Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The core of our future

Wrighty79

westie said:
1. Greally --- Hodgo will be around for a while yet. Might pose some problems.

3. Harrison --- Dont rate him as a second rower, plus we have plenty of other to play 2nd row. Oh and Halatau cannot tackle.
4. Collis --- Must play outside Liam and Isaac.

6. Fulton
7. Marshall

8. Gibbs --- So young for a prop. Gunna be a good player.
9. Farah --- Gives the all important direction we lack.

11. Halatau --- Got doubts over this one.
13. De Gois --- Hopefully Sheens doesn't screw him over.

Roberts is another one that could be good.

Wingers look a little dubious. The two Shannon's are contenders and Rocky Trimarchi could probably end up on the wing if needs be.

While hard running second rowers and props havn't really shown up yet, they definately will in a few years. With players like Pritchard, Hammer, Sweeny etc playing well in Flegg they should progress well.

Oh, and I still have doubts as to whether Marshall will ever live up to it all.[/quote]

Agree 100% I thought I was the only Tiger who thought that way.

I wonder about that too sometimes. However the wraps he's received have been pretty unanimous, so I'm a believer.

Westie can you provide a bit on info about Roberts? I know he's a junior rep but that's about it. I never get the chance to see Wests lower grades. Thanks mate...

Tigerpete said:
A few people on here have shown there doubts over the clubs chances of holding onto Benji Marshall in the future, asking why would Benji want to stay when he can go to a more sucessful club? That might be a valied question but its one we dont need to face yet, he's about to have his latest contract upgraded .

How certain of this are you?

HOT028

innsaneink said:
Tigerpete said:
A few people on here have shown there doubts over the clubs chances of holding onto Benji Marshall in the future, asking why would Benji want to stay when he can go to a more sucessful club? That might be a valied question but its one we dont need to face yet, he's about to have his latest contract upgraded .

royce did say they were in the middle of upgrading his contract at the moment...

westie

Half-5/8-center (predominately a half)

Benny Roberts has been in Sheen's eyes since day one. He was selected for the '03 7's but never played. Pretty good ball player but prone to taking the wrong option. IMO thats just inexperience. He's got a good step. Handled PL pretty well during a few games at the end of last year. Pretty evasive with a decent step. Long kicking game could probably develop well. Will probably end up a better organising half than Benji.

I know Yappy has a different opinion (or did at the start of the year any way) so let him give you his views as well.

vlad

juniors
HOT028 said:
innsaneink said:
Tigerpete said:

royce did say they were in the middle of upgrading his contract at the moment...

I was listening to 2SM's Talkin' Sport this afternoon and Dale (Texas) Walker was talking about Benji .

He said that the Tigers were currently trying to come to terms with him for an upgraded contract . The asking price mentioned was 250K . The Tigers have said this is too much . However Dale reckons that only recently , the Roosters , Broncos and Waratahs had shown interest in Benji and I don't think any of them would have a problem finding the 250K one way or another .

If this Wests Tigers franchise is ever going to be anything it simply cannot allow Benji to leave .

Davester

I'd be crushed to see Benji leave...if it happened or happens. He seemed keen to continue with the Tigers. I know that the Roosters are done with their signings and that would leave a bid war between Benji's current club, broncos and...the waratahs? I doubt Benji would make a change just after 2 years in the NRL...wouldn't seem right at all...

TigerMo

vlad said:
HOT028 said:
innsaneink said:
Tigerpete said:

I was listening to 2SM's Talkin' Sport this afternoon and Dale (Texas) Walker was talking about Benji .

He said that the Tigers were currently trying to come to terms with him for an upgraded contract . The asking price mentioned was 250K . The Tigers have said this is too much . However Dale reckons that only recently , the Roosters , Broncos and Waratahs had shown interest in Benji and I don't think any of them would have a problem finding the 250K one way or another .

If this Wests Tigers franchise is ever going to be anything it simply cannot allow Benji to leave .

Honestly, 250 k for a guy who has played, what, 10 games and is only 19? Yes we know he has the talent and potential to be worth around that much, but hasn't set the world on fire and hasn't done much for us yet.

Once he actually shows that he is worth the 250 k, then give it to him!

yappy

Once he actually shows that he is worth the 250 k, then give it to him!
The only problem with that is that when he does prove he's worth it, it will be when he carves you up in Roosters jersey. You need to decide if he's gonna be your 5/8 or not. If he is then that's what good 5/8s get so you gotta pay it. (Liam will be a better player though)

Thanks mate, appreciated. Would be good to get Yappy's views to but I may have pissed him off
why are you Tim Sheens?

Roberts will never be a half or 5/8. Bank on it. He just doesn't have the vision. He does have a nice step, good pass, and pace. He might make it as a lock, but I'd play him as an outside centre or maybe even on the wing.

Magpie Nick

Roberts played with Marshall in Schoolboys Waitey and they tore up NZ. He was dropped and then NZ smashed us. I think stick him in the 7. and leave him there and he will shine mate, he may be playing Lock and Centre at the moment but I think thats only cause of injuries.

yappy

He is not and never will be a half. He may become a very good player, and as I very much like the guy I hope he does, but he just ain't got IT to be a half. He doesn't have the calmness under pressure, he doesn't make the right decisions often enough, his kicking is far far far too eratic, he doesn't decide what he's going to do until he's caught the ball. It's not inexperience, it's not form, he just ain't got it. Sorry, but that's the fact Jack. He should get himself put into a spot where the pressure to control things just isn't on him so that he can pop up every now and again and I reckon then he'll shine. Aus schoolboys is one thing. First Grade NRL is a whole other universe, and Ben Roberts will get shown up terribly if he is ever even lucky enough to get a go there in a 6 or 7 jersey. (which he won't)

I'm not trying to have a go at you Nick son, but you've got no idea what you're talking about on this one.

tiger_nick

yappy said:
He is not and never will be a half. He may become a very good player, and as I very much like the guy I hope he does, but he just ain't got IT to be a half. He doesn't have the calmness under pressure, he doesn't make the right decisions often enough, his kicking is far far far too eratic, he doesn't decide what he's going to do until he's caught the ball. It's not inexperience, it's not form, he just ain't got it. Sorry, but that's the fact Jack. He should get himself put into a spot where the pressure to control things just isn't on him so that he can pop up every now and again and I reckon then he'll shine. Aus schoolboys is one thing. First Grade NRL is a whole other universe, and Ben Roberts will get shown up terribly if he is ever even lucky enough to get a go there in a 6 or 7 jersey. (which he won't)

I'm not trying to have a go at you Nick son, but you've got no idea what you're talking about on this one.

I have to agree with Yappy based on the 1 game Ive seen him play. The game before the trail V Widnes where he played halfback in a combined PL team. They won about 80-4 or something ridiculous like that. When the defence held off him he could do some awesome stuff however when they rushed him, especially on the fifth ,he shit himself and did something dumb or nothing at all. This was against a combined aboriginal central coast team that was getting absolutly dominated. He would get found out big time in grade football.

yappy

Yeah another possibility, but we're sweet for fullbacks. I really think he'd make a super winger.

Mc East

Just wondering how old is Roberts?

Also the mail is that if Gold Coast become the 16th team Prince will be one of their first signings. The Gold Coast team is also trying hard to lure Marshall back to his beloved home in the Gold Coast.

We are going to battle to keep him that is a certainty!!

Magpie Nick

Roberts is 18.

I agree with you Waitey to some extent but I'd like to see him be given a jersey, he was given 6. for Premier League last year and his long kicking game was his only fault late in the year, he seems to have gotten rid of the fault and being thrown into Lock, Centre, I think he has lost a little bit of the 'thing' needed to be a Half.

Andrew in regards to Benny being a winger, I think he is too slow to be able to really be a good winger in First Grade, yeh he may be able out pace the Centres and other Halves in Flegg, the Wingers still seem to be able to reel him in.

super_coach

you are all throwing these young guy names up-but line them up against the dragons bronco chooks etc not so good--you need the big established names-and than you bring 1 or 2 along a year--not bloody 13 like sheens is trying to do.
in the old days--the tigers won the 3rd grade--a great young side--so the next year they decided to go with youth--they came last by a mile.
the good sides are good-because each year they buy 2 or 3 class players by offloading 2 or 3 fading stars to souths or the tigers at over the odds dollars--unless this mob gets some real class in the joint to bring the good young stuff along-we are history--when are the board going to wake up---i think 2005 was their big chance and they have stuffed up and the future is now bleaker than ever

yappy

As I've mentioned you can bring half a dozen youngsters in at once as Saints have proved. You won't win too many games for a few years, but as they get better in a few years it all comes together.