Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team v Roosters

SpaceMonkey

Not sure if Simon will be back next year . . .

Based on what? He missed the start due to an injury, nothing odd there and he’s a little less dominant since coming back but that’s as much because he’s getting lots of help now.
Is there word he’s thinking of hanging up his boots? Can’t see the club moving him on, for a start he’s our only long service discount player so we get him at way below market value. Still if he made the 300 club at the end of the season and announced his retirement at that point it’d be a decent way to go out. But I’d like to think that a guy like him who has always looked after himself physically has another year or two in him easily.

Penrose Warrior

SpaceMonkey

One good thing about that is it likely means he’d probably be open to a short term extension at the Warriors- quite often guys at that career stage leave because the club only want s to sign them on yearly extensions and other clubs offer multi year deals. If I were the warriors I’d offer him a one or two year extension.

Benek

Oh there's no way Simon would move clubs. If he doesn't play for the Warriors it's because he retires. Wouldn't surprise me if that happens sooner rather than later.

SpaceMonkey

Oh there's no way Simon would move clubs. If he doesn't play for the Warriors it's because he retires. Wouldn't surprise me if that happens sooner rather than later.

Yeah like I said I think we get him at half price anyway so I doubt any other NRL club could mak him an attractive offer.

jaseg

Don't get too wrapped up in the veteran player allowance - as I understand it, it's about $200k total per club, not per player. As long as one player at the club qualifies it's essentially just an extra $200k per year added to the potential spend... and every club will have this - Johnson will be eligible as of 2019, so losing Simon wouldn't mean effectively losing the benefit of the allowance... it would just shift to Johnson (making his cap figure 200k lower).

Anyway, this is just details... I can't see Simon playing for another club regardless of questions about money, contracts, whatever. It just feels like he'll re-sign here or retire, nothing else. Thankfully with Papalii coming through fast and Pulu on board to cover the edge opposite Tohu, we're well set either way - though I'd love for Simon to kick on and get at least to 300 (possible this year tbf), if not really, really high on the all-time games list... #1 seems unattainable short of Cameron Smith picking up a career ending injury this year, but #3 would be 350 I think...? and #2 not much more (Lockyer)?

Penrose Warrior

Oh there's no chance in hell Simon will play for another club. He either gets a 1-2 year extension, which they 100% should give him, or he puts his hand up and says the body is shot and retires. I read somewhere that he's interested in being a builder after his playing days. I'll happily pay top dollar for the Manner King to build me a house, he'd be on the job at 7.01am and down tools at 6.00pm, with a very short smoko somewhere in the middle.

And if I'm getting it right on the veteran player allowance, if you have 1 veteran (from memory it's 8 seasons at the club or 10 years in the comp?) or 10 veterans it's the same payment of $200k? And it just gets lumped on top of the cap, ie goes from 9.1m to 9.3m, not to the veteran themselves? Weak.

SpaceMonkey

Didn’t realise Shaun was eligible for the veterans allowance so soon, I thought it would’ve been 2021. Didn’t realise it went down to 8 years if it was at one club. Should be more than 200k too.

Bit yeaj if I was the club I’d be saying a year with an option on a second, and maybe an exit package if he isn’t good for that second year.

Blair

...I read somewhere that he's interested in being a builder after his playing days. I'll happily pay top dollar for the Manner King to build me a house, he'd be on the job at 7.01am and down tools at 6.00pm, with a very short smoko somewhere in the middle.

Any gaping holes in the walls or leaky roofs left by others would be well taken care off by Simon too. I'm pretty sure he'd go round at regular intervals checking on others mistakes.

Encourage him to knock-off early on Fridays so you can have a beer and a yarn. First thing you should bring up is Warriors v Chooks, Mt Smart, September 2008.

Actually, I feel like a yarn with you about this great night. You were there, right? Describe the noise when Kirk got that intercept...

Penrose Warrior

Any gaping holes in the walls or leaky roofs left by others would be well taken care off by Simon too. I'm pretty sure he'd go round at regular intervals checking on others mistakes.

Encourage him to knock-off early on Fridays so you can have a beer and a yarn. First thing you should bring up is Warriors v Chooks, Mt Smart, September 2008.

Actually, I feel like a yarn with you about this great night. You were there, right? Describe the noise when Kirk got that intercept...

I could yarn about that night forever. I was, the noise was insane. The buzz on that whole night was just like nothing I've ever experienced, even completely incomparable to the 2011 Rugby World Cup final that I went to.

In those days I was in the media, I covered the Warriors week to week and had a media pass as a result. When we were confirmed for the 1st v 8th place playoff, I threw out my media pass. Not because I didn't believe we would go anywhere, because I didn't think we got a home final even if we won. So we won at Olympic Park, then I found out the week after was at Mt Smart. SHIT. Media manager had to pull strings and sort me a new one through HQ which I don't think was appreciated, but got it. As a fan (who never cheered in the box mind you) it was just surreal to be there. The buzz was just insane, like we were just happy to be there and whatever happened, happened. No nerves like you could sense at the World Cup. Then the Hohaia penalty try, the Kirk try as you say when we knew we were through to the GF qualifier, was euphoria. I'm sure I had a little fist pump then. And it was also a nice f**k you to the Aussie contingent in the box, who were unabashedly cheering for the Roosters - in the main Josh Massoud, who is a reptile of the lowest order. I wanted to swing a punch at him that night, he and his mob were insufferable - especially with the penalty try. Winning shut them up. Don't just think it's the commentators who don't like us!

I think that's the night my love affair for Ivan truly blossomed. I always rated him, he cut me down on a couple of occasions that hurt my pride haha....but I thought you are a genius after that night. Those were cool times to be showing up at Mt Smart, getting there early for the 20s game, sitting with Dad who had a season ticket then up for the main game. Not really a job at all. Great nostalgia for me.

SpaceMonkey

Shows what kind of bloke Simon is that that’s what he wants to do after footy instead of the usual coaching/media roles ex players go for. My workplace is a bit of a retirement home for ex footy players (we’ve got two former 1st graders and a former ref here) and is happiky have him on board, but he’d probably think we bludge too much!

Blair

I could yarn about that night forever...

Cheers PW. Great read that did the famous night justice. Watching and talking about the good times like this is so much better this year, as opposed to the last, failed six.

We're seeing something special again, it's quite obvious now.

The other night my computer audio was playing up and I only heard the crowd during that Kirk try. The noise was enormous alright. That's my favourite Warriors moment from the last 23 years.

The night's would be quiet for Aiden Kirk these days.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Shows what kind of bloke Simon is that that’s what he wants to do after footy instead of the usual coaching/media roles ex players go for.
I don't think Simon likes talking to the media, even if it's for a quick interview and thats why he never took up the captaincy role when it was offered to him. You can sort of tell in his body language and tone of voice when he's being interviewed. He interviews well but like many southern men, he strikes me as a man of a very few words but plenty of action. Kind of like those blokes on the Speights ads that just say "good on ya mate" and not much else.

SpaceMonkey

I don't think Simon likes talking to the media, even if it's for a quick interview and thats why he never took up the captaincy role when it was offered to him. You can sort of tell in his body language and tone of voice when he's being interviewed. He interviews well but like many southern men, he strikes me as a man of a very few words but plenty of action. Kind of like those blokes on the Speights ads that just say "good on ya mate" and not much else.

Agree. Always comes across as more of a doer than a talker.

Burns

Not a bad thing in the grander scheme of things. Lawton was good last weekend.

Iafeta

Isaac is a big loss given Shaun is already out. Not confident, sooner or later the Roosters will stop laying goose eggs.