Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Terrel May

BLM01

I suspect its more that he already had some close friends who will be playing at the Tigers (e.g Jerome Luai) that influeced him assumoing the remuneration offered was similar from both clubs. Also considering he at times struggles with his mental commitment to the game, he may fit in better there than at the dragons under a harder taskmaster in Flanagan.
I have no doubt it is money. For him to inform Flanno of his decision means we showed interest at $$. Hence Flanno coming out and saying he was not getting in a bidding war with Tigers..Dogs also pulled out and probably for similar reasons. Fox reporting we could not (likely would not) afford it
Tigers paid more than we thought he was worth and potential. I am OK with that because this is where you get into cap trouble paying overs for guys that may not play not 80 mins on field or on potential alone. A good half YES top dollar.
It is not a failure as some are spruiking but just disappointment on missing getting an up & comer and YES we need a middle but at what price?. I am prepared to wait for the right hand in glove which includes value for money.

Had absolutely nothing to do with Benji, more to do with the fact Tigers were willing to offer him close to 200k more per year than we were.

You offer nothing of any substance you troll.
That's why I've got the troll on ignore but can easily get the gist due to all the sane responses

Such Hypocritical posts

All good is Deano excepting our bog average defence (Deano's actual job), which is apparently the head coaches fault

All bad is Flanno

If Deano is such a positive influence then Terrel would be on board? - But he signed for Tigers = Flanno's fault.

Total Dick wad!

Looks like we really need effort from Fifita and then Tonga coming through.
JDB and Molo is not really going to get us on the front foot and we already know the limitations of Lawrie.
Fifita really does have the ability to be our forward leader in 2025, but the questions remain about how bad he wants it.
Flanagan would surely be telling him at his age that next season could well be his last chance to make it in the big time.
Tonga on the other hand looks really hungry to make a go of any opportunities that come his way.

Nutz

For the next one or two years, JDB will be a prop. By 2026 Toby will be a seasoned prop and will be joined by LPT. But we might get another one in the market in that time.

Of course there are still Lawrie, Fifita and the Molos but they aren't setting the world on fire.

Maybe a prop from the UK?
What's the situation with Finau Latu. He was earmarked as a future nrl middle.
It's times like this when you need (for example) your stars from Matts 4 years ago to come thru and transition in the nrl and nail it without costing the club heaps.
We had just the right prop who was part of the Tigers 2022 matts premiers side.
He made it to finally play rep footy recently with Fiji but the we terminated his contract for being late to training a couple of times.
I don't know who was going to pick him up but I'd be chasing him
He's 10000kg and 29ft tall. I'd look into these youngsters and develop them. Flanno would sort out his attitude off the field.

Nutz

I have no doubt it is money. For him to inform Flanno of his decision means we showed interest at $$. Hence Flanno coming out and saying he was not getting in a bidding war with Tigers..Dogs also pulled out and probably for similar reasons. Fox reporting we could not (likely would not) afford it
Tigers paid more than we thought he was worth and potential. I am OK with that because this is where you get into cap trouble paying overs for guys that may not play not 80 mins on field or on potential alone. A good half YES top dollar.
It is not a failure as some are spruiking but just disappointment on missing getting an up & comer and YES we need a middle but at what price?. I am prepared to wait for the right hand in glove which includes value for money.
Our cap is ok mate.. The only problem is we have an aging klem who we need to release and we need to release and Bud Sullivan because we have too many halfs.
I can see us losing more talent that we have coming thru. We lost one to manly but sadly maybe more to come. Thank God we just secured a future star, Heamasi Makasini.
You guys should look at Jordan Miller, a HUGE lad who just played rep footy.

Agree ...to attract the really big dollars you've got to have performance and leadership. May doesn't demonstrate the level of stability and leadership required to command the big dollars....if he did he'd still be at the roosters.