Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Joey BJ Leilua appreciation thread

Dave_

Yeah, I think a lot of people have jumped the gun in turning on BJ. Sure he can throw up a dumb play or two but how rubbish has the rest of the team been all year? You can hardly blame him for trying something different, the spine throws up the same tired old inept crap and the forwards are weak as piss so what do you want him to do, play like the rest of the boring bunch of overrated/overpaid plodders?

We're sitting on the bottom of the ladder and until our natural attack based side are given the licence to thrill we're staying there.

The team's playing style is fu#ked, not Leilua's playing style. Every game is just zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz....................

TeamSatan

We all have had those days when we should have stayed in bed.

Yesterday was BJ 's turn.

Hope he goes into beast mode and scores plenty from next week.

Zoidberg

If he does anything but fire next week he should be dropped for the following game. Give him 1 game to make up for it.

Dave_

If he does anything but fire next week he should be dropped for the following game. Give him 1 game to make up for it.

If BJ has another poor game and gets dropped something is clearly wrong in our team. Boyd, Aku and Gidley play terribly in EVERY game and they get congratulated by Wayne for their "strong efforts".

We just have zero creativity and its no wonder a player like BJ is getting frustrated and so should we fans. It's an absolute waste of talent when you have Gagai, Leilua and co not getting quality ball or room to move, when they do get the footy it's one out grunt work up the guts that our pea hearted forwards should be loving.

Roberts has alot to do with our failing attack and our centre's lack of form. Have a look how many plays break down with this "great prospect", he lacks vision in a major way and his role in the side must change immediately with all organising left to Mullen. He has his strengths but I'm not sure they're suited to halfback.

As soon as the pressure to make something out of nothing is released, we'll see BJ back to his best and unfortunately this is out of his control.

Knight Vision

If BJ has another poor game and gets dropped something is clearly wrong in our team. Boyd, Aku and Gidley play terribly in EVERY game and they get congratulated by Wayne for their "strong efforts".

We just have zero creativity and its no wonder a player like BJ is getting frustrated and so should we fans. It's an absolute waste of talent when you have Gagai, Leilua and co not getting quality ball or room to move, when they do get the footy it's one out grunt work up the guts that our pea hearted forwards should be loving.

Roberts has alot to do with our failing attack and our centre's lack of form. Have a look how many plays break down with this "great prospect", he lacks vision in a major way and his role in the side must change immediately with all organising left to Mullen. He has his strengths but I'm not sure they're suited to halfback.

As soon as the pressure to make something out of nothing is released, we'll see BJ back to his best and unfortunately this is out of his control.

"even the Supercoach that he is, looks to be struggling with adapting his side to the way the game is being played in 2014. Some people say that tactically he?s not as advanced as other coaches and those question marks will linger while the Knights continue to lose"

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/noddys-weekend-wash-up-wayne-bennett-struggling-to-keep-up-with-modern-nrl-says-brett-kimmorley/story-fnlt03ir-1226913689019

Leilua does not deserve to be dropped. You cannot use the fact we are struggling and that we needed a win desperately as criteria to drop a bloke after one bad game. Turn it up. If we were 6 wins and 2 losses we wouldn't even be having this discussion. I do fear Mullen might be slipping into his old ways again even if only a little.

I do fear Mullen might be slipping into his old ways again even if only a little.
Mullen will never find consistency without a pack laying a platform for him and a team around him that isn't dropping the ball on the second tackle every second set. No half can find consistency with that going on around them. The reason why he looks like he's slipping back to his old ways is because those around him are doing the same shit they were back then.

I feel bad for Mullen for re-signing with us, to be honest. It looks like he's destined to waste his career propping our shit team up rather than prospering elsewhere.

Noname36

Joey is playing frustrated like the rest of the backs seem to be. Mullo seems to think that the lack of go forward is causing them strife and if all the backs are feeling that way I can understand why they're playing frustrated and doing stupid things to try and get a result. Joey's pass through the legs and pass in the in goal on the weekend reeked of someone that felt the need to try too hard to make things happen.

He has a lot of stupid in his game, and always has to be honest. He just went full genius on the weekend

The some of the qualities that make him a dumb footballer also make him dangerous, though.

Noname36

Yeah he's always had a lot of derp but it seems to get worse when he's under pressure and frustrated.

I want him to keep those things in his game too, but I want him to use them when it's appropriate and he's not going to directly gift the opposition 2 tries.

Bring it home Knights

How quickly the tables turn. It makes me wonder if emotion is overriding logic and he's being used as a scape goat. He was absolutely killing it at the start of the season, however a few below par games and he now needs to be dropped lol. Who are we going to replace him with out of curiosity?

Noname36

How quickly the tables turn. It makes me wonder if emotion is overriding logic and he's being used as a scape goat. He was absolutely killing it at the start of the season, however a few below par games and he now needs to be dropped lol. Who are we going to replace him with out of curiosity?

It's hilarious the calls people make when angry and upset. All of our other backs should be dropped before him.

Joker's Wild

Tahu was one of the calls made by a nuff nuff on the FB page. Is Timana even playing still? lol

Chook

I wouldn't swap him for any other centre. Especially when you consider he's only going to get better. The only player who can stop him is himself.

:lol: If he made a fist he'd drop it.

You guys are starting to realise why we got rid of him.

Chook.

Joker's Wild

:lol: If he made a fist he'd drop it.

You guys are starting to realise why we got rid of him.

Chook.

His hands havent been his issue here at Newy mate, its been his brain and even then the extent of his failures have been overstated. He is still a quality centre

Knight Vision

His hands havent been his issue here at Newy mate, its been his brain and even then the extent of his failures have been overstated. He is still a quality centre
And he's only going to get better. Imagine our back line full of confidence behind a big mobile pack