Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The "PLEASE Brian, sign a halfback" Thread

Jono078

Kicking game sh*ts me the most about our team, and a lot in the NRL tbh. No team uses it effectively enough.

I reckon the in goal grubber is seriously under used, if you can weigh it well enough and put in a great chase you are very decent chance of getting a goal line drop out or stopping the team in their own 10m line. But every seems to be cross kick happy and let it go 50/50, but more often than not the attacking team will knock it on.

Apey

I agree ^^ Nobody seems to try and build some pressure nowadays, and if they do build some, luck plays its part. You see a lot of teams just go straight for the points instead of building to something.

BG

Unfortunately the guy we originally targeted to partner Mullo this year behaved like he has a Tomato between his ears.

Bring it home Knights

Mullens strengths when it comes to kicking is his clearling kicks. He has a long boot on him and he is good at finding the grass when he does so. As was mentioned earlier, his kicks into the in goal need some work. I think his cross field kicks offer a lot of promise, however I'm of the opinion that our outside backs are pretty poor at capitalising on the good cross field kick.

Alex28

To be honest Shane - I'd take Sherwin over Dureau and Rogers. Heck I'd take Shane Perry too. That is how average our options are...

mozza91

Off that list I'd take only Smith,Finch and maybe Hunt over Dureau.
We can win a comp with this team imo Mullen and Gidley doing the playmaking and Dureau can do most of the kicking

Big Tim

There is no one worth chasing on that list.

As a half, you are in a sellers market. Many teams need a half, but there arent enough to go around. If we want to sign an established half we will need to pay overs.

Whats Doing

With 5 hours to go before the transfer deadline, I would take a punt and sign Brad Davis who would come for peanuts. Played some good footy when Prince was injured last year. He is tough as nails, good kicking game, is not a speed hump and makes minimal errors. Whilst he doesn't possess pace which is his drawback, it would allow Mullo to move to 5/8 and reduces the adverse impacts that Dureau and Rogers brings to the table.

Contact Tweed Heads

voltron

imo all team who win the comp have one weakness in the 1,6,7,9
2008 - manly - ballin, who is alright but not great
2007 - storm - inglis, not a 5/8th although he had his best game in that position in that grand final
2006 - broncos - perry....
2005 - tigers - well....not much to say there tbh, the rest of the team isnt that strong though, they won it through the surrender tackle technique
2004 - doggies - hughs, i dont rate him as a hooker
yeah thats as far as my memory goes

but as long as three of the four as really strong, then we CAN still win the comp
but wateva, we stick with dureau or get a new one, wateva, just so long as we trade UP

reginald.p

Why didn't we try to sign Brett Finch or Brett Kimmorley, they are both Newcastle juniors and i would of loved to see them playing for us again this year.

Alex28

Only on this forum would someone rate Inglis as a "weakness".

6 - Inglis
7 - Mullen

I'd take that over what we have in a heartbeat.

League_God

Kicking game sh*ts me the most about our team, and a lot in the NRL tbh. No team uses it effectively enough.

I reckon the in goal grubber is seriously under used, if you can weigh it well enough and put in a great chase you are very decent chance of getting a goal line drop out or stopping the team in their own 10m line. But every seems to be cross kick happy and let it go 50/50, but more often than not the attacking team will knock it on.
exactly! i think teams should use the grubber more often and keep the pressure and eventually points will come through the hands (which is both more entertaining and safer) it will also wear teams down which results in more points. lol

voltron

Only on this forum would someone rate Inglis as a "weakness".

6 - Inglis
7 - Mullen

I'd take that over what we have in a heartbeat.

please
no one rated inglis at 5/8th
he was ok
but no where near his potential and ability.
if we had inglis at 5/8th
id still rather look for a halfback and move inglis to the centres

evil_p091280

Dunno about anyone on that list, seoiusly not one of them is CONSIDERABLY better then Dureau. Like I will admit Dureau hasnt been up to scratch lately but none of them is the solution imo.

Don't know what games you guys watch, but Dureau is way better than Mullen.

Let's look at things for a minute. Dureau is on, Knights playing well, winning games, etc... he gets hurt and the Knights score 6 points in over 160 mins of footy...

Karmawave

Don't know what games you guys watch, but Dureau is way better than Mullen.

Let's look at things for a minute. Dureau is on, Knights playing well, winning games, etc... he gets hurt and the Knights score 6 points in over 160 mins of footy...

Is it April 1st or July 1st? :lol:

I must have missed Dureau coming on in the 2nd half the other day when the Knights scored scored 19 unanswered points?

Our highest score of the year - 38 points - and he wasn't in the halves either.

Things must be bad if we are relying on the attacking weaponry of Dureau to score points.

But now, Dureau is better than Mullen?

The Smokey

That list was only for halfbacks coming off contract at the end of the year that i know about. Considering their are two clubs that are chasing a halfback for next year like the Warriors and the Tigers that would take maybe Brett Finch and Tim Smith or Matt Head there does'nt leave much left that are better than Dureau at this time just good backups. The only ones on that list who could exceed Dureau in the future are Ben Hunt or maybe Liam Foran. So either way we would be in the same position we are in now. End of 2010 however... Heaps more options for Halfback which i think we will pounce then. On the other forum talk of Piri Weepu who is off contract from Rugby in 2010 and has a Marvin Karawana connection. (Could be a possible option)

evil_p091280

Is it April 1st or July 1st? :lol:

I must have missed Dureau coming on in the 2nd half the other day when the Knights scored scored 19 unanswered points?

Our highest score of the year - 38 points - and he wasn't in the halves either.

Things must be bad if we are relying on the attacking weaponry of Dureau to score points.

But now, Dureau is better than Mullen?

Look at it this way. Dureau on v Eels, they are winning 12-6 (i think it was). He gets hurt. They lose all direction and manage 6 more points and they lose.

They then score 0 vs the Warriors and then score 6 points in first half against Souths.

So 12 points in over 160 mins of footy. Not to mention, Eels, Warriors and Souths are not exactly awesome defence teams.

As for the 38 point game, yeah, they were good in that game. But was against the Roosters...

I still maintain Dureau is better than Mullen, he just doesnt get talked up as much by Ch 9 and Foxsports.

On another note, Dureau has been involved in 9 Knights games this year for 7 wins and 2 losses, and 1 of those losses they were winning before he hurt himself, v Eels.

it's weird... but it's always been the case apparently. dureau is just a winner. i'm interested to see how he comes back after his injury, as rogers has gone back to rocks instead of diamonds of late.

the key to dureaus winning statistics this year are simply that he allows mullen to go to 5/8th. as a team, we function better that way. he also offers another genuine kicking game to the team, which makes a massive difference. look, i don't know how much more scotty has to give than what we've already seen... but i'm not sure that we really need any more than what he can provide. his ability to boss the team around and call the shots is something that doesn't come naturally to mullen either.

i love what rogers can provide when he's firing too, though. i just don't know if he's worth carrying as a liability for the moments that he does break a game open... because mullen is similar in game breaking qualities... but without nearly as many barry crockers in him.

i would love to sign a top line halfback. would i like to lose some of our squad as a result? no. do i think there are better options that would come at the same or lesser price than dureau? definitely not.