Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rabbitohs at the Nines

DiegoNT

For the people who have watched the games, while there a slight differences in opinions on minor things, their posts are a pretty consistent with each other. Then we have to put up with r20 telling us how wrong our opinions are because it's not how he pictured it in his head. That's trolling

I respect your opinion alien as always. Just like you respect mine. We agree a lot too.

We have banter too which is good:lol:

JetRider

Let's be realistic and yes our team was not our strongest, but realistically we were not that good and what was most disappointing was the lack of energy in our team, no exciting new talent and how slow we looked. Cook for mine is going to be a player that can create something and I hope he continues to dart out of dummy half.

Our backs are a worry and if AJ is out for lengthy periods we will lack any real talent beyond Inglis. Unless some young backs step up I think we will rely heavily on our forwards which I fear will mean a long season for us. I will hold off on my final judgement pending our trials, let's hope we are building and the nines are not indicative of what we can produce, which obviously with Inglis, Sam and Adam will add a significant amount to our potential. This team is reliant on strong team work as we have few individual world beaters, if they play as a unit and defend strongly anything is possible.

alien

in regards to that trial game against the titans on the gold coast, they are streaming that live on the rabbitohs website, aren't they???

alien

i know the rabbitohs are allowed to, so i hope they do..

National Rugby League Reverses Course, Will Allow Clubs To Stream Trial Games
Rugby league fans are about to receive a "surprise February footy fix" after the National Rugby League performed a "pre-season backflip and now allowed clubs to stream trial games," according to Christian Nicolussi of the Sydney DAILY TELEGRAPH. Several clubs had approached the NRL about streaming trials "so they could showcase their big off-season recruits to the ever-growing digital audience." NRL Head of Football Todd Greenberg wrote to the clubs in a Dec. 15 letter, saying that they would not "be allowed stream trials because Channel Nine had exclusive rights" to broadcast pre-season matches, "irrespective of whether it does in fact choose to broadcast the pre-season matches." But in a second letter sent last week, Greenberg advised the clubs the NRL had struck a deal with Nine, and "obtained its consent to allow pre-season matches to be streamed by clubs through their websites, should your club wish to do so." Greenberg added the clubs "could only show trials via their websites, would have to pay for their own production costs," but the trials would "remain the property of the NRL, and be available for use by the NRL"

http://www.sportsbusinessdaily.com/Global/Issues/2016/01/26/Media/NRL-Streaming.aspx

yeah we agree on some things and disagree on other things. it's all good

Reyno and Keary will go well I reckon. Sam helping the forwards out will make a big difference compared to last season.

If the forwards go forward more Reyno and Keary can do their magic.

If Turner gets injured again Grevs will start in the back row.

We need some offloads too alien. Sam, Grevs, Sutto and Cook need to be given a license to do so.

in regards to that trial game against the titans on the gold coast, they are streaming that live on the rabbitohs website, aren't they???

I hope so.

I don't usually have luck with these kind of things.

Actually damn, is t on a Sat night against Titans????

I'm working that night if it is so I will take your judgement from the match alien.

Let's be realistic and yes our team was not our strongest, but realistically we were not that good and what was most disappointing was the lack of energy in our team, no exciting new talent and how slow we looked. Cook for mine is going to be a player that can create something and I hope he continues to dart out of dummy half.

Our backs are a worry and if AJ is out for lengthy periods we will lack any real talent beyond Inglis. Unless some young backs step up I think we will rely heavily on our forwards which I fear will mean a long season for us. I will hold off on my final judgement pending our trials, let's hope we are building and the nines are not indicative of what we can produce, which obviously with Inglis, Sam and Adam will add a significant amount to our potential. This team is reliant on strong team work as we have few individual world beaters, if they play as a unit and defend strongly anything is possible.

You make good points.

Some players showed energy though.

Auva'a will go well in the season. He's just getting the cobwebs out.

Yes, expect more bash and barge.

We need offloads though.

hurricane57

Good post.

I agree with all you said. I would add, it's early in the season but Souths still looked extremely slow. Sutton was slow, Clarke, although beefed up in the off season, did his usual, looked for the defense to get tackled by, McInnes was so slow and predictable I could run rings round him and I'm nearly sixty,

I liked Cook.

In short, disappointing but, its only the 9s, the Charity Shield will be an acid test, not only of the players but of McGuire and his choice of direction for the team.

The recruitment that Souths sort tells me, unfortunately, that McGuire intended another twelve months of bash and barge,

Oh well.

Good post.

I agree with all you said. I would add, it's early in the season but Souths still looked extremely slow. Sutton was slow, Clarke, although beefed up in the off season, did his usual, looked for the defense to get tackled by, McInnes was so slow and predictable I could run rings round him and I'm nearly sixty,

I liked Cook.

In short, disappointing but, its only the 9s, the Charity Shield will be an acid test, not only of the players but of McGuire and his choice of direction for the team.

The recruitment that Souths sort tells me, unfortunately, that McGuire intended another twelve months of bash and barge,

Oh well.

I respect your thoughts mate.

Some good points you make.

Yeah Hurri expect more bash and barge.

Charity Shield will give us a good look.

JetRider

R20 yes you are right re some players showing energy, although the ones you would have thought would by jumping out of their skin to impress were quite lethargic. I like Auava so I hope that he finds good form, he is the type of centre that needs someone creative to put him in a scoring position, he can run into holes well. I thought our best players overall were Clark, Cook, McInnes, Goodwin, they for mine were the only ones to stand out consistently. Burgess was hot and cold and needs to develop an offload as a man that big needs to punch holes in defence and put through a speedy cook into the clear.