Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The League Lounge (on Fox Sports)

supercharger

How did the 2011 ratings for 'NRL on Fox' & 'The League Lounge' stack up against AFL360, On the Couch, AFL insider, TheWinners, AFL Teams, After The Bounce?
After looking through some of the pay tv ratings from last season it appears that NRL on fox had viewership between 60-90k (couldn't see the League lounge)
While on the couch viewership ranged between 90-130k (strangely outrating some afl games) while shows like afl teams afl 360 and after the bounce were in the 60-90k range
http://www.tvtonight.com.au/category/ratings/page/7

nohope

There is also "One Week at a Time" on One HD...which I actually don't mind, it's a bit like the Sunday footy show except on a Monday and they do go over the teams in the next round. Going off memory it's on at 8:30pm as they talk about the game that just finished towards the end of the show.

There was one really bad part to the show and that was Warren Smith, that guy is so biased and blows his own horn all day. NRL on FOX is a million times better with Ryan Phelan.

This^^

I'd have watched the show more often if that prick wasn't on it. Ryan Phelan is far superior.

That "comedian" who was on there was cringeworthy with his top 5 list or whatever it was.

the one with Moore, Blocker and Caine on Thursdays

i think ten axed their AFL one week at a time too

One Week At A Time wasn't in the best time slot competing with RL fans who had pay who would be watching the post match show after MNF

Chip Bayless

A land where Warren Smith is labelled a hack - I'm in heaven!

Warren Smith is all about Warren Smith. A self righteous, condescending know it all who attempts to take legends of the game to task. I applauded Fox Sports for removing him from NRL on FOX. Phelan knows his role, knows he isn't the star of the show or there to attempt to try and counter EVERY POINT former NRL stars and legends make.

As for the League Lounge being punted, I am disappointed. It showed the game in another light and if Warren Smith wasn't hosting, it would've been better received. I think it had potential to offer an alternate in terms of rugby league programming. Not everyone's cup of tea though on a Sunday night, it was a good end to the weekend more often than not.

eozsmiles

I always thought they should have put this show on 830pm wednesday night, straight after NRL On Fox. The footy fans who only like the hardcore gibber from Phelan and co about who is in and out can watch that and then the fans who like a bit of light hearted gibber can hang around for Renee Gartner. There are fans out there who would like those informal interviews with players heaps more than the usual "We are taking it one week at a time..." crap on all the other footy shows. Some footy fans either don't know or don't care much about the actual footy. Every footy show and news show say pretty much the same thing all week except for The League Lounge so it's a bit of a shame it's gone.

One Week At A Time wasn't in the best time slot competing with RL fans who had pay who would be watching the post match show after MNF

Yeah bad timing, Tuesdays wouldve been better, but mind you the host was pretty ordinary I reckon.

Still preferred Andrew Moore, Steve Roach and Joel Caine.

Yeah bad timing, Tuesdays wouldve been better, but mind you the host was pretty ordinary I reckon.

Still preferred Andrew Moore, Steve Roach and Joel Caine.

but Ten had an AFL version they also showed on Mondays in that time slot. pretty sure it was canned too