Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team v Raiders

Meth

1- RTS
2- Fusitua
3- Ayshford
4- Kata
5- Maumalo
6- Foran
7- Lino
8- Lillyman
9- Luke
10- Lisone
11- Afoa
12- Hoffman/Papalii
13- Mannering

Res- Roache, Matulino, Sipley, Sipley

1- RTS
2- Fusitua
3- Ayshford
4- Kata
5- Maumalo
6- Foran
7- Lino
8- Lillyman
9- Roache
10- Lisone
11- Ogden
12- Papalii
13- Mannering

Res- Cherrington, Matulino, Satae, Bell

Will be one of the most interesting, and telling selections in a number of years

The big statement was made last week that those showing "complacency" would be "walked to the front gate"

Post match last night, Kearney says there were a number of individuals "not trying"

I expect him to be full of bluster, but if he doesn't do as stated, which is what I expect, the players then know they have a pushover on their hands

JJ

He'll trot the same team out

Raiders have it all to play for, should win by 30

Meth

Will be one of the most interesting, and telling selections in a number of years

The big statement was made last week that those showing "complacency" would be "walked to the front gate"

Post match last night, Kearney says there were a number of individuals "not trying"

I expect him to be full of bluster, but if he doesn't do as stated, which is what I expect, the players then know they have a pushover on their hands

There was a certain hopeless monotony is my team- kind of like we are doomed to the mediocrity and lacklustre effort currently on display.

Iafeta

This is how I see it reading into SKs comments yesterday and what I'm seeing

Having a fair dinkum go
Matulino. I really thought he was very very good yesterday. Keeps this up he's a great pick up for Ivan.
Roache
Ayshford
RTS
Mannering

Having a go but not in form or delivering on potential yet
Fus
Afoa
Ken - what's happening to his hands again?
Lino - lacks acceleration and speed sadly
Tevaga - never doubt his effort
Bell - known as a bloke who tries hard to punch above his weight

Turned up late but trying now, amazed how bad their headspace is though
Kata

Questionable at best
Foran
Lisone although I thought he was quite good yesterday actually

Checked out/couldn't care less
Lillyman - there was some real sloppiness around the ruck, particularly the second try where he casually walks back to marker
Luke. Disgraceful first half in particular, we got a great roll on with his replacement

I don't get Issac Luke. One outstanding month per year. Starts the year slow every year. Gives up after Origin.

Aside from who to pick, if I were JD I'd be talking to Issac and his agent and give him two options. A, he leaves the leadership group because his example is poor and if this is the case he fights hard in preseason otherwise the #9 jersey is Nates, B, if he wants to keep acting like a Prima Donna he will keep driving his value down so his agent can try and find him a new home in 2018, we will gladly release him. Issac has gone from a fantastic Kiwi to being comfortably third best Kiwis hooker on the park yesterday. If I'm Kidwell, Levi and Roache are going to the WC, Luke is not.

Who to drop then... If Fus is out CNK comes in. Drop Foran, I saw enough yesterday to join the seeya Kieran brigade. Bring Ata in. Drop Issac to the bench, put Roache to hooker. Let either Bell or Tevaga to reserve grade, and bring in either Pat Sipley or Chris Satae. Screw bringing Tof in, he's made his bed to jump off the ship so why waste time giving him a first grade jumper.

vvvrulz

But even if he does, what's the point now? Blokes who haven't been trying all year got 20 rounds of free footy.

vvvrulz

VODAFONE WARRIORS v CANBERRA RAIDERS

Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland

4.00pm, Sunday, August 13

VODAFONE WARRIORS

1 ROGER TUIVASA-SHECK (c)

2 DAVID FUSITU’A

3 BLAKE AYSHFORD

4 SOLOMONE KATA

5 KEN MAUMALO

6 KIERAN FORAN

7 MASON LINO

8 JACOB LILLYMAN

9 NATHANIEL ROACHE

10 BEN MATULINO

11 BUNTY AFOA

12 RYAN HOFFMAN

13 SIMON MANNERING

Interchange:

14 ISSAC LUKE

15 SAM LISONE

16 ISAIAH PAPALI’I

17 JAMES BELL

18 JAZZ TEVAGA

20 CHRIS SATAE

21 MAFOA’AEATA HINGANO

22 CHARNZE NICOLL-KLOKSTAD

HEAD COACH | STEPHEN KEARNEY

*facepalm* no point caring anymore, Kearny doesn't. Is he trying to piss off everyone?
You are showing major weakness make those statements and not backing it up.
Walk yourself to the gate! (When Des becomes available)

jaseg

No worries lads, if Stephen thought anyone could be brought in to make a difference he'd do it.

All those guys leading us to a crappy 2nd place in NSW cup... they couldn't possibly make a difference, right?

...Right?!?

Also, what did Satae do wrong that he dropped straight out of the 17 last week, and is still only on the extended bench this week? Meanwhile Bell and Papalii (fine player, but pretty clearly too young/not ready and has been used on the edge this year) both named in the 17? Just weird. Lisone too, I guess.

Benek

At least he's put Roach in. But otherwise a joke given the walk them out the gate comment. No wonder players stop trying. No accountability at all.

Plus that's a very very weak bench. Need way more go-forward.

Fufu Andronez

Not sure if Im the only one who thinks this but for me Lino hasn't worked out. I know the circumstances for his stint aren't ideal but to me he seems a few yards short speed/thought wise for the top grade. 2 slow halves just isn't gonna cut it..I feel like we are at the point where we should go:

#6 Hingano
#7 Foran

or

#6 Hingano
#7 Foran

There is no threat to opposition IF our halves run at the moment meaning they can just slide off to whoever they shovel the ball to, at least when SJ is there, the threat of a run at the line is available to keep the defenders honest

Warriorsoul

Ahahahahahahaha.

Gee that'll learn them. Sharpen up and show some effort boys or by golly I'll... Y'know... Pick you again next week.

Although maybe that's more of a punishment

SpaceMonkey

Not sure if Im the only one who thinks this but for me Lino hasn't worked out. I know the circumstances for his stint aren't ideal but to me he seems a few yards short speed/thought wise for the top grade. 2 slow halves just isn't gonna cut it..I feel like we are at the point where we should go:

#6 Hingano
#7 Foran

or

#6 Hingano
#7 Foran

There is no threat to opposition IF our halves run at the moment meaning they can just slide off to whoever they shovel the ball to, at least when SJ is there, the threat of a run at the line is available to keep the defenders honest

I feel sorry for him because I actually think he'd be a good halves partner for SJ, but he has only been used when Shaun is injured. Maybe we should've used him instead of Ata when Foran was out.