Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Telecrap

Since 73

Massoud couldn't help himself in this story......

Manly Sea Eagles young gun James Hasson's meteoric rise from Subway hand to Grand Final smoky
IT should come as no surprise that James Hasson has emerged as the meat in the sandwich that is Manly's Grand Final selection puzzle.
This time last year the Sharks junior was filling foot-long rolls as a full-time sandwich hand at Subway in Cronulla Mall.
Now living in Belrose with fellow Sea Eagles youngsters Peta Hiku and Jorge Taufua, Hasson gets the chance to return to the the mall only from time-to-time to assist his former workmates among piles of jalapenos, meatballs, olives and ranch sauce.
Pitched into a one-on-one battle with more experienced prop David Gower for Manly's final bench spot in Sunday’s decider, the 21-year-old on Sunday ventured back to the franchise that also launched the working careers of model Lara Bingle, singer Matt Corby and Test cricketer Steven Smith.
"Working at Subway really helped me with footy, because I made lots of different friends and met a heap of new people," Hasson said.
254988-james-hasson.jpg

James Hasson makes a Subway sandwich.

"It helped my people skills, serving customers all day long.
"Before I started making sandwiches, I was doing a carpentry job, and that was torture because of the hours. But Subway fit in well around footy training and I was in there just about every day."
Cronulla’s large population of league stars soon realised one of their peers was working behind the counter - and took full advantage.
Bulldogs centre Josh Morris made a visit to Hasson as one of his pre-match rituals, while Sharks skipper Paul Gallen devoured a weekly chicken sub on the house.

Hasson, a Caringbah de La Salle junior, dreamed of playing alongside Gallen in black, white and blue.
But his hopes were dashed at the end of last season when the club offered him an underwhelming deal compared to the Sea Eagles' two-year overture.

And what's this.....

"Manly showed a lot of interest and Cronulla not as much," Hasson recalled. "I didn’t think I was a chance of playing NRL at Cronulla - not for a while, anyhow.
"It was disappointing to leave because I loved the Sharks and saw myself playing there my whole career.

... a young guy who loved the Sharks and didn't want to leave?
WTF???....
Haven't the experts explained that's a thing of the past?

Bourbon also wrote some shite about how there was some "good news to come out of the week" - with her "colleague, Massoud taking on Paul Gallen after the Dally M's."
She then went on to explain how Gal is "sweetness & light" in the media but a "different story" behind the scenes.

Hhmm..getting personal now - she might need to pull her head in or be prepared to back these statements up with some facts.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...rand-final-smoky/story-fni3gnk1-1226733252943

shaggs

It was disappointing to leave bit he still did.

For the opportunity and the money.
2 years full time at minimum of 75k or 1 year at maybe 20k.

I know what I would do. If it meant leaving the club and area I supported to have a better Chance to play nrl, then give me the contract, I'm gone.
Manly were skinny on FR and BR depth. Sharks were not. Simple.

webShark

For the opportunity and the money.
2 years full time at minimum of 75k or 1 year at maybe 20k.

Shaggs you have good info. Those figures are pretty much on the mark. Similar story with Peach but the figures higher. Don't fall for the crap Peach was offered a competitive deal by us. Like Hasson he was not rated by the coaching staff. Hasson was largely a benchie. He was much more thought of than current flavour of the month Penani in the De La team. Personally ,
I didn't see that much in Hasson but Manly did. He has bulked up immensely from a scrawny second rower. Went to the trial at Brookie and Hasson was socialising with all the Sharks 20s. I joked if he cant break our 20s he is deluding himself coming to Manly. Maybe not.

Hasson still goes to some De La games too easy to find out why he left us.

shaggs

Shaggs you have good info. Those figures are pretty much on the mark. Similar story with Peach but the figures higher. Don't fall for the crap Peach was offered a competitive deal by us. Like Hasson he was not rated by the coaching staff. Hasson was largely a benchie. He was much more thought of than current flavour of the month Penani in the De La team. Personally ,
I didn't see that much in Hasson but Manly did. He has bulked up immensely from a scrawny second rower. Went to the trial at Brookie and Hasson was socialising with all the Sharks 20s. I joked if he cant break our 20s he is deluding himself coming to Manly. Maybe not.

Hasson still goes to some De La games too easy to find out why he left us.

I agree with all of this. My point all along is to go where the opportunity is.

I don't much about Penani. Haven't seen enough to comment.

I like brown in the 20's

Bourbon also wrote some shite about how there was some "good news to come out of the week" - with her "colleague, Massoud taking on Paul Gallen after the Dally M's."
She then went on to explain how Gal is "sweetness & light" in the media but a "different story" behind the scenes.

Hhmm..getting personal now - she might need to pull her head in or be prepared to back these statements up with some facts.[/URL]

What does she expect him to do? All year the three stooges have been giving it to Cronulla and they actually expect the players to be cordial to them. FMD some people are stupid. None of them have any credibility in footy but they feel it's their right as journos to give their views., whether there is fact involved or not.

I reckon a charity boxing match is in order. Media v Cronulla players. 1st bout Hooper v Gallen. 2nd bout Bourbon Bec v Lauren Eagle (honourary). 3rd bout Massoud v Pom.