Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2014/15 Off Season Thread

Once again, Poo just decides to make shit up then change what he said he said, or how it was supposed to be interpreted...blah blah blah.

You don't actually have anything interesting or intelligent to say, Poo, and I'm not just talking about in relation to this subject. You're not even a psuedo-intellectual - you're far below that.

You're just meaninglessly verbose and you think your long windedness makes you insightful.

You're not. You're a fool.

You think there was no religion before Moses? f**king wow.

Who are these pre-religion people you're talking about? Do you mean pre-Judaism?

Who would argue otherwise? These practices are still morally acceptable in parts of the world. Though instead of leaving them out for the wolves or the cold they are generally 'apprenticed' to paedophiles. That is true for the Middle East, Africa, Southeast Asia, South America, and wherever you have the Catholic Church.

I dunno if we're that free from reprisal mate.

Jesus f**k - you are a boring merkin.

The Moses reference was a metaphor - dont pretend to be a dumb merkin all of a sudden.

Pre-Religion people are, by definition, people who existed before established religion. Refer to the above.

Otherwise, you seem to have accepted my wisdom.

Kudos.

Once again, Poo just decides to make shit up then change what he said he said, or how it was supposed to be interpreted...blah blah blah.

You don't actually have anything interesting or intelligent to say, Poo, and I'm not just talking about in relation to this subject. You're not even a psuedo-intellectual - you're far below that.

You're just meaninglessly verbose and you think your long windedness makes you insightful.

You're not. You're a fool.

What do the words in Bold mean? I have no idea but ill take a stab

Psuedo - Full of shit
Verbose - heaps of bullshit
windedness - talks too much shit

Was I close HJ ?

Jesus f**k - you are a boring merkin.

Just as well you're interesting enough for the rest of us then.

The Moses reference was a metaphor - dont pretend to be a dumb merkin all of a sudden.

Yeah, a metaphor for religion after the invention of writing. Do you think there was no religion prior to that?

Pre-Religion people are, by definition, people who existed before established religion. Refer to the above.

See above. There was religion long before there was 'established religion', whatever the f**k that means. Religions continually evolve - Jesus was Jewish, not Christian, and Buddha was born Hindu.

Even today Judaism and Christianity bear little resemblance to how they were a thousand or more years ago.

Otherwise, you seem to have accepted my wisdom.

Kudos.

lol f**ken ripper!!!

lingard

I'm sure it provides justification for those acts. For starters they are allowed to marry children. I assume they're allowed to f**k their 'wives' no matter how young they are.

Mate, human beings have the power (if you want to call it that) to justify just about anything. We can take any religious teaching and twist it around to suit our own agendas or vested interests.
You do understand that the Bible wasn't just a book of religious teaching? It was also a history book, showing the culture and morals and laws of the times. Then, in the New Testament, Jesus comes along and says: "No, don't do it like that - do it like this". That's where modern-day Christianity comes from. And if you think you can find anything in Jesus' teachings that would justify British knights going off and slaying Muslims in the crusades or the bitter fight between Catholics and Protestants in Ireland, then go for it.

lingard

[/ No you just break up the quoted post]

You mean

[/with square-bracket-slash-quote-close-bracket]

[? then your own bullshit followed by square-bracket-quote-close-bracket.]

this?

[/No need to thank me. I will receive my reward in heaven.]

Woo Hoo!
Hmm. It didn't work.

Mate, human beings have the power (if you want to call it that) to justify just about anything. We can take any religious teaching and twist it around to suit our own agendas or vested interests.

But why do we even need a justification? Neither Mao nor Stalin needed a religious book to justify their atrocities.

You do understand that the Bible wasn't just a book of religious teaching? It was also a history book, showing the culture and morals and laws of the times. Then, in the New Testament, Jesus comes along and says: "No, don't do it like that - do it like this". That's where modern-day Christianity comes from. And if you think you can find anything in Jesus' teachings that would justify British knights going off and slaying Muslims in the crusades or the bitter fight between Catholics and Protestants in Ireland, then go for it.

But the Bible isn't just the teachings of Jesus. Until recently it was invariably packaged with the Old Testament, which was about the (very successful) survival and prosperity of an ethno religious community. There's plenty in there to justify exploiting 'them' for 'our' benefit. That was the mindset of the time (both the Bronze Age of the Old Testament and the Middle Ages of the Crusades), and in fact it is still the mindset throughout most of the world. There is 'us' and there is 'them', and if 'they' get in the way of 'our' prosperity (someone think of the children - 'our' children of course) 'they' very quickly cease to be human to us. Only fat, dumb and happy (and rich compared to the rest of the world, despite bleating about being part of the 99%) Westerners have the comfort and free time to care about people in other parts of the world.

Personally I think Jesus would be horrified to see Christians living according to the Old Testament. The Second Epistle of Peter says they are like a dog returning to its vomit. Then again, I wonder what Jesus would think of the New Testament.