Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The NRL ad.....doesnt really work for me

Simo

Ok ive seen the NRL ad a few times now and have been waiting for it to grow on me.....but it hasnt. Being a keen video editor I see who technically tricky it is and thats great but it does nothing to get me excited and want go and tackle someone.

Last years Origin ad for melb where they did a similar thing worked but they are getting carried away with video trickery as opposed to something that makes the hairs stand up on your neck and get you all pumped for some footy.

Hope next years is better and actually gets played earlier.....and also include some international and Origin stuff - maybe even some old footage to celebrate 100 years and the world cup.

The Preacher

Simo said:
Ok ive seen the NRL ad a few times now and have been waiting for it to grow on me.....but it hasnt. Being a keen video editor I see who technically tricky it is and thats great but it does nothing to get me excited and want go and tackle someone.

Last years Origin ad for melb where they did a similar thing worked but they are getting carried away with video trickery as opposed to something that makes the hairs stand up on your neck and get you all pumped for some footy.

Hope next years is better and actually gets played earlier.....and also include some international and Origin stuff - maybe even some old footage to celebrate 100 years and the world cup.

I wonder if The Dragons were watching the add before last Monday's game ?? :-k

Simo

fair enough....out of curiosity does anyone know where you can view it online, I would like to check out how they did something.

it beats the hell out of the last few seasons offerings..

"thats my team" has to go though... disgraceful.

macavity

you can see my mrs in the Knights bit... the tall blonde up the back.

the finished product is a bit disappointing tbh.

This Year?

I don't like the ad either. Surely the marketing department could think up of something better. If I wasn't a RL fan, it wouldn't entice me to go to a game.

yosh64

perverse said:
it beats the hell out of the last few seasons offerings..

"thats my team" has to go though... disgraceful.

Its ok. The idea was to show how local the game is so that people can associate their team as part of their area. The whole thats my team (thats my team in my suburb is supposed to give a sense of tribalism and localism, that although we are a bug sporting comp we still havent forgotten about our roots and our community).

Thats my team has been brilliant. Its supposed to give a sense of being a part of the team, that you somehow help the team be successful. Thats the basis of the slogan.

The NRL has come to realise just how important the community is to the success of the comp. Hence the community one initiative and all the community work players do, charity work and local clinics.

yosh64 said:
Its ok. The idea was to show how local the game is so that people can associate their team as part of their area. The whole thats my team (thats my team in my suburb is supposed to give a sense of tribalism and localism, that although we are a bug sporting comp we still havent forgotten about our roots and our community).

Thats my team has been brilliant. Its supposed to give a sense of being a part of the team, that you somehow help the team be successful. Thats the basis of the slogan.

The NRL has come to realise just how important the community is to the success of the comp. Hence the community one initiative and all the community work players do, charity work and local clinics.
totally fair point - and i agree the tribalism and passion has totally been lost from league. doesn't make me like the campaign anymore though.

good idea, poorly executed imho.

simon says

The add leaves me cold.

I wanna add where after it I wanna bite the head off a frozen chook.

The current one is clever.......but no psych value IMO.

simon says

While Im at it......Id like to see more about the fans.

The highs,the lows,the passion,the outfits.

I reckon that would make a great ad....give it a biblical feel, the holy church of Sunday footy,where all the peeps worship.

Simo

simon says said:
The add leaves me cold.

I wanna add where after it I wanna bite the head off a frozen chook.

The current one is clever.......but no psych value IMO.

Exactly what I was trying to say and I agree totally.

phonetic

I think the ad looks cheap. The grass that appears under the player's feet looks tacky.

They should have kept to the origin style ad. Sure, have them running through landmarks, but don't get too fancy with it,

shaggy

simon says said:
While Im at it......Id like to see more about the fans.

The highs,the lows,the passion,the outfits.

I reckon that would make a great ad....give it a biblical feel, the holy church of Sunday footy,where all the peeps worship.

rugby league as a religion perfect