Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2014/15 Off Season Thread

There a few things more dangerous than people who think that one side is *always* right/superior, and always will be.

Unless of course, we are talking about Manly in which case I'm happy to be as biggotted as the next bloke.

oldmancraigy

So true Barry.

If only everyone could wake up and see that the Labour party was better than the Liberal, we'd have no cause for arguments.

Abbott said that the co-payment or price signal was dead. Now his new Health Minister Sussan Ley said this morning that a "value signal" was important to Medicare.

OK so it's not dead now.

#zombiepolitics

zombies.jpg

eelandia

Gronk, I care about the country and my kids and grandkids future

If you let the idiots like Shorten and Bowen escape unscathed , and if you saw him on the Richo/Jones show you would despair, he is transparently idiotic . the fact that even the Gov of the RBA and head of Treasury are sending warnings about the debt spiral, and they answer that its all rhetoric is insane

As I am older than most on here, the debacle that is labour will not impact on me so much, perhaps even assist me in a sense, but if you think the LNP is bad, beware the alternative - it is far, far worse. under Labour our credit rating fell, was moved back to AAA under the Howard/Costello regime, when you consider that Labour has not run a budget surplus in god knows how long is frightening, you might hate Abbott/Hockey but please consider the alternative - fmd!!!!

I agree Bowen is a moron and always has been...but your arguments on Labor bad economic managers / LNP good is straight out of the LNP's book of slogans. The inter-generational stuff is nonsense as it assumes no GDP growth, nor increased revenue from the Infrastructure and / or benefits that the debt is spent on. In fact, the NBN if done correctly would bring the govt income and high returns perpetually.

Also, it appears the book of slogans also assumes govt debt(govt bonds paying very low interest) is bad unless it is spent on finding a plane in the middle of nowhere ($500m +), purchasing Subs we probably don't need ($20 to $40B not including ongoing maintenance), going to fight ISIS ($500m per year), using the Navy to turn back brown people ($1b per yr), giving the RBA $8B they didn't ask for (Hockey worried about having to fight a falling dollar under his watch) and purchasing fighter jets that aren't even flying yet ($24B). Hockey has in fact doubled govt debt since he came in.

The LNP fiscal policy is to sell off assets and never receive an income from those assets ever again. They hate the fact their corporate mates have 'unfair' competition from govt owned assets (re ABC, Telstra, Electricity) and are very quick to do their donors a favour. That's how they achieved surpluses in their last term, as well as taking credit for all the hard yards Keating did to modernise our economy. The structural deficit we now have is from the Howard years. Great fiscal managers.

I'm a free market person, but please don't keep telling the lie that the LNP are better economic managers because they only like a free market when it suits them (re National Party protectionists).

carson

Actually Keating was the one who freed up the markets, he was just as much responsible as Howard was for the golden period we went through.

I personally can't stand Abbot and being from Julie Bishop's electorate I can tell you she isn't the answer. Met her a few times, she is not the sharpest tool in the shed which is why they probably keep her overseas. Turnbull is not bad but the rest of the party hate him and he still has his involvement in HIH hanging over his head.

People however seem to be forgetting exactly how bad the last Labor party was. Working as a Tax advisor I can tell you their budgets were terrible, their legislation was usually poorly written and idiotic and there read of the economy was usually in direct opposition to the economic indicators provided to them by the RBA.

It really is the devil or the deep blue sea. The big issue is that the last 2 opposition parties have been the worst in history. Abbot was elected through negative politics and Shorten is now using the same blue print. It will probably get him elected but it will be done at the cost to the country, digging holes we may never get out of. The problem with these negative politics is that by blocking everything you are bringing the independent senators into play and letting idiots who nobody voted for, with crackpot agendas, run the country.

Both sides need to grow up and start putting the country first.

End rant.

spiderdan

Actually Keating was the one who freed up the markets, he was just as much responsible as Howard was for the golden period we went through.

I personally can't stand Abbot and being from Julie Bishop's electorate I can tell you she isn't the answer. Met her a few times, she is not the sharpest tool in the shed which is why they probably keep her overseas. Turnbull is not bad but the rest of the party hate him and he still has his involvement in HIH hanging over his head.

People however seem to be forgetting exactly how bad the last Labor party was. Working as a Tax advisor I can tell you their budgets were terrible, their legislation was usually poorly written and idiotic and there read of the economy was usually in direct opposition to the economic indicators provided to them by the RBA.

It really is the devil or the deep blue sea. The big issue is that the last 2 opposition parties have been the worst in history. Abbot was elected through negative politics and Shorten is now using the same blue print. It will probably get him elected but it will be done at the cost to the country, digging holes we may never get out of. The problem with these negative politics is that by blocking everything you are bringing the independent senators into play and letting idiots who nobody voted for, with crackpot agendas, run the country.

Both sides need to grow up and start putting the country first.

End rant.
:?

84 Baby

I'm voting to do away with the government, installing a corporate governing body and having more private armies. I reckon it'd be a good way to stop the boats to because noone will want to come to our f**king country

The MRRT was the stupidest (and most economically irrational) piece of legislation passed by Parliament in a long time. As well as potentially penalising efficiency, it was pretty obvious that even in its original form the big guys would get around much of it by adjusting transfer prices.

Yet another example of passing watered down legislation just to save face.

:?
Foreign multinationals are jostling to take over the payment of tens of billions of dollars in Medicare and other Australian government benefits.
Companies from the US, Germany, Japan and Britain have approached the Commonwealth, interested in taking over the Medicare, Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme and Veterans Affairs payments in an outsourcing deal.
Only three home-grown players, Eftpos, Australia Post and Telstra offshoot Stellar, are in the hunt to secure the massive contract if the Abbott government decided to go ahead with the privatisation.

But British services giant Serco, Japanese-US outfit Fuji-Xerox, German software behemoth SAP as well as American outsourcing powerhouse Accenture are all circling too, according to well-placed sources in the local "business process outsourcing" industry.
The news comes as Prime Minister Tony Abbott moves to place limits on purchases of Australian agricultural land by foreign entities.
The Health Department called in August 2014 for expressions of interest from private players interested in taking over the payment of $29 billion each year in health and pharmaceutical benefits currently managed by the Human Services.

Human Services Minister Marise Payne says much of the Department of Human Services IT infrastructure used to process the payments was ageing and needed to be replaced and the private sector might be able to supply cheaper solutions.
http://linkis.com/canberratimes.com.au/HSDbs

Yet another example of passing watered down legislation just to save face.

If it weren't for whiny losers like yourself there would be no need to worry about that kind of thing. You're what's wrong with this country Gronk. Not the pollies.

:lol: Thanks mate.

Or maybe it's the condescending merkins who just think that it's everyone else's fault ? ;-)