Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The New Centre of Excellence

DanOz

Our new training facility to be based out of Carnes Hill near Liverpool. A step in the right direction moving out of the outdated 2nd rate facilities at Concord. The club is finally starting to make some good decisions

Tigers Tale

Good to hear DanOz but I'd never be so quick to use plural when referring to decisions with this club at the moment. They may have made a good decision with this training facility but they haven't made too many good decisionS lately. :roll:

magpie4ever

C'mon Concord Oval is 2nd rate because it has been allowed to be 2nd rate.

Question: if the gym, rehab facilities etc were upgraded, what is wrong with Concord Oval? The playing field is 1st rate.

I believe if they do not use LO anymore, why not a few games per year at Concord.

apparently it can seat 20,000 spectators.

That's good enough, give it a tidy up, revert its name back to St Luke's so that it can be an old Magpies home ground to appease the few nutters on that side, and make it a permanent home venue.

LO and Campbo can bugger off.

Just need an official Wests Tigers Leagues Club nearby then. Wests Ashfield is a bit far to walk to

Tigerted

Concord oval would logistically be an ideal location to play a few games @ each yr & to be based at.Unfortunately it's not going to happen.

I think it's stretching it to think that " the club is finally starting to make some good decisions".This clubs nonsensical decision making is the reason we continue to regress & y we are in this horrendous predicament.

I'm cutting this board a little slack but don't hold much optimism for our future due to the moronic comments the chairwoman has spouted recently.Go & the rest of board are displaying an embarrassing lack of common sense & much pessimism & denial up to this point.

magpie4ever

That's good enough, give it a tidy up, revert its name back to St Luke's so that it can be an old Magpies home ground to appease the few nutters on that side, and make it a permanent home venue.

Just need an official Wests Tigers Leagues Club nearby then. Wests Ashfield is a bit far to walk to

That's the spirit, but maybe change the mascot to a magpie;-)

Use to be a bowlos at the cnr of Queen St and Burwood Rd, top of St Luke Park - redevelop and call Wests Football Club's club.

Lets not be too silly.

The cklub needs an official Wests Tigers Leagues Club. Not Balmain and not Magpies.

This club is now old enough to forge its own legacy. That is the only way it can truly move forward.

Leave the bickering twats at Balmain and Magpies to have their squabbles over petty shit in the carpark, while the Wests Tigers gets down to being a legitimate team that actually exists.

Ron's_Mate

Concord Oval games ??? Why? It's a shit ground and we have no history there.

A ground and a Leagues Club at Liverpool? Why not - at least there's plenty of pokie players in that region.

We have used 747 home grounds in 16 years,Wests Tigers has f**k all history at any ground.

May as well find a neutral venue and stick with it, stop using the other venues.

Tigers Tale

Lets not be too silly.

The cklub needs an official Wests Tigers Leagues Club. Not Balmain and not Magpies.

This club is now old enough to forge its own legacy. That is the only way it can truly move forward.

Leave the bickering twats at Balmain and Magpies to have their squabbles over petty shit in the carpark, while the Wests Tigers gets down to being a legitimate team that actually exists.

Here here!!!

magpie4ever

Massive asian community around Burwood/Concord - love their pokies.

Some possible great news and weve all reverted back to the 70/80's????????
Lets play Concord...LOL...jesus

It is for training....

No need for 20k stands..

There will be a field with posts, courts, a pool, a gym.

You know things players train with.

In the middle of Balmain and Campbeltown...well close, not in either.

Lets not be too silly.

Let them fight to the death, the winners are executed.

Great news regarding the Centre of Excellence, good for the club to finally get out of the medieval training facilities.

macnaz

When the f**k was it ever called St Lukes ?? Are you suggesting Concord should add another St Lukes Oval to the one up the road ?
edit.. So you have done a wiki search and it was on the Site of what was St Lukes 90 odd years ago and used a few years by Western Suburbs. Wiki also States it was opened as Concord Oval in 1985 , thats 100% BS by the way , i was attending the ground as Concord Oval at least 10 years prior to that ... wow im showing my age lol.

magpie4ever

When the f**k was it ever called St Lukes ?? Are you suggesting Concord should add another St Lukes Oval to the one up the road ?
edit.. So you have done a wiki search and it was on the Site of what was St Lukes 90 odd years ago and used a few years by Western Suburbs. Wiki also States it was opened as Concord Oval in 1985 , thats 100% BS by the way , i was attending the ground as Concord Oval at least 10 years prior to that ... wow im showing my age lol.

As a kid I can remember all A grade Wests junior league games were played there on a Sunday. About 5 or 6 games every sunday, the old man and his mates would go and get blind - they use to sell piss at the ground. Remember pubs weren't open on Sundays, at the time. Was called Concord than. Geez, Concord and Burwood hated each other, now it is a shame due to changing demograhics they amalgamated.

Why not Concord, it holds 20,000 easy, two great grandstands. If you need a pool, the bludgers can jog to Cabarita or Ashfield.

Well I can certainly remember Concord Oval and the Rugby World Cup in the 80's. Just looked it up and it was 87. Great atmosphere because of the packed ground.

The NSW Waratahs had Concord as its home ground and I recall the corporate boxes were ok for its time and but was prior to Super Rugby.

Spending some dollars on that would be a cheaper option if it was the club that had to spend, if they go with the new option our west, surely they will just be the major tenant and not expected to put in big dollars.

I'm an historian. That whole area was known as St Luke's.

Some of the grounds back then were massive parks.