trying to debate every opinion (or infer people shouldn't disagree with the coach because... they're the coach), wouldn't you say?

And that's why it's ironic!!
giphy.gif

In your opinion... but obviously a lot of people come here (and other sites) to not keep their thoughts on such opaque footy matters to themselves, and learn from each other without having some merkin focus on whether who might be right, or supporting their arguments etc.
How would you learn anything from some merkin who can't support his arguments unless he is just telling you what you want to hear?
The vitriol (booing BA/JA on match day) is hard to understand. But simple opinions about coaching selections, or game plans and team tactics, use of the bench etc should absolutely be able to be discussed on a fan forum, without some merkin meaninglessly trying to debate every opinion (or infer people shouldn't disagree with the coach because... they're the coach), wouldn't you say?
I think if you're just here to vent you shouldn't pretend you're interested in trying to understand why a decision was made.

Not if it's two merkins just agreeing that the coach HAS NO f**kEN IDEA AND JUST WANTS TO GIVE HIS SON EXTRA MATCH PAYMENT'S FFS!!!

Any merkin who disagrees with that is JUST AN APOLOGIST WHO NEEDS TO SHUT HE'S f**kEN MOUTH!!
Hey captain angry, holster up on using the “apologist” word. Get your own material you merkin.

I have finally figured out with the help of all you super intelligent forumers why the Eels have been so shit since the 1986 season.. It's because of JA.. 2009 Grand Final loss JAs fault.
Getting pumped by the Cowboys in the preliminary final in 2005 JAs fault. I get it now!

Very silly comment. Bordering stupidity.

I feel this Pou vs Bartman debate is getting boring. Atleast me and Gronk keep it short and sweet with a few vulgar comment's usually by me to keep it entertaining for other forumites. Bit of a punchline.

I've just started scrolling pass this jibber debate

Final comment -

It's not normal to carry a half-back on bench regardless of who they are.
Sides have always went with 4 forwards or an extra hooker or utility.
But it isn't completely uncommon either. Sides do carry wingers or backs often. I put this down to perhaps not many good hookers/utilities currently out there.

JA I dislike. I don't think he is that good but to be fair he pulled up trumps against Manly a few weeks back and with some big games coming up before finals we probably would like to rest our star halves if games over.
If we lost one of D.Brown,Moses,Jnr,RCG,Lane,Matterson I reckon we are little chance against nearly every other top 8 side. But the first two are the most important. One of them is out and we basicaly have zero chance.

If we are up or down by 24 points with 18 mins to go in either of the next two games you take your star half off.

Final comment -
Ok, well that’s a sudden announcement. Look, we’ve had our banter moments and It was fun. All n all you’re a good bloke.

All the best mate with all your future endeavours.

This really needs it’s own sticky thread and I will discuss with other mods.