Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The game is bigger than it has ever been

T-Boon

i was thinking something more like a 4 point conversion.

PTB/scrum on the 20m line with 1 tackle for a 4 point conversion (can you imagine the chaos of a team with 1 play left throwing it around like crazy)
I like that but its still very low prospects of success. We need to put more thought into it.

steeden.

I dunno why but I had to after that NRL release, I had a look at BF in their footy industry forum, and fair bloody dinkum, that place is stark raving mad 😆

Oh my, the delusion, the tin foil and blindfolds of, I see nothing lol.

Greetings BF lurkers, long time no see.
My favourite was the person who said the media deciding that average viewers was a more important metric than Reach was an example of Sydney centric bias

T-Boon

that article where the Storm claim AFL sabotaged their early efforts in Melbourne, add that to the list.
AFL play that game in a big way and NRL needs to do way more of it themselves.

James Rick

I dunno why but I had to after that NRL release, I had a look at BF in their footy industry forum, and fair bloody dinkum, that place is stark raving mad 😆

Oh my, the delusion, the tin foil and blindfolds of, I see nothing lol.

Greetings BF lurkers, long time no see.
Seen someone on that forum claim the AFL Lions are bigger than the Broncos in Brisbane when the AFL Lions are doing well. Another who reckons the AFL Swans are bigger than any NRL club in Sydney.

T-Boon

Seen someone on that forum claim the AFL Lions are bigger than the Broncos in Brisbane when the AFL Lions are doing well. Another who reckons the AFL Swans are bigger than any NRL club in Sydney.
I think one of the tests should be how many players a fan/member can name. I think it is a thing in Sydney and Brisbane that maybe 80% of the fans at the SCG and Gabba cannot name more than about 3 players.

NRL needs to get more of those types of fans.

T-Boon

of course it is low success, thats the point. It shouldnt be easy.

but a 7-point lead locks up a game. We need a way beyond that and the NFL already have the answer
I think NFL 2-point play percentage is about 50%. They use them chasing down a big lead.

Wouldn't it be better if the NRLs was similar to that rather than maybe like a 5% chance so they get used chasing down big leads rather than the specific scenario you are talking about?

Reflector

And the storm will keep growing. The bears will carve a solid following over time which will mean the afl will never be able to come on top of nrl ratings again.
I could see the Bears becoming one of the bigger teams (support-wise) in the NRL. They'll have the W.A based fans (obviously) but also the traditional Bears fans in NSW and also the Qld Bears contingent who hopped on board during the 80's and 90's. The fact the Bears have feeder clubs in both those states will further strengthen their support. Apart from games in Melbourne and NZ, I reckon they'll draw solid numbers at all other away games.

King hit

I could see the Bears becoming one of the bigger teams (support-wise) in the NRL. They'll have the W.A based fans (obviously) but also the traditional Bears fans in NSW and also the Qld Bears contingent who hopped on board during the 80's and 90's. The fact the Bears have feeder clubs in both those states will further strengthen their support. Apart from games in Melbourne and NZ, I reckon they'll draw solid numbers at all other away games.
I’m going to head over to Perth and see a Bears game in 2027. My dad was a casual Norths fan I would’ve been a Norths supporter if they never got f**ked over.

Also would really like to go to Perth again. I really enjoyed Western Australia when I went there back in 2016.

Senor M

I think one of the tests should be how many players a fan/member can name. I think it is a thing in Sydney and Brisbane that maybe 80% of the fans at the SCG and Gabba cannot name more than about 3 players.

NRL needs to get more of those types of fans.

You mean like the fans that sat at AAMI Park a few weeks ago and keep cheering for Billy Slater….

Wb1234

LEAGUE-MAD VICS
Rugby league is alive and well in Melbourne. With the AFL done for 2025, Victoria’s No.1 newspaper the Herald Sun has been all over the NRL grand final.
On Friday the paper ran six pages on Storm, including a photo of Harry Grant on the front page.
TV ratings are also going gangbusters south of the border, up 95 per cent compared to last year during the NRL finals.

chunk

When you look at the game closely, there is no other sport in the world, that encompasses so much athletic ability, toughness and skill.

Nothing subjective about this, I think you could prove this from an objective approach.

Hopefully, the non converted are starting to see this.

Gobsmacked

When you look at the game closely, there is no other sport in the world, that encompasses so much athletic ability, toughness and skill.

Nothing subjective about this, I think you could prove this from an objective approach.

Hopefully, the non converted are starting to see this.
That's what is happening I believe. Very true.
Even the most staunch AFL fan that watched last night would be admitting that this game is something! The speed, the skill, the strength, the endurance, the power, the characters, the drama, the nail bitting finishes!
Greatest game of all!