Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Problem

westie

Was it coincidence or did it actually come down to Marshall feeling more comfortable with his little mate there? It certainly wasn't because Moltzen was feeding him the ball or anything - he played almost solely as a runner and Lui was far more involved than he is these days.

Besides, the thing I liked most about Marshall back then was his individual temperament. He was calm, effective and simply just chose the right options. Check out the Parra game. Masterful performance off his own bat.

What's going on that he's now playing wild, frustrated footy and not fitting in with the rest of the side? Should our coach not have got him back into form by now?

westie

and the team was at it's lowest ebb

Haven't we all just said that was the time our attack actually looked like the one we know? Of course, there were some defensive frailties in key positions, and we missed many forwards... but at least our patterns were working and we weren't just relying on Farah to get our arses over the line.

Reek_Havoc

This team needs Moltzen's enthusiam, creativity, speed, hunger. It's infectious. Team was best when he was at 7.

b.bear

i can`t believe i`m reading people pointing the blame at Benji, blame others such as Fitzy and now Beau Ryan.
The BIG PROBLEM is the lack of heart and lack of aggression shown by our forward pack. We were up against a buch of mid thirty year old park footballers last night and they still towelled up our forwards, nothing short of disgracefull. It`s ok to point the finger at Benji, but when does he get the ball on the back of a good set of three or four tackles where our forwards have punched genuine holes in the defence and created a platform for him to work off ??? I`ll give you the answer, not once in the past 5 weeks.
There`s quite a simple reason why this isn`t happening, it`s because very few of our forwards have the heart to run hard, straight and aggressively and put a bit of fear in the defenders nor are they willing to hit hard and often when defending. Opposing forward packs love playing our bunch of softies and have done for the post five seasons.
I`ll start with Chris Heighington, good hard working footballer that every side needs, YES, but if he fair dinkum thinks he`s anywhere near SOO quality he`s kidding himself. If he can`t penetrate the defence when running the ball against the side that Souths fielded last night, then there`s not much hope of him troubling any defence.
Bryce Gibbs really needs to have a good hard look at himself, totally outplayed by three over the hilll park footballers in Jaiman Lowe, Garrett Crossman and Craig Stapleton.
Galloway wasn`t any better early in the game, but after being concussed he obviously got a rocket from the sideline and started running hard like he should be.
Andrew Fifita went ok in limited game time, he needs to not get discouraged when they use him as a decoy. If he keeps running hard onto the ball, he`ll quickly become one of the best props in the game, not too many good ones around at the moment.
Another genius move by our super coach and go into the game with three props and to play another talented young back rower in Simon Dwyer at prop. Dwyer is a super talent and he also went as good as any of our other forwards, but what a waste playing him in tight.
Liam Fulton was a little below par last night, but he did atleast try to run the ball hard, a few of our bigger forwards need to take note.
Gareth Ellis, very average game from Gareth last night as well. I can forgive him for one bad game because it is a rarity, but he needs to lift dramatically if we are to win any more games this season.
Another stroke of genius by our super coach was playing one of our three interchange forwards Mark Flanagan for very minimal game time. I think Flanagan is a reasonable footballer, but he isn`t fitting into the dynamics of our soft forward pack.
I hate to say it, but I don`t think we are any hope of coming out of this slump we are in this season, we need some mongrel in the side, someone off contract like Jeremy Smith would be a good start and i`d be more than willing to offload someone who plays with no mongrel like Heighington if it was necessary to fit him under our cap !!!

weak as...

macnaz

A few points made here i must totally agree on are.
* Lui's defence is the worst in the league.. It really is pathetic and its not his technique, its his f**king heart. Throwing an arm out thinking ppl will be fooled to believe u made an effort is sh*t under 7's do. He is a time waster going backwards.

* Fafita getting softer by the week..... I have noticed he doesnt seem to run with that agression he started with, wether this is coached as stated who knows.

* Moltzen in the side for what ever reason we just play better, He or a purchased player has to be our future half

macnaz

* there is nothing wrong with Heighno , he is our hardest running forward, perhaps it just where he is running. Again a possible coached thing that has him playing the wrong way.
* Galloway .. Fmd big red fire up son, The best game he had was a time i think last year when he had the sh*ts and he killed em with hard hits and hard runs.He was awesome, so i know its in him. Hmm is it coached out?
* B Ryan, usualy a solid player that does his job, never was brilliant but always pretty safe, needs to get back on track, His position in the future is shaky tho because we should be finding a faster, bigger winger

westie

I thought Fifita was better last week. He's running the same as normal, he's just been figured out by opposition as is to be expected. He made more effort, including 2 hit ups in the one set and we didn't lose so much traction when he came on. In the past, he's gone 10 minutes without a hit up and directly cost 3 trys during his short stints on the field.

Borat.

* there is nothing wrong with Heighno , he is our hardest running forward, perhaps it just where he is running. Again a possible coached thing that has him playing the wrong way.
* Galloway .. Fmd big red fire up son, The best game he had was a time i think last year when he had the sh*ts and he killed em with hard hits and hard runs.He was awesome, so i know its in him. Hmm is it coached out?
* B Ryan, usualy a solid player that does his job, never was brilliant but always pretty safe, needs to get back on track, His position in the future is shaky tho because we should be finding a faster, bigger winger

Sheens himself said after we got Ellis back from injury it would allow Hino to run back over the ruck- What a waste.....