Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Thank you Benji

Blood Shot Eyes

I think the idea of using Hutch this late in the season is imo an excuse by Macgregor to show everyone look keep me as coach Im about to show you things will be different in 2017........why didnt he use the kid when Marshall was always injured........it also indicates to me that the club has no new half from elsewhere on the horizon otherwise they would persist with Benji with 2 games to go.........its a little unfair for Hutch to be on show and standout when the rest of the teams moral and enthusiasm is shot.......and just for the record Im not convinced that the kid is our answer to our halfback problem.......I hope I'm wrong

Dragsters

Benji has been a great servant to the game.

Whilst he and every dragons supporter would have liked to see him excel in the red V, he got us to the first final series in ages last year in spite of not being picked in his best position and I thank him for that.

FTR, I'm glad he came out and said what he did last night about his best position being 5/8 and I am stumped why we never experimented and swapped our halves around at all.

God-King Dean

I think the idea of using Hutch this late in the season is imo an excuse by Macgregor to show everyone look keep me as coach Im about to show you things will be different in 2017........why didnt he use the kid when Marshall was always injured........it also indicates to me that the club has no new half from elsewhere on the horizon otherwise they would persist with Benji with 2 games to go.........its a little unfair for Hutch to be on show and standout when the rest of the teams moral and enthusiasm is shot.......and just for the record Im not convinced that the kid is our answer to our halfback problem.......I hope I'm wrong

This

The past 2 months McGregor has been doing nothing but PR.

The Doc

In my opinion Benji deserves a thank you.
To me he tried every game, yes he stuffed up alot, but he always tried.
I saw his stuff ups as a result of him trying too hard, because no one else took any pressure off him.
The guy lost a yard or 2 in pace, but he still had that step, and razzle dazzle.
Its just hard to make those things effective when the defence knows it doesnt have to worry about any other player maker and can just focus on benjis style of play.
Thank you benji, i for one hope you get another gig in 2017 with a proper team and go out on the note you deserve!

blacksafake

Benji has been a great servant to the game.

Whilst he and every dragons supporter would have liked to see him excel in the red V, he got us to the first final series in ages last year in spite of not being picked in his best position and I thank him for that.

FTR, I'm glad he came out and said what he did last night about his best position being 5/8 and I am stumped why we never experimented and swapped our halves around at all.
Well said D.
I've been harping on for 12 months to try a swap with Widdop, He is a running 5/8 not an organising 1/2.It would of at least been worth a try.

giboz71

Dropping Benji for Hutch for 1 game, then reinstating him for a farewell is the most ludicrous thing I have heard all year.

He's had ample time to look at Hutch and as others have said, numerous chances to play him when Benji was injured. And if he was fair dinkum about giving Hutch a crack, why have him for just one game. If you're going to drop Benji, just drop him. Or let him see out the year,. Not this one game out and then back in BS.

All I see is Mary using the high profile dumping of Benji (the same week Rein was shown the door) as a clear indication that he's pointing the finger squarely at the players for another failed campaign.

And then giving Benji a farewell, so people think he's a good bloke. FMD, gimme a break.

GC_Gladiator

I'd like to see Benji go round for another year or two with a better club with some structures. He'd be a good foil for Corey Norman or Cooper Cronk.

It's pretty rough to pass judgement on his future based on a season where he has only played 10 or so matches in a team with close to the worst attack around, particularly when he did as much as he did last year.

giboz71

I'd like to see Benji go round for another year or two with a better club with some structures. He'd be a good foil for Corey Norman or Cooper Cronk.

It's pretty rough to pass judgement on his future based on a season where he has only played 10 or so matches in a team with close to the worst attack around, particularly when he did as much as he did last year.

Not only that, but the contract saga was clearly a factor as well. How motivated would he have been knowing that he was going to be likely unwanted for next year??

In fact, the main difference between this year and last for us that we didn't get the output from Benji that he displayed last year where he polled really well in try assists and Dally M's. He had a good year last year and we clearly missed that.

The disappointing thing was, it was clear that Widdop, our other star half and captain wasn't able to make up for Benji's lack of production.

SaintHarry

Benji whatever comes your way good luck to you mate champion player your heart was probably in the game but it looked like your mind wasn't and we payed the price its unfortunate but thats footy and as a saints fan iv had enough so time for a change old mate.

Walpole

Agree absolutely. Last year Hutch was given a couple of chances in the NRL, you'd think on the basis he would be given more of an opportunity this year, yet when Benji was injured we went for McCrone. Just leave Hutch in the Cutters so he can hopefully help them to a premiership and if he's the man for the job play him from game one next season.

Paul Comber

It's just like a referee evening up the penalty count.
Benji supporters coming from everywhere to cry fowl and bash Widdop with the Paul Comber post the best of all.

Faak you very much.

I HAVE NEVER SEEN A PLAYER DO SO LITTLE EACH WEEK AS WIDDOP HAS THIS YEAR AND NOT GET DROPPED. HE IS LITERALLY THE ROOT OF ALL EVIL AS FAR AS THIS SEASON HAS GONE. BENJI HAS PUT IN EVERYTHING HE HAS TO TRY AND MAKE UP FOR WIDDOP BUT IT WASN'T ENOUGH.

THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR EFFORT BENJI! IN MY BOOKS ITS THIS YEAR, NOT LAST YEAR WHEN YOU CARRIED US TO THE FINALS BECAUSE AT LEAST YOU HAD MINIMAL HELP FROM WIDDOP, THAT MAKES YOU A DRAGONS HERO!

FAAK WIDDOP
FAAK MCGREGOR
AND ITS HURTS ME TO SAY BUT FAAK THE DRAGONS FOR AS LONG AS EITHER OF THESE TWO LEECHES REMAINS AT THE CLUB!

I HAVE HAD IT! THE LAST 5 YEARS HAS REACHED ITS CLIMAX AND I CAN NO LONGER BEAR IT.

SBD82

Faak you very much.

I HAVE NEVER SEEN A PLAYER DO SO LITTLE EACH WEEK AS WIDDOP HAS THIS YEAR AND NOT GET DROPPED. HE IS LITERALLY THE ROOT OF ALL EVIL AS FAR AS THIS SEASON HAS GONE. BENJI HAS PUT IN EVERYTHING HE HAS TO TRY AND MAKE UP FOR WIDDOP BUT IT WASN'T ENOUGH.

THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR EFFORT BENJI! IN MY BOOKS ITS THIS YEAR, NOT LAST YEAR WHEN YOU CARRIED US TO THE FINALS BECAUSE AT LEAST YOU HAD MINIMAL HELP FROM WIDDOP, THAT MAKES YOU A DRAGONS HERO!

FAAK WIDDOP
FAAK MCGREGOR
AND ITS HURTS ME TO SAY BUT FAAK THE DRAGONS FOR AS LONG AS EITHER OF THESE TWO LEECHES REMAINS AT THE CLUB!

I HAVE HAD IT! THE LAST 5 YEARS HAS REACHED ITS CLIMAX AND I CAN NO LONGER BEAR IT.

Gosh.

Welcome to the forum.

You seem like a rational fella Paul.

Gippsy

Good luck to Benji. A brilliant footballer in his day and I think the way he has handled himself through all this has been a real credit to him.

But, he's well past his best and I'm glad young Hutch has been given the opportunity to show what he can offer. Also, to say now that Benji will be recalled for the last game is ludicrous. Let him have his farewell, but he can have it wearing his suit after he has watched the boys run around.

BTW, I think Benji has a great future in the game, as a specialist coach and also in the media, and maybe (hopefully) as a Dragons ambassador. He can easily replace that muppet A. Johns.

Faak you very much.

FAAK WIDDOP
FAAK MCGREGOR

Why use caps are you blind.

monsterkev

its not entirely benjis fault but he will be the scapegoat they should sack widdop as well he has been worse than benji
what will happen if hutch and widdop dont gel
widdop will still be there and it will be hutch's fault

Faak you very much.

FAAK WIDDOP
FAAK MCGREGOR

Apologies for posting this reply incorrectly last time.

Can you please use a bigger font size the people in NZ are having a little trouble reading it.

In respect of your quote
"HAVE HAD IT! THE LAST 5 YEARS HAS REACHED ITS CLIMAX AND I CAN NO LONGER BEAR IT."

Try crawling back into your cave and going back to sleep because your hibernation has not been nearly long enough.

St Georgio

Faak you very much.

FAAK WIDDOP
FAAK MCGREGOR

I hear your frustrations, every large supporters base does have its fair share of idiots, you have been hammered for no reason over your post, I really don't understand why Benji has become the target of insults when Rein and Widdop have contributed absolute zero to our attack, Hutchinson is not the answer at number 7, Hutch is another 6 or probably forward, shit Jack D should be put back to half. The true fact is we don't have a proper coach to come up with structures to suit the roster we have, but like I said lets piss on Benji, really I don't know why his become the punching back for some imbeciles!