Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Road to the Finals

sup42

I'm looking at it as one win three to go.

That would put us in top four.

That would fuel us to stay top six range

Blair

I'm looking at it as one win three to go.

That would put us in top four.

That would fuel us to stay top six range

I'm liking your optimism backed by good, reasoned, in-depth analysis.

What's your background in League? You seem pretty clued up.

sup42

I'm liking your optimism backed by good, reasoned, in-depth analysis.

What's your background in League? You seem pretty clued up.

My league backgrounds humble , arm chair know it all. The dream ended for me in the late eighties with a ten minute appearance off the bench for School boys NSW trials. Got a trial for the Sydney Swans AFL side that was interesting , wasn't for me.

Followed my brothers shot with Manly under 18's he crapped out too, the old man still lives in Manly and supports that club. Been trying to support the younger generation in the family get somewhere with the footy now, a couple of them look like they might make it.

Blair

My league backgrounds humble , arm chair know it all. The dream ended for me in the late eighties with a ten minute appearance off the bench for School boys NSW trials. Got a trial for the Sydney Swans AFL side that was interesting , wasn't for me.

Followed my brothers shot with Manly under 18's he crapped out too, the old man still lives in Manly and supports that club. Been trying to support the younger generation in the family get somewhere with the footy now, a couple of them look like they might make it.

Interesting.

I lived on the Northern Beaches from 1998 to 2006. My brother's still over there.

I only got carried away once with Manly. I think it was 2003, they needed to beat St George at the SFS to stay alive, and Beaver scored at the death.

I worked at Brookvale for a long stretch during this time (Event Staff) and got to see heaps of games. Saw Hoppa's implosion versus Cronulla, also Penrith win by about 60, plus plenty of positives for Manly.

Izz

If we pull off a win against the Rabbits next week and a few other results go our way we might actually move a couple places up the ladder.

sup42

Well it's official. Since McFadden took over, on paper we're the team with the best percentages in the NRL.

Most points score, 2nd least points conceded ( I got that one off the Fox build up team for tonights Souths / Drags game ).

Pity that doesn't give you a win over the Dogs after two starts against them and the loss to the Dragons in McFaddens tenure.

Still, keep that up and the Warriors will eventually mow half the table down and go smashing into the finals.

Stick to the coaches work lads. The top eight will take care of itself with those averages.

SpaceMonkey

One thing in our favour is we have a better +/- than at least four teams above us on the ladder. So if we keep winning, we start to overhaul them quickly.

vvvrulz

12th on the ladder looks bad, but we're playing a lot of the guys who are sitting on 14 points.
With a solid for/against and a favourable draw coming up we should leapfrog plenty of them.

sup42

One thing in our favour is we have a better +/- than at least four teams above us on the ladder. So if we keep winning, we start to overhaul them quickly.
Yes.

In real terms the Warriors are sitting in 8th place right now if all bye points are paid out across the Ladder....the Cowboys are as high as Fourth in true terms.

Beat the Rabittohs and we stay in the true top eight....while on paper when you check the ladder we will appear as low as 9th or even 10th if the Storm beat the Roosters this weekend.

During the Bye weekend the table will be amended.

After beating those rabbits....irrespective of what happens with other results , we go 7th or 8th at worst.....finally the Warriors symbol will appear in the top eight on the official ladder.

Win against the Broncos and the minimum guaranteed progress irrespective of other results is 7th.

This is where the table gets crazy...twilight zone......

If the Warriors went on a streak of Six to match last years run from here, they would be in second place.

That's nuts....last year we won six to end up where we are now....outside the eight knocking on the door.

Dogs Of War

Hope that happens!

I did it in response to a mate putting on Parra vs Tigers @ $1000 a unit and asking if I wanted a share of it. I said I would pick something a little more realistic and just chucked $10 on it. Love watching the Warriors play. Both Dogs and Warriors play a little differently to other teams which is good to watch.

JJ

it's a long season...

last year the top 4 were obviously better than the rest - this year Newcastle, Canberra, the Dragons and Cronulla have separated themselves at the other end...

We're looking solid atm, if we keep going like this top 4-6 is possible, and we can hold our own with anyone

MKEB...

I did it in response to a mate putting on Parra vs Tigers @ $1000 a unit and asking if I wanted a share of it. I said I would pick something a little more realistic and just chucked $10 on it. Love watching the Warriors play. Both Dogs and Warriors play a little differently to other teams which is good to watch.

Even Before Elliott got punted to touch?

sup42

Interesting.

I lived on the Northern Beaches from 1998 to 2006. My brother's still over there.

I only got carried away once with Manly. I think it was 2003, they needed to beat St George at the SFS to stay alive, and Beaver scored at the death.

I worked at Brookvale for a long stretch during this time (Event Staff) and got to see heaps of games. Saw Hoppa's implosion versus Cronulla, also Penrith win by about 60, plus plenty of positives for Manly.
Gee I remember that Game where Menzies scored....added to his own legend...( saw it on telly here , haven't lived in Aus for more than twenty years ).

Are you still involved in the game mate ? or spectating like me....coaching the Warriors from the Lazyboy

Blair

Gee I remember that Game where Menzies scored....added to his own legend...( saw it on telly here , haven't lived in Aus for more than twenty years ).

Are you still involved in the game mate ? or spectating like me....coaching the Warriors from the Lazyboy

I give all my time and effort to local cricket here in Katoomba.

The local league side are a strong outfit but it's still a pity I don't have time for that as well. I do go to their games though, at home.

I'd love to watch the Warriors here at home but don't have Fox. I do love nothing better though than a Warriors game on Saturday night at home on the radio.

Any other time at it's across the road to the RSL. I'm really pissed off with the draw, how many times did we play in Sydney? And that would be that Cronulla disaster, right?

Penrith at Penrith is the only one here now. We've even lost our traditional mid-year game v Easts at the SFS.

So you would have lived in Manly during the heyday of the 80s/90s? Bob Fulton and Graham Lowe, Cliff Lyons and Ian Roberts...?