Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Footy Quiz

V

Vertigo

That was a very good question Ryback.
It's nice to see that some can vision more than the involovement ofplayers only,when it comes to a footy quiz.
Well done.
V.

Name the RL refreee in the 1960s who was earned the ire of Wests players. To this day,some players stillclaim he backed the other side in one particular garnd final.

There's some debate about itRasputin.

I understand that Kelly said he heard the ref called 'held' while King said he didnt hear anything. They both me be recalling thingsto the best of their knowledge. It wason the sideline and there was a lot of mud and noise at the time.
Naturally, I'm only going on interviews I have seen and read.

There's no doubt that both players are fair dinkum... the only guy who knows for sure is the ref and he kicked the bucket just before he was due to talk on the subject with Larry Writer, the sports writer.

btw, that was probably the biggest hint of all time. :D
Rasputin obviously knows and is being gentlemanly enough to give someone else a crack at it.
If I was you Ras, I'd just jump in.

No... not Bradley.
Sorry, I thought it was a gimme.

The ref was indeed a high profile ref in his day. Dare I say, the 'Bill Harrigan'of the 1960s.
He had a reputation for placing the odd bet on sporting events, namely Rugby League.

Summons/Provan 63 grand final where Johnny King was dead set tackled butgot up and ran over for a try to win the game. Another GF handed to theSaints by a ref
emsad.gif

Rasputin: "Johnny King was dead set tackled butgot up and ran over for a try to win the game. Another GF handed to theSaints by a ref "

The 1963 grand final was won by St George... nothing will change that.
It shouldnt be forgotten that Darcey Lawler hated Saints for years because of the running battles that he and Ken Kearney had.

TheSCG in1963 was a quagmire of mud and the ground was greasy. The players were sliding around. If Johhny King was held or not is open to interpretation by the ref.
The issue is about the ref... did he called 'held'? Kelly says he did, King says he didnt hear anything.

The whole thing is nonsense anyway. Saints were still in possession in any case and the Wests defence was compacted on one side of the field. They would have scored in the next ruck.

The issue is that if Kelly is right, ref Darcy Lawler should have penalised King. For reasons best known to himself, Darcy alowed King to get up and run again, fending off more tacklers, to score in the corner. He had to contend with quite a bit of cover defence.
From that point of view, it was a bloody good effort from King.

LOL, Willow, knew that would get you. :p
However you left out one significant point,the final score was only 6-5 with that try being the difference.The Wests defenders thought the tackle was made and they only reacted after King had started to run again. That gave King a significant advantage and has always been the basis of controversy surrounding the game.

Don't forget mate, it was you who broughtup the controversy in the first place, not me :)

Ras: everything you said in your last post was correct... including the bit about getting to me... although I would have preferred the words, 'shit stirring' ;)

I've said this before... would I swap the 1963 grand final for the 1999 grand final...? The answer is still no, but suffice to say, the 1999 g/finalstill cuts deep.