Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Las Vegas Thread

Wb1234

Just on fan bases:
Leeds, St's, HKR, HFC. They are the 4 other clubs with the biggest fan bases currently.
Then it would be Leigh, Wakey, Catalans, Cas
Then Hudds and Salford

In terms of quality on the field you'd be looking at St's, HKR, Catalans
then Leeds, Leigh and HFC
then wakey, cas and Hudds
Salford you wouldnt even consider

So the 4 best options for fan base and giving us a good game: St's, HKR, Catalans or Leeds/HFC (if their current form stays)
Wigan v Warrington would’ve got 11 to 15k in England

They didn’t take a dud match over there

Super league doesn’t have the depth to send over poor quality matches the standard is already average

Wigan v Warrington would’ve got 11 to 15k in England

They didn’t take a dud match over there

Super league doesn’t have the depth to send over poor quality matches the standard is already average
It'll be interesting to know what the $ ROI for Wigan was. They gave up a lot of revenue, and had a lot of costs. I wonder what the value to them in real terms is?

RedVee

So, take Warrington and Wigan out as they did it this year.
Who are the next logical “big clubs” to take? St Helens & Leeds ?
Any other candidates?

RedVee

Just on fan bases:
Leeds, St's, HKR, HFC. They are the 4 other clubs with the biggest fan bases currently.
Then it would be Leigh, Wakey, Catalans, Cas
Then Hudds and Salford

In terms of quality on the field you'd be looking at St's, HKR, Catalans
then Leeds, Leigh and HFC
then wakey, cas and Hudds
Salford you wouldnt even consider

So the 4 best options for fan base and giving us a good game: St's, HKR, Catalans or Leeds/HFC (if their current form stays)

So, take Warrington and Wigan out as they did it this year.
Who are the next logical “big clubs” to take? St Helens & Leeds ?
Any other candidates?
You beat me to it

Wb1234

It'll be interesting to know what the $ ROI for Wigan was. They gave up a lot of revenue, and had a lot of costs. I wonder what the value to them in real terms is?
Nrl would’ve paid whoever the home team was just like they do the Aussie clubs who give up a home game

And in terms of promoting the brand and getting new sponsors on board I’m sure the benefits were massive

ash the bash

I think you save the big derby games for regular season. Playing Titans V Broncos or Tigers V Eels in Vegas takes a sellout or near sellout crowd away from one of those teams and would have a minimal impact on the Vegas crowd.
I understand where you are coming from.

However I reckon its part of the attraction playing the big games at Vegas to make more fans travel. Just as the Bulldogs/Dragons are doing for next year. The Titans I don't think would take a lot while the Broncos will take a lot. Tigers V Eels same principal as Dragons/Dogs big Sydney derby in Vegas.

I think as this grows potential earning for SL clubs will grow. A Hull derby, imagine the atmosphere. I hope they do it in 2027 cause thats when I plan to go back :) Up the Robins.

The Bandana has one last go - why he is so triggered would make a good psychological case study

He says in the article above the response to his piece about the Vegas venture was "overwhelming" yet I noted at the time there was no comments section attached to the article in the paper, certainly not the on-line version what am I missing ?

Yes but you`re right, triggered he is, I don`t think it`s complicated, I`ve met people like him plenty of times before, probably at one stage in his life when he was younger and more idealistic he had, what he thought, was a great love for the working classes and their struggles, with age he has realised they don`t and never will fit in with his so-called ideals, end result disdain and disdain for everything they believe in or follow. Rugby League is part of that. Makes it doubly worse that League has got the jump on his cherished game of rugger.

Warrimoo3

He says in the article above the response to his piece about the Vegas venture was "overwhelming" yet I noted at the time there was no comments section attached to the article in the paper, certainly not the on-line version what am I missing ?

Yes but you`re right, triggered he is, I don`t think it`s complicated, I`ve met people like him plenty of times before, probably at one stage in his life when he was younger and more idealistic he had, what he thought, was a great love for the working classes and their struggles, with age he has realised they don`t and never will fit in with his so-called ideals, end result disdain and disdain for everything they believe in or follow. Rugby League is part of that. Makes it doubly worse that League has got the jump on his cherished game of rugger.
I used to listen to the Ray Hadley breakfast show on the way to work(I know,I know). I remember when Ray reported on his show that Peter FitzSimons was seen shopping at Lowes. No big deal you’d think. But it was for Peter. According to Ray, FitzSimons threatened to sue . That just made Ray more determined to mention it all the time. To paraphrase Forrest Gump : ”That’s all I have to say about Peter FitzSimons”. Oh, I forget to mention he went to one of the richest and most exclusive private schools in Australia. A true champion of the left.

Wb1234

Channel 7 has reportedly turned its attention towards its own NRL mid-week show as a first step in a potential path towards the NRL broadcast rights.

Code Sports reports Seven has begun planning its own mid-week panel show to be broadcast on a Monday night or Tuesday night this year.

That move would potentially put Seven’s NRL experiment in direct competition with Nine’s 100% Footy, which stars Phil Gould and Paul Gallen.

As reported by leading NRL journalist Phil Rothfield, the proposed show will run for eight weeks during the 2025 NRL season.

The show would run during the State of Origin series, which begins with Game 1 on May 28.

Code Sports reports the show will be screened on 7Mate and 7Plus before being played on delay on Seven’s main channel.

If it proves successful, the show may return before the 2025 NRL finals series and would be a weekly show throughout the 2026 NRL season.

It would be another significant shake-up of the NRL broadcast landscape with Seven only just putting the finishing touches on its AFL transformation.

Seven in 2024 launched one of the footy media industry’s biggest shake-ups when it beefed up its mid-week coverage ahead of future AFL broadcast rights negotiations.

Now Seven appear to be doing the same in the NRL world.

The Daily Telegraph reports Channel 7 director of sport Chris Jones was a special guest of rugby league supremo Peter V’landys during the NRL’s Las Vegas season-opening weekend.

The Sydney Morning Herald reports SEN radio media mogul Craig Hutchison was also a guest of V’landys.

Jones told Code Spots: “Travelling to Las Vegas was a great experience.

“We learnt a lot and harbour ambitions to have a stronger NRL voice moving forward.”

The NRL’s TV broadcast rights expire at the end of the 2027 season.

According to reports, NRL administrators were open to the prospect of selling State of Origin rights as a separate package to the NRL season.

Seven will have time to prove its legitimacy as a threat to Nine in the bidding war that is sure to unfold in coming years.

According to Rothfield, Seven has already begun its talent search with Broncos great Corey Parker and Bulldogs cult figure Willie Mason under consideration.

Former Broncos star-turned successful podcaster Denan Kemp, the brains behind the popular ‘Bloke in a Bar’ series, is also reportedly on the list.

While Fox League and its mid-week shows, including NRL 360, are dominant with rugby league fanatics, Nine has had almost no competition in the free-to-air market.

Seven has had a hot-and-cold history of rugby league content production with the popular Matty Johns Show among its most ambitious attempts to tackle Channel 9.

The Matty Johns Show, which was axed in 2011, featured several big-name rugby league personalities including Shane Webcke and Mason.

Seven has not been shy in recruiting the biggest stars in football media.

Jones last year went on a head-hunting spree after being promoted as the top dog of Seven’s sport content.

His promotion triggered Seven’s aggressive decision to add more than a handful of new panel shows with some of the biggest media stars in football, including Kane Cornes, moving to the network.“

Gobsmacked

Channel 7 has reportedly turned its attention towards its own NRL mid-week show as a first step in a potential path towards the NRL broadcast rights.

Code Sports reports Seven has begun planning its own mid-week panel show to be broadcast on a Monday night or Tuesday night this year.

That move would potentially put Seven’s NRL experiment in direct competition with Nine’s 100% Footy, which stars Phil Gould and Paul Gallen.

As reported by leading NRL journalist Phil Rothfield, the proposed show will run for eight weeks during the 2025 NRL season.

The show would run during the State of Origin series, which begins with Game 1 on May 28.

Code Sports reports the show will be screened on 7Mate and 7Plus before being played on delay on Seven’s main channel.

If it proves successful, the show may return before the 2025 NRL finals series and would be a weekly show throughout the 2026 NRL season.

It would be another significant shake-up of the NRL broadcast landscape with Seven only just putting the finishing touches on its AFL transformation.

Seven in 2024 launched one of the footy media industry’s biggest shake-ups when it beefed up its mid-week coverage ahead of future AFL broadcast rights negotiations.

Now Seven appear to be doing the same in the NRL world.

The Daily Telegraph reports Channel 7 director of sport Chris Jones was a special guest of rugby league supremo Peter V’landys during the NRL’s Las Vegas season-opening weekend.

The Sydney Morning Herald reports SEN radio media mogul Craig Hutchison was also a guest of V’landys.

Jones told Code Spots: “Travelling to Las Vegas was a great experience.

“We learnt a lot and harbour ambitions to have a stronger NRL voice moving forward.”

The NRL’s TV broadcast rights expire at the end of the 2027 season.

According to reports, NRL administrators were open to the prospect of selling State of Origin rights as a separate package to the NRL season.

Seven will have time to prove its legitimacy as a threat to Nine in the bidding war that is sure to unfold in coming years.

According to Rothfield, Seven has already begun its talent search with Broncos great Corey Parker and Bulldogs cult figure Willie Mason under consideration.

Former Broncos star-turned successful podcaster Denan Kemp, the brains behind the popular ‘Bloke in a Bar’ series, is also reportedly on the list.

While Fox League and its mid-week shows, including NRL 360, are dominant with rugby league fanatics, Nine has had almost no competition in the free-to-air market.

Seven has had a hot-and-cold history of rugby league content production with the popular Matty Johns Show among its most ambitious attempts to tackle Channel 9.

The Matty Johns Show, which was axed in 2011, featured several big-name rugby league personalities including Shane Webcke and Mason.

Seven has not been shy in recruiting the biggest stars in football media.

Jones last year went on a head-hunting spree after being promoted as the top dog of Seven’s sport content.

His promotion triggered Seven’s aggressive decision to add more than a handful of new panel shows with some of the biggest media stars in football, including Kane Cornes, moving to the network.“
It's going to be hard to be better than Gus...
Maybe if they can find.. any bloke off the street? Lmao

Warrimoo3

Names for the pilot haven’t been finalised. One that keeps bobbing up is “21 Schooners with Kenty “. Up against his old employee. The irony would be delicious. And Ricky would have a regular guest spot.