Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Brisbane forward pack ...

OVP

FEAR THEM !! Never in my life have i seen such brutal dominance that lead to nothing in the end for Brisbane :(

If Lockyer was there, every other team would be forgiven for shutting up shop. They are scary, really scary, and even if they dont make the 8 this year, i am still terrified about what they will do next year, when Lockyer is fit. FEAR THEM !!

The General

They were awesome tonight. I agree with Lockyer and Hunt in the team they would be a real force this year. Their depth might be tested a bit next year with Petero, Thorne and Carlaw gone but if they keep producing guys like Taylor and Kenny then look out.

OVP

The General said:
They were awesome tonight. I agree with Lockyer and Hunt in the team they would be a real force this year. Their depth might be tested a bit next year with Petero, Thorne and Carlaw gone but if they keep producing guys like Taylor and Kenny then look out.

Dont forget though mate, only the Dogs could have withstood a brutal barrage like that. Wow ... that was a game and a half !!!!!! Thank you to both teams fo putting that show on.

But i still think that if Brisbane had their playmaker there, it would have shown how far above the rest of the comp they truly are. Bugger this Melbourne sh*te ... Brisbane own them and all... apart from an injury ...

Dave Taylor is a fair dinkum animal, ive been hearing about the bloke for 2 years and been very keen to see how he goes, i'd have to say, based on what ive seen, he'll live up to the hype

scuzzi

the broncs coped a lot of crap for letting petreo go, but with guys like taylor coming up through the ranks, you can understand why they wouldn't be willing to pay Petero the big bucks and risk losing these young blokes. Taylor is the next Tallis!

legend

When you consider they will have Clinton and Sims there next year as well along with Hannant and Taylor you can see they will have a devestating forward pack.

Dave Taylor... incredible. His first try, noone was gonna stop him.

Brisbane will be back... possibly even this year... we'll see.

Captian_Klutz

OVP said:
Dont forget though mate, only the Dogs could have withstood a brutal barrage like that. Wow ... that was a game and a half !!!!!! Thank you to both teams fo putting that show on.
LOL the team that played them last week did pretty well also.

The team Brisbane played last week should've done it blindfolded based on early season form ;-)

Can't fault that statement... we only got home by a point :lol:

Ice777

and that's all it needed. I have a feeling that next weeks game is going to be a good old fashioned arm wrestle and the same statement will apply. I couldn't care less how we get it done as long as we can get it done.

[FKN-SIK]

Brisbane should always be feared

Since their existance they have always been a quality side all over the park

Sea_Eagles_Rock

Ice777 said:
and that's all it needed. I have a feeling that next weeks game is going to be a good old fashioned arm wrestle and the same statement will apply. I couldn't care less how we get it done as long as we can get it done.

Depends. If the Dogs are smart they will engage Melbourne in a forward battle up the middle. They will win comfortably. If they try to play fringe footy, the Storm will carve them up. That will be the interesting part of the match.

These sorts of tough match should be wearing on the Bulldogs by the end of the regular season. They will be seasoned though. And that can be a good thing.

Manly also took care of the Brisbane forwards 2 weeks ago. I think the Warriors forward back is far more concerning... I do not understand some people on here that say this season hasn't been good. When you look at some of the forward battles this year, I think there has been a lot of great games. Although flashy backlines score flamboyant tries, it the hard nosed forward packs that set the scene. A tough forward battle is always far more appealing to me then a dozen 100m run-away tries.

Captian_Klutz

[FKN-SIK] said:
Brisbane should always be feared

Since their existance they have always been a quality side all over the park
Thats why they have a positive winning ratio against all teams bar the Storm.

this has been building for weeks now. with lockyer and hunt in the team we would have beat parra, manly, melbourne and canterbury last nite. our pride in the jumper and willingness to work for each other is sensational and it is why i havent given up on the boys unlike most of my fellow broncos fans. i still think we will beat canberra and parramatta and make it to the finals. k will be back, maybe ennis as well and we might give the premiership a real shake

i would have asked, why have we waited until this week for a performance like that from the brissy pack ?

miccle

Johnsy - I would argue that our pack has been AWESOME over the past month. Sure, that was the best performance thus far... but the forwards have really stood up.

In the absence of our three top playmakers (hunt, berro and locky) along with injuries to ennis and hodges, we have played the top four teams. Parra beat us by 4, Manly by 13, Storm by 8 and Dogs by 1.

Our forward pack was the sole thing that kept us competing and I'm not going to hide behind injuries or any crap like that - I've never been prouder to support the Broncos despite the fact we could still miss the eight. Wondefully corageous performances.