Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team of 2006, Best of the Best

I am very baffled as to how some people have chosen Mason as a prop.
He has played how many games there in 2006? less than 5 i would say.
He had a great game in state of origin one and then basically owned the next 2 games.
Civoncieva would be my prop along with Asotasi..
Mason 2nd row where he has played most of the season.

ok i've compiled a tally of all the team lists you guys supplied except for the one with the 2 teams coz it's just stupid, i asked for the best team, not 2 so so teams, anyway heres what i came up with as your team of 2006:

1. Greg Inglis (15 votes)
2. Jarred Hayne (8 votes)
3. Mark Gasnier (15 votes)
4. Justin Hodges (14 votes)
5. Nathan Merritt (7 votes)
6. Darren Lockyer (8 votes)
7. Cooper Cronk (13 votes)
8. Roy Asotasi (14 votes)
9. Cameron Smith (15 votes)
10. Willie Mason (16 votes)
11. Nathan Hindmarsh (16 votes)
12. Ryan Hoffman (9 votes)
13. Ben Kennedy (15 votes)

14. Petero Civenociva (12 votes)
15. Alan Tounge (8 votes)
16. Paul Gallen (6 votes)
17. Clinton Schifcofske (6 votes)

Best Back/s: Greg Inglis and Mark Gasnier
Best Forward/s: Willie Mason and Nathan Hindmarsh
Most Improved: Alan Tounge
Top Tryscorer: Nathan Merritt
Rookie of the year: Jarred Hayne
Player/s of the year: Nathan Hindmarsh and Willie Mason

There you have it guys, i think it's pretty spot on going off form this season, what do u think?

Iafeta

Thierry Henry said:
Amazing that the Warriors have the 3rd best for and against in the comp and are lucky to very occasionally get one player in these teams....

Look at the stats and you'll find that Webb and Wesser are arguably the 2 fullbacks of the year.... and it's not just empty stats, they have both been tremendous. They're just not as fashionable as some other candidates for some reason.

Because they aren't Channel Nein favourites.

The ironic thing is, most here are too blind to look at the likes of Webb, or Price, or Learoyd Lahrs or Schifcofske or a lot of players from the Warriors or Raiders (mostly them two) because they aren't Nein favourites it seems. Webb's had an outstanding year in terms of line breaks, but it hasn't been on Nein so they just don't care.

Yet when the end of year tour squad's are announced, I bet people blow up and say whoa waz me, its all picked on reputation. Player X Y Z are all in better form. Happens every year, unless you're a team that plays every second week on Nein, or you have a weekly column, or get gigs on the Footy Show, or are favourites of Fatty and the Lads, you ain't got jack sh!t chance of getting in these teams. I mean, you have to look at the main media for rugby league over here, Channel Nein, they're chief commentator kept calling Marshall Chalk Matthew Chalk, repeatedly, as if he'd never heard of him, with no interjection from one of his colleagues. No prompt from a producer, hey mack, you got that wrong. It wasn't until quite a way into the match that he got it right. The kid's a good player. Anyone who's PAID to call the game should know about him. But that's the thing, that sentiment carries over into the papers and other media so teams who traditional favourites, and don't happen to be running in the top 4 don't count.

Dr Crane

To hijack the thread a little more, did i read that every team was going to get at least three Channel Nein gigs as a result of the new TV deal?

NK Arsenal

Thierry Henry said:
Amazing that the Warriors have the 3rd best for and against in the comp and are lucky to very occasionally get one player in these teams.

No offence mate, but its not the for and against that counts, its the points.

Ice777

Iafeta said:
Because they aren't Channel Nein favourites.

I'd hardly call the Storm channel nine favourites either. We've like 4 Friday night games in 4 years or some rediculous figure like that and 3 of those were this year. The only reason that was is because as much as they might've liked to they couldn't ignore the top team any longer. I can gaurantee if we hadn't have been on top then we they wouldn't have been played on Friday night.

Sugar

1999 said:
ok i've compiled a tally of all the team lists you guys supplied except for the one with the 2 teams coz it's just stupid, i asked for the best team, not 2 so so teams, anyway heres what i came up with as your team of 2006:

1. Greg Inglis (15 votes)
2. Jarred Hayne (8 votes)
3. Mark Gasnier (15 votes)
4. Justin Hodges (14 votes)
5. Nathan Merritt (7 votes)
6. Darren Lockyer (8 votes)
7. Cooper Cronk (13 votes)
8. Roy Asotasi (14 votes)
9. Cameron Smith (15 votes)
10. Willie Mason (16 votes)
11. Nathan Hindmarsh (16 votes)
12. Ryan Hoffman (9 votes)
13. Ben Kennedy (15 votes)

14. Petero Civenociva (12 votes)
15. Alan Tounge (8 votes)
16. Paul Gallen (6 votes)
17. Clinton Schifcofske (6 votes)

Best Back/s: Greg Inglis and Mark Gasnier
Best Forward/s: Willie Mason and Nathan Hindmarsh
Most Improved: Alan Tounge
Top Tryscorer: Nathan Merritt
Rookie of the year: Jarred Hayne
Player/s of the year: Nathan Hindmarsh and Willie Mason

There you have it guys, i think it's pretty spot on going off form this season, what do u think?
fair enuff looks good imo:D

mxlegend99 said:
Yes i did post that stat. I didn't pick and choose which games to put up. I posted every game since Hayne has been playing... so what if he had a game where he missed as many as he made... Hayne has done that also. My point is he has a huge defensive workload. I could go and post the metres gained and amount of runs stats... Hayne does kill it on both. Although they go hand in hand with each other (more runs = more metres). But i was never trying to say Gordon is a better all around player. Just that he rivals him in most areas in a worse team.

No, you didn't post metres gained and hit-ups.

They are important stats when comparing Wingers.

If you're not posting them because Hayne flogs him, just admit it. The stats are on NRL.com.

Here, I'll do it for you.

Round 12.

Gordon 5 hit-ups, 55 metres.
Hayne 7 hit-ups, 100 metres.

Round 13.

Gordon 7/66.
Hayne 14/119.

Round 14.
Gordon 6/60.
Hayne 14/97.

Round 15.
Hayne 12/148.

Round 16.
Gordon 7/59.

Round 17.
Gordon 4/51.
Hayne 8/67.

Round 18.
Gordon 10/82.
Hayne 17/163.

Round 19.
Gordon 10/104.
Hayne 13/175.

Round 20.
Gordon 4/38.
Hayne 15/234.

Round 21.
Gordon 10/142.
Hayne 16/188.

Round 22.
Gordon 7/96.
Hayne 8/76.

Round 23.
Gordon 8/71.
Hayne 18/140.

Round 24.
Gordon 8/46.
Hayne 13/115.

You do the math.

mxlegend99 said:
Wrong. I'm not trying to make Gordon look better then Hayne. I took another rookie winger that has been successful in first grade and used him as a reference to Hayne not being the best winger which most people seem to think he is. I'm just trying to show there's more then just scoring tries. I don't think Gordon is the best winger either. Both are too young and we've seen a lot of young fellas with promising careers that went nowhere. On the other hand, either could end up like Inglis. A really solid rookie year, and a great full first season. Hayne is looking like he could be next years Greg Inglis.

No, Hayne is this year's Hayne.

mxlegend99 said:
Most people have no idea who Gordon is. Those that do have probably seen him play very few games. He's in a team that has lost most of their games and he hasn't had a game where he bagged 4 tries in it.

I've seen him play and as I said before, he looks better than competent. I don't recall Penrith carving up on his wing, I remember Parramatta carving up on Hayne's wing, more than a few times.

The week he ran 234 metres was against my side. Without a line break.

Phenomenal.

mxlegend99 said:
I did post the linebreaks stat... and i said that Hayne had more metres gained. I also said that Hayne gets far more ball then Gordon does and Gordon rarely sees the ball. Yet when he does, he is always making something of it.

You said it, he rarely sees the ball.

The best Wingers go looking for it.

mxlegend99 said:
It's a bit hard to dominate on metres gained or hit-ups when you're part of a team that relies on forwards for both of them. The only back that really does a lot of either for us is Wesser. Other then that our attack is straight forward, pass to a forward... take the tackle. Repeat. Last tackle... we kick and very poorly.

That's not Hayne's fault.

If Hayne was on Gordon's wing, there would be less pressure on Rhys in attack.

mxlegend99 said:
Hayne probably averages over double the metres gained, but also receives twice as much ball. He has a team that is in the top 4 for attack and Panthers are outside the top 8. Yet Gordon is still making the linebreaks, scoring the tries and often racking up a fair few metres of what little ball he gets.

I think you already knew that he doesn't compare stat-wise.

His metres are nowhere near Hayne's.

mxlegend99 said:
I haven't argued that Gordon gains more metres. Nor bothered posting the stats because it would take a long time and it's just easier to say that he get probably close to double the metres gained.

You haven't argued it because you can't.

It took me 5 minutes.

mxlegend99 said:
I couldn't find a stat for hit-ups... the closest would be how many runs each player has. Hayne sees far more ball then Gordon does. But Panthers don't use their wingers very often. That would involve team work.

Hit-ups are there.

Panthers don't use their wingers very often, and that, again is Hayne's fault?

mxlegend99 said:
No. I watch the games because i enjoy watching the Eels play. They have a really solid attacking side. They provide more entertainment then watching the Panthers play infact. Unless we're up against another hard hitting side, i find our attack is very boring. I'm not looking forward to Panthers vs Knights.... but i can't wait to see the Eels vs Broncos match. Panthers vs Bulldogs should be a good one though, as Panthers just seem to run it straight at the forwards and rely on size to get through. You watch a lot of Panthers games and are probably more then aware of our lack of creativity. If it were not for Campbell and Wesser... our wingers and centres would probably never get a chance.

Is John Lang stopping your wingers from looking for the ball?

mxlegend99 said:
His watching the semis has nothing to do with his talent. I feel sorry for a number of our players, namely Luke Priddis. They could find good homes and be winning games. Instead... they stick by our team... who has a lot of great players but still keep playing sh*t... due to no team work. We're boring to watch because we lack it. Our guys are underachieving because all our brilliant efforts in the end were solo efforts - we make an excellent linebreak with no one there to back the player u[. You rarely see us play as a team. Michael Gordon would be boasting sh*tloads of metres gained for the Eels if he played there. He would have scored more tries and receive a lot more ball also.

Yes he would, in their Premier League side.

mxlegend99 said:
Eels are a better team. Me liking Gordon has nothing to do with bias. I can admit my team rarely plays like one. I critiscize my team after each loss and even after each win (ie. the Sharks game where we played 21mins through to 63 mins with no idea on what defence or catching a ball was).

Easy to criticise after that one.

mxlegend99 said:
He's a great player on a better team. He has more opportunities to prove himself. I know why people think he is better. But at the same time... a guy who runs it less then Hayne has more linebreaks. Not too far behind on the tries scored in a team that is losing more then winning. Having a better team behind you will help you look better. Our only real standout while we play crap is Rhys Wesser. No matter how badly we suck, he can make himself look great.

I remember Rhys Wesser early on, I wondered why the bloke was in first grade, he was bloody awful.

When Hayne played in round 11, against your mob, Parramatta weren't even considered a chance at the semis.

Hayne has had a hand in that turn-around.

mxlegend99 said:
I'm not trying to make Gordon out to be the best winger or close to it. I just think that Gordon excels in a few areas that Hayne doesn't. And more to the point, i think both are promising players for the future... but neither deserve the title of best of the best today.

Some of your own supporters have nominated Hayne in this thread, as have other unbiased supporters.

If I were you I'd be wondering why...

mxlegend99 said:
If it looks like bias i'm sorry. I just think Hayne has a better team around him which helps him. Haybe has done some great stuff this year and i really do think he will follow in the footsteps of Greg Inglis. Building a huge name for himself his partial rookie year, then being the greatest sensation the following year. I'd like too see Hayne at fullback so he can do a bit more of his own work... wingers very rarely get opportunities to do solo efforts. I think Gordon has had a lot of them due to the fact we don't play as a team.

You're allowed to be biased. Ask me about Benji Marshall. ;-)

But you're also allowed to be confronted if you, in some people's opinion, unfairly criticise a player like Hayne.

mxlegend99 said:
I love my team. But i have no trouble admitting any of our many flaws.

So, you're just like everyone here bar Roosters supporters...

mxlegend99

Everlovin' Antichrist said:
No, you didn't post metres gained and hit-ups.

They are important stats when comparing Wingers.

If you're not posting them because Hayne flogs him, just admit it. The stats are on NRL.com.

Here, I'll do it for you.

Round 12.

Gordon 5 hit-ups, 55 metres.
Hayne 7 hit-ups, 100 metres.

Round 13.

Gordon 7/66.
Hayne 14/119.

Round 14.
Gordon 6/60.
Hayne 14/97.

Round 15.
Hayne 12/148.

Round 16.
Gordon 7/59.

Round 17.
Gordon 4/51.
Hayne 8/67.

Round 18.
Gordon 10/82.
Hayne 17/163.

Round 19.
Gordon 10/104.
Hayne 13/175.

Round 20.
Gordon 4/38.
Hayne 15/234.

Round 21.
Gordon 10/142.
Hayne 16/188.

Round 22.
Gordon 7/96.
Hayne 8/76.

Round 23.
Gordon 8/71.
Hayne 18/140.

Round 24.
Gordon 8/46.
Hayne 13/115.

You do the math.
Ok, i did the math and in nearly every game Jarryd Hayne has received twice as much ball as Gordon. I broke it down to how many metres were gained for each run and it was fairly 50/50 on most occassions, with both players dominating the other on a few occassions. Unfortunately i lost that post while doing it trying to open a new window. I can redo it later if you want me to do the maths for you.

I've seen him play and as I said before, he looks better than competent. I don't recall Penrith carving up on his wing, I remember Parramatta carving up on Hayne's wing, more than a few times.
Look at the post you made. Look at how many times Gordon has touched the ball as opposed to Jarryd Hayne. Jarryd Hayne has had more then twice as many touches of the ball and yet Michael Gordon has still made more linebreaks and has only received 4 less tries. When Gordon gets the ball he carves up. Your own metres gained and hit-up stats prove that point.

As i already said. Panthers don't play the ball to their wingers very often. We do the same predictable attack with out forwards. Even with this... Gordon when he touches the ball more often than not is doing something special. He'd have to be to have more linebreaks in the same amount of time then a player who has on average twice as much ball each game.

The week he ran 234 metres was against my side. Without a line break.

Phenomenal.
He had 15 touches of the ball and didn't make 1 linebreak. 234 metres is sensational no doubt. But it was against the Tigers who aren't really known for their awesome defence... and you would think with 15 runs he could sniff out 1 linebreak.

You said it, he rarely sees the ball.

The best Wingers go looking for it.
The best wingers usually have decent centres inside them.

If Hayne was on Gordon's wing, there would be less pressure on Rhys in attack.
If Hayne was on Gordons wing, we would concede far more tries. You can't say how much more or less pressure Hayne would take off Wesser. He has a good centre and a good attacking team atm. Gordon makes more linebreaks with less ball, and sets up tries for Wesser. Put Hayne outside Galea and see how great he goes. Nothing against Galea, he's a great defender. But he isn't really a playmaker nor does he provide opportunities for his winger.

I think you already knew that he doesn't compare stat-wise.

His metres are nowhere near Hayne's.
He doesn't compare on one stat. And if you average that stat out to each run, he is just as good as Hayne is. And he still has more linebreaks with less runs. If he doesn't compare, how can he have 9 tries and more linebreaks when he gets the ball about half as often as Hayne does? On a losing team. :crazy:

If you compare metres gained directly, more often then not he won't compare. But if you compare how many metres he gets with each run... look at that, he is on pare or often infront. :roll:

You haven't argued it because you can't.

It took me 5 minutes.
No i hadn't done it because it's immediately obvious that anyone who receives the ball 20 times is going to have more metres gained then someone has receives it 10 times. The fact he has gotten half as much ball and still is right near him with tries scored and ahead of him on linebreaks speaks volumes for his talent.

Hit-ups are there.

Panthers don't use their wingers very often, and that, again is Hayne's fault?
I didn't say it was Haynes fault. I'm simply stating that given his fewer opportunities it's going to be hard for him to gain more metres then Hayne. Didn't stop him bagging 9 tries and 13 linebreaks though.

Is John Lang stopping your wingers from looking for the ball?
I really don't know what John Lang is doing. He continually defends Campbell on the Wing outside Gordon and Galea increasing their workload in defence even though it just means we concede more tries.

I remember Rhys Wesser early on, I wondered why the bloke was in first grade, he was bloody awful.

When Hayne played in round 11, against your mob, Parramatta weren't even considered a chance at the semis.
That's true. Panthers were barely in a better position. We'd been flogged back to back by Storm, Sharks and Broncos. Lost our half-back and only won a game against the Souths in recent times.

Some of your own supporters have nominated Hayne in this thread, as have other unbiased supporters.

If I were you I'd be wondering why...
I know why people nominate him. He's a successful player on a winning team. But you put Gordon on that same team and i guarantee he would have even more linebreaks AND tries then he has had a Panthers. Guarantee it. He would have gained more metres and he would see more ball also.

But you're also allowed to be confronted if you, in some people's opinion, unfairly criticise a player like Hayne.
I'm not critiscizing Hayne. I compare him to another rookie winger.

Answer this question, do you think Michael Gordon would have made more linebreaks and more tries if he was playing for the Eels?

If so, then how can you say he is not even close to Hayne? He already has made more linebreaks at a worse team. With less touches of the ball etc. He does this in a team with no team work that relies all on our forwards.

You're comparing apples to oranges. I compared the stats that speak for themselves. A linebreak is a linebreak. A tackle is a tackle. When you get to metres gained, that relies directly on how many touches of the ball you get. I guess to an extent, linebreaks do also.

edit
I've said what i wanted to say. If you disagree that Gordon would make get more tries and make more linebreaks for the Eels then he does with the Panthers, then fair enough.

But i can't see how he wouldn't do a better job in a team that has better centres and gives their wingers more opportunities.

mxlegend99 said:
Ok, i did the math and in nearly every game Jarryd Hayne has received twice as much ball as Gordon. I broke it down to how many metres were gained for each run and it was fairly 50/50 on most occassions, with both players dominating the other on a few occassions. Unfortunately i lost that post while doing it trying to open a new window. I can redo it later if you want me to do the maths for you.

The "you do the math" was rhetorical. A glance at the stats is enough to realise the difference between the two players is quite a gap.

You're a half-empty person.

He hasn't received twice and much ball as Gordon, he's gone out and taken twice as much ball as Gordon.

mxlegend99 said:
Look at the post you made. Look at how many times Gordon has touched the ball as opposed to Jarryd Hayne. Jarryd Hayne has had more then twice as many touches of the ball and yet Michael Gordon has still made more linebreaks and has only received 4 less tries. When Gordon gets the ball he carves up. Your own metres gained and hit-up stats prove that point.

Come again?

Hayne makes twice as many meters on average, averages more metres per touch, does more work in attack and scores more tries and you're saying my stats prove otherwise?

On which planet?

Hayne has 13 tries from 12 matches. In anyone’s language, that’s a telling stat.

mxlegend99 said:
As i already said. Panthers don't play the ball to their wingers very often. We do the same predictable attack with out forwards. Even with this... Gordon when he touches the ball more often than not is doing something special. He'd have to be to have more linebreaks in the same amount of time then a player who has on average twice as much ball each game.

As I said, you're blaming Hayne for Penrith not getting the ball to their wingers. And you're completely ignoring the fact that the best wingers go and get the ball. Gordon obviously doesn't do that.

mxlegend99 said:
He had 15 touches of the ball and didn't make 1 linebreak. 234 metres is sensational no doubt. But it was against the Tigers who aren't really known for their awesome defence... and you would think with 15 runs he could sniff out 1 linebreak.

You're on with the half-empty again. A bloke makes 234 meters in a match, score a couple of tries but is a failure because he didn't get a line-break?

Think of it this way.

Gordon has more line-breaks than Hayne yet less tries. So, one can assume from that statistic that Hayne is the far superior finisher.

And he is.

mxlegend99 said:
The best wingers usually have decent centres inside them.

?

The best wingers make plays no matter who is inside them.

mxlegend99 said:
If Hayne was on Gordons wing, we would concede far more tries. You can't say how much more or less pressure Hayne would take off Wesser. He has a good centre and a good attacking team atm. Gordon makes more linebreaks with less ball, and sets up tries for Wesser. Put Hayne outside Galea and see how great he goes. Nothing against Galea, he's a great defender. But he isn't really a playmaker nor does he provide opportunities for his winger.

Why would he concede more tries?

Because Hayne doesn't have to work as hard in defence at Parramatta as Gordon does at Penrith, he's a poor defender?

I've watched him play, a lot, and his defence is fine.

You're missing the point anyway. Hayne's touches don't all come about from passes from his centre and kick returns, Gordon's obviously do.

mxlegend99 said:
He doesn't compare on one stat. And if you average that stat out to each run, he is just as good as Hayne is. And he still has more linebreaks with less runs. If he doesn't compare, how can he have 9 tries and more linebreaks when he gets the ball about half as often as Hayne does? On a losing team. :crazy:

Seriously, when you lower yourself in a decent argument to sticking in an emoticon, you just lower yourself that the level of "Union supporter".

One stat?

1. Metres gained - total.
2. Hit ups. Average and total.
3. Tries scored. Average and total.

mxlegend99 said:
If you compare metres gained directly, more often then not he won't compare. But if you compare how many metres he gets with each run... look at that, he is on pare or often infront.

The only stats that Gordon is in front of Hayne on are all defensive except for line-breaks.

Overall he is slightly behind.

It’s simple to explain.

Gordon does a larger percentage of his hit-ups from kick returns. Kick returns obviously give more metres than normal hit-ups. Hayne probably does just as many kick return hit-ups as Gordon but many, many more total hit-ups.

That’s why Gordon averages about the same per hit-up.

mxlegend99 said:
No i hadn't done it because it's immediately obvious that anyone who receives the ball 20 times is going to have more metres gained then someone has receives it 10 times. The fact he has gotten half as much ball and still is right near him with tries scored and ahead of him on linebreaks speaks volumes for his talent.

Again with “he only gets ½ as much ball”. Hayne works harder in attack, he doesn’t just stand on the wing and the ball comes to him 20 times per match.

You look at things to suit yourself. If Hayne has 4 more tries from two less line-breaks, then what does that say for Gordon’s finishing?

mxlegend99 said:
I didn't say it was Haynes fault. I'm simply stating that given his fewer opportunities it's going to be hard for him to gain more metres then Hayne. Didn't stop him bagging 9 tries and 13 linebreaks though.

It’s his fault he has fewer opportunities.

What part of that are you struggling with?

It’s the single main difference between the two players, Hayne works much harder in attack.

mxlegend99 said:
I really don't know what John Lang is doing. He continually defends Campbell on the Wing outside Gordon and Galea increasing their workload in defence even though it just means we concede more tries.

Gotta hide Presto somewhere.

mxlegend99 said:
That's true. Panthers were barely in a better position. We'd been flogged back to back by Storm, Sharks and Broncos. Lost our half-back and only won a game against the Souths in recent times.

But the Panthers didn’t start a winning run, the Eels did.

mxlegend99 said:
I know why people nominate him. He's a successful player on a winning team. But you put Gordon on that same team and i guarantee he would have even more linebreaks AND tries then he has had a Panthers. Guarantee it. He would have gained more metres and he would see more ball also.

No. If he played for Parramatta he wouldn’t be in First Grade and even if he was, there is little or no evidence to back your claim up. If he doesn't chase the ball at Penrith, why would he if he was at Parramatta?

Look at the Eels stats, Grothe has something like 5 tries this season, yet didn’t you pick him in your side? He was also hooked by his coach last week, yet Gordon's chances of ousting him from the Parramatta team would be extremely remote. As would Gordon's chances of ousting Hayne.

mxlegend99 said:
I'm not critiscizing Hayne. I compare him to another rookie winger.

You are criticising Hayne.

mxlegend99 said:
Answer this question, do you think Michael Gordon would have made more linebreaks and more tries if he was playing for the Eels?

No.

mxlegend99 said:
If so, then how can you say he is not even close to Hayne? He already has made more linebreaks at a worse team. With less touches of the ball etc. He does this in a team with no team work that relies all on our forwards.

He’s not even close to Hayne and from what I’ve seen his style of play wouldn’t suit the Eels as they currently are.

mxlegend99 said:
You're comparing apples to oranges. I compared the stats that speak for themselves. A linebreak is a linebreak. A tackle is a tackle. When you get to metres gained, that relies directly on how many touches of the ball you get. I guess to an extent, linebreaks do also.

You’re just talking nonsense now.

The stats you proffered to explain why you think Hayne is overrated were only ½ the stats required to put forward an informed argument. The stats you left out just happened to favour Hayne by quite a margin.

mxlegend99 said:
I've said what i wanted to say. If you disagree that Gordon would make get more tries and make more linebreaks for the Eels then he does with the Panthers, then fair enough.

Answered.

mxlegend99 said:
But i can't see how he wouldn't do a better job in a team that has better centres and gives their wingers more opportunities.

Not every player improves by going to a supposedly better side. Ashley Harrison comes to mind immediately.

Nutzcraw

How about we just say that neither of them will be selected for a rep team anytime soon.. so they are both at the same level nd until one of them does.. they can then be the "better" winger?

Noa

ParraDude_Jay said:
Craig Bellamy?

Based on where the majority of his games have been this year he should be selected at full-back.

Though I agree with Bellamy that centre is his postion for the long term.

mxlegend99

blah blah blah
It's still simple. Gordon has made more linebreaks, scored only 4 fewer tries in the exact same period of time to Hayne... and he has done so with like half as much ball as Hayne has gotten. He averages around the same metres gained with each run also. He just has a lot less runs then Hayne.

Yes 13 tries in 12 games is impressive. But how is 13 linebreaks (more then Hayne) and 9 tries in that same amount of time... with less then half the amount of ball any less impressive? The fact he is not far behind on tries, and exceeding him on linebreaks is impressive is it not?

Nutzcraw said:
How about we just say that neither of them will be selected for a rep team anytime soon.. so they are both at the same level nd until one of them does.. they can then be the "better" winger?
That was originally my point on Hayne. He is being selected as the best of the best and he has a while to go before he will be picked as a rep player. But Everlovin' Antichrist took it as an insult to Hayne when i compared him to another winger who has been extremely impressive and showed where he exceeded Hayne.

mxlegend99 said:
I like to masturbate whilst watching Oprah

Don't be f**king childish. We either have a decent argument or we delve into flaming and you aren't equipped to flame anyone.

Gordon has scored 4 fewer tries.

Gordon has run for 1/2 the metres that Hayne has and has taken the ball up 1/2 as many times as Hayne.

Gordon isn't mentioned in anyone's team of the year in this thread, Hayne is.

But you know better and you know that Hayne isn't better than Gordon.

You're either biased or have no idea what you're talking about or both.

I'll take door #3.

Fact is that your signature is a dead giveaway why you're even comparing Gordon to Hayne. No one else has or would. Gordon doesn't deserve it to be honest. It's like the dopey Covell sh*t.

mxlegend99 said:
Yes 13 tries in 12 games is impressive. But how is 13 linebreaks (more then Hayne) and 9 tries in that same amount of time... with less then half the amount of ball any less impressive? The fact he is not far behind on tries, and exceeding him on linebreaks is impressive is it not?

So, you consider linebreaks more impressive than tries scored?

Are you re-reading what you write?

Gordon's stats are good, Hayne's stats are excellent.

And stop talking sh*te and acting like you were doing nothing more than a comparison and you weren't insulting Hayne.

What's this then, a cup of warm Yak piss?

mxlegend99 said:
LMFAO at Merrit and Hayne being thought off as the best of the best wingers.

Then, without anyone mentioning it again, you posted the stats. Well, half the stats. Then when you were asked to provide all the stats you claimed they weren't there, when they were. Then you started on a rant as to why Hayne shouldn't be considered as one of the best wingers in the comp.

You're just wrong. Up to this point he most certainly is. The stats and the opinions here confirm that.

BlueNGoldBlood

Mx atleast get something right.....Hayne = 15 Tries

Gordon from what i have seen, will be a good solid winger but Hayne can and will be so much more.

I still wouldnt have either in the team of 2006 though, my winger's would be Carney and Grothe, but im sure Hayne is right behind them

redandgreenduck

1.Clint Greenshields
2.Jarrod Haines
3.Chris Walker
4.Steve Matai
5.Sam Perrett
6.Zoolander
7.Ben Walker
8.Jason Ryles
9.Shane Walker
10.Josh Perry