Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Footy Show 2014

The number 1 moment of the season was Beau hosting the show starkers, sigh!!

Sums up this steaming pile of shit to a tee.

Swarzey

He ripped him a new one for being the only bloke on the panel to not play in a grand final and having no f**king idea.

Thought it was quite brilliant.

the show went on for too long. It ran for over three hours long. AT LEAST 2 hours of it were highlight package from throughout the year. That's way too much pre-recorded crap. As others said in here, I do feel sorry for those who paid for the tickets to be there in the audience. They barely watched much of the show live.

The Langmack-Fenech argument ruined the quiz segment. What a waste to have the likes of Terry Lamb and Matt King there and have pretty much no thoughts of the game ahead because of the "argument".

No need to have all the players/hosts MIME all of the songs at the end. Fairly boring!

FlameThrower

Have not watched it in ages and from reading the posts it looks like not only is getting worse, but Ch9 really has no idea what is needed to promote the NRL? I know the show is too long with no set finish time, too many stupid segments, old ex players who are Ch9 media darlings. Everyone I've ever spoken to about this just wants a show that talks about rugby league and is worthwhile to see. To fix this would be so easy for Ch9 but for some reason, this year they've decided that there's safety in numbers by having a zillion ppl on the panel who don't contribute anyway?

Liddell

GF show and 90% of it was current and former hosts miming songs.

Souths doing well again has obviously cut Langmack deep, must be still upset he wasnt awarded coach of the year in 2003.

undertaker

Before I respond to several posts since I posted here last night, I must say that the Ch9 research department need to be more accurate in their research. Regarding what was attributed to 1996 last night, Hanson's "Mmmbop" came out in 1997 and the incident where flour was dumped on Mario was in 1998 (when he had the "What's doin?" segment and where Fatty regularly paid out on him with all these stunts)

It was just such a bizarre show tonight. Despite having eleven hosts and around 20 current or former players on as guests, almost none of them were given the time to say more than a sentence or two.

One of my biggest beefs and why I'm not a fan of shows which have large panels. The quality of the discussion decreases as each person, on average, has less talk time. Although I'm not holding my hopes up high that it will change next year, this is something the producers of TFS will have to change in the off-season if there's any hope of improving the show next year.

Hell, they had Terry Lam on, a legend of the game who's played in a truckload of grand finals, and stuck him in a quiz! No interview, no look back at his grand finals, he just stood there with seven other blokes while Mario and Langmack had an argument. Who could possibly think that was a good idea?

THIS x 10000

Instead of having that stupid quiz (which was derailed by the Mario-Langmack stoush), it would've been far more productive and relevant to the Grand Final theme of the show to have had a discussion with those former players. And yeah, how awkward would've it have been if you were Terry Lamb standing in the middle of all that! He was just pretty much standing there doing nothing 99% of the time. In fact, I think he barely said a word at all. You get invited to the show, and you travel all the way just to do....nothing:lol:

Another strange thing I've noticed is that players who have come on over the last few months are treated as characters, rather than footy players. Very little reference is made to how they're playing etc, and instead references are only made to things they've done on The Footy Show. James Maloney isn't a premiership-winning player, he's a bloke who got caught wanking etc. Not only does it sideline rugby league, but also leads to a really crazy atmosphere where The Footy Show seems to be a universe of its own.

One of the things which, unfortunately, tarnishes RL's reputation and gives media organisations like News Ltd a field day.

The two lengthy musical segments were f**ken dreadful, too. Bring back The Game Plan.

This.

In addition, whoever thought it was a good idea to have Tracey Grimshaw involved in the intro needs to be sacked.

The number 1 moment of the season was Beau hosting the show starkers, sigh!!

Sums up this steaming pile of shit to a tee.

Yep, goes to show how far TFS has fallen since the halcyon days of the '90s.

the show went on for too long. It ran for over three hours long. AT LEAST 2 hours of it were highlight package from throughout the year. That's way too much pre-recorded crap. As others said in here, I do feel sorry for those who paid for the tickets to be there in the audience. They barely watched much of the show live.

This.

To be exact, on tv it went for 3 hours and 20 minutes. I thought Hey Hey It's Saturday's 4 hour record (which went one hour overtime) for it's farewell episode in '99 was going to be broken there at one stage.

And fancy Ch9 had the audacity to promote the show as being "live" during the week. Again, it wasn't. It started at 7:30pm.

undertaker

The AFL Footy Show do their player review so, so much better.

As I've said many times before, I despise AFL as a sport, but you have to give credit to their administration who do a far better job at promoting their sport and tv shows compared to the NRL.

Yes, there's also some rubbish and stupid segments on the AFL Footy Show, but at least football discussion is still paramount and the central theme, the show flows from start to finish and a lot of planning has been done. If all the NRL version ever did was simply do nothing other than to copy the structure of the AFL version, it would be a vast improvement on the rabble the NRL show currently is

Regarding the players revue, from the shots backstage last night, it looked like all the cast members had rocked up at the 11th hour for the rehearsal. I could see it was going to be a flop. And if they were going to do songs from mid-late '90s etc, there were so many great songs from that era that management could've chose rather than all this Hip Hop/Rap crap that got dished out last night.

Joker's Wild

Anyone expecting the Thurs night show to actually talk RL is kidding themselves

Its been Hey, Hey, Its Saturday for about 10+ years now

Good for the occasional laugh (and I do mean occasional) and thats about it

undertaker

Here's some of the comments from the Facebook page from people who obviously must've been watching a different show

https://www.facebook.com/NRLFootyShow

Emy Frazer Best night ever lol
Rochelle Slater-Liehr Take your negative comments elsewhere.

Loved the show last night.!! Also the atmosphere of being there was great. . Favourite show of the week. . Can't wait for footy season next year.
Nathan Seeto Awesome show loved every bit of it
Christine Tafia I love this show, one of the best on 9. It shits allover our AFL show. Beau Knows is one of my fav's. We're on a delayed telecast, can't wait to see this highlight
Debbie Malcolm Absolutely the best show ever. You guys all rock. Bring on 2015. Beau what a legend no matter what you do it is brilliant.😀😀😀
Jamie Ferguson Well done to all who was involved the show just gets better every year and haters go hate somewhere else
Sophie Schmetzer Best show ever ..laugh until I cry . Cheers

undertaker

For those who didn't watch the show, these comments more accurately sum up last night

Rob Schumacher Worst show ever. Thanks for putting me to sleep very early
Brian Gay So what exactly did i watch last night? Wasnt a lot of footy talk thats for sure
Stephen Garrard First and last time I will watch the footy show at a live event. Rubbish.
Jared Russell Seriously no more music parodies. ..they are bloody cringe worthy!!!
James Tucker This is deadset that shocking. Bring back the footy show when it was good with old cast and Matty johns.

cleary89

If you read big footy (the afl version of LU) they reckon our footy show is heaps better than theirs. I guess it's the grass is always greener type thing.

I remember back in it's hey day with Matty it use to get 400k ratings, when I watched a couple of times last year it was getting like 100k. Last night it rated 401k.

Is that typical or was it because of the GF? That's pretty good ratings though.

cleary89

I usually watch for the review, but wtf, this year there was pretty much 0 dancing and was just everyone miming. Was terrible. They showed that benji can dance as he did in 2012, yet no one danced this year.

undertaker

If you read big footy (the afl version of LU) they reckon our footy show is heaps better than theirs. I guess it's the grass is always greener type thing.

I remember back in it's hey day with Matty it use to get 400k ratings, when I watched a couple of times last year it was getting like 100k. Last night it rated 401k.

Is that typical or was it because of the GF? That's pretty good ratings though.

401k in Sydney alone? You've gotta be kidding me. The show regularly got those ratings as recently as 2004 (before the ratings started to decline in 2005, and that was when Ch9 was going to bring in Ray Hadley and Rebecca Wilson). Even then, the last time it cracked 300k in Sydney was the episode after Matt Johns was sacked in 2009.

I've been to a couple of GF Grand Final Shows - 2002 and in 2010. The 2002 one was, if I remember correctly, at the Capitol Theatre in Sydney. Problem was when they did talk about rugby league you could not hear what was being said as there were a number of douches in the crowd who though calling out "Go (team x" was more important. As it was being broadcast live, the PA system in the theatre was not turned up so that it did not cause any feedback for the microphones, so any interesting comments got drowned out by those idiots in the crowd. It is why I decided to not go again for quite a while.

2010 I went as it was held in the Opera House forecourt. At least you could hear the commentator, but yep even for a GF show it was a lot of crap being talked on stage and you still had the wallies who kept trying to drown out the stage with "Go Dragons", "Go Roosters" or similar insightful dribble regardless of what was being said on stage at the time. That was the last time I went as I could not handle the douches who thought there yelled out comments, which added nothing, deserved to drown out what other people were trying to listen to.

eozsmiles

This show needs to be canned. Its too daggy with dinosaurs like Daryl Brohman hosting Romper room, Fatty Vautin doing Benny Hill skits. I have no idea why a cricketer is presenting the show.

If the NRL wants to increase interest in the game, Smith call Gyngell and nuke it.

TFS is the highest rating RL show that isn't a game, and the only RL program/franchise that has survived on FTA. Smith might not like it's content (maybe he does), but he must like the numbers. How many people watched last night....half a million? Even if the hardcore/serious footy fans don't like the show, it seems a fair few other fans do. Good luck to them, the game needs all fans.

If you asked Smith how to make a FTA RL program that rated better, he'd scratch his head. Others have tried and failed, and it isn't even Smith's area of expertise. So he kind of has to roll with Gyngell on this one for now.

What Smith should do is call the other networks and tell them that the TV rights deal is on the table again pretty soon, the first/last option is gone, and if you had a serious footy show already established it might show those who make the decision that you are dedicated to promoting the game and it would hold some sway wink wink nudge nudge.

cleary89

401k in Sydney alone? You've gotta be kidding me. The show regularly got those ratings as recently as 2004 (before the ratings started to decline in 2005, and that was when Ch9 was going to bring in Ray Hadley and Rebecca Wilson). Even then, the last time it cracked 300k in Sydney was the episode after Matt Johns was sacked in 2009.

Nah, only 270 in syd apparently.