Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Roar's take on things

BLM01

I lost my dear Mum early Monday morning , however to take my mind of the heartbreak I have now logged into the forum only to realized that I have am about to lose one of the other things that have brought joy into my life - that of course being the demise of my beloved St.George Illawarra Dragons . :cry:
Yep, Condolences Mr Widdop. Sorry as I said before cant resist with your name cause that is the 1st person that springs to mind.
Tough time for you and family. Hope the next week etc goes as well as can be.
Dont even worry about those Dragons. Everyone else on here will keep trying to steer em in the right direction in your absence if needed.!

Dea

I lost my dear Mum early Monday morning , however to take my mind of the heartbreak I have now logged into the forum only to realized that I have am about to lose one of the other things that have brought joy into my life - that of course being the demise of my beloved St.George Illawarra Dragons . :cry:

Sorry to hear this Gareth. Condolences and prayers for you at this time.

getsmarty

Sorry to hear the sad news about your mum Gareth. Your in our thoughts and prayers.

All the best man sorry for your loss

Says what we all think (and have known for years). The incompetence and stupidity of the St George Illawarra board is breathtaking beyond belief. 7 years of unforgivable waste since Bennett left and no end in sight. Appalling.
Management of SGI know what they are doing. They are acting on their priorities and priority one is related to self interest. Mary, Millward, Craig Young, Bob Millward, Brian Johnston and Peter Doust are all in it for themselves and not the best interest of SGI. They all should be ashamed of themselves and their behaviour but are not concerned at all.

It's a mess and we need a cleanout to rectify matters.

Dragsters

Sorry for your loss Gareth.

Losing your mum, from experience is pretty tough.

I hope you have the support you need mate...

merahputih

My condolences Gareth. Happens to us all eventually but I know it doesn't make it any easier. I hope by some miracle things pick up for our team to ease your sorrow.

Dragonsamy

I lost my dear Mum early Monday morning , however to take my mind of the heartbreak I have now logged into the forum only to realized that I am about to lose one of the other things that have brought happiness into my life - that of course being the demise of my beloved St.George Illawarra Dragons . :cry:

So sorry for you loss Gareth.
All the best mate. Just remember the good time mate.

Dragonsteve2

I lost my dear Mum early Monday morning , however to take my mind of the heartbreak I have now logged into the forum only to realized that I am about to lose one of the other things that have brought happiness into my life - that of course being the demise of my beloved St.George Illawarra Dragons . :cry:

Like all of us here, Gareth, who value your contribution, I would like to add my condolences. I guess your news makes us all realise that as fanatical as we are there are more important things in life than footy.

But support of a club often runs in a family. My Dad played rugby with St. George and lived to get out to the SCG during the Dragons' glory days while I played cricket with them. My Mum lived about 70 of her 90 years in the St. George district. While she didn't attend games she used to watch the Dragons on TV with me. She used to celebrate victories with me and would do her best to console me after losses.

She died early on a Sunday morning, July 2006. I had already bought tickets for my family for a game vs Souths at Jubilee. We decided Mum would have wanted us to go and thankfully the Dragons turned it on that day!

Like all of us here, Gareth, who value your contribution, I would like to add my condolences. I guess your news makes us all realise that as fanatical as we are there are more important things in life than footy.

But support of a club often runs in a family. My Dad played rugby with St. George and lived to get out to the SCG during the Dragons' glory days while I played cricket with them. My Mum lived about 70 of her 90 years in the St. George district. While she didn't attend games she used to watch the Dragons on TV with me. She used to celebrate victories with me and would do her best to console me after losses.

She died early on a Sunday morning, July 2006. I had already bought tickets for my family for a game vs Souths at Jubilee. We decided Mum would have wanted us to go and thankfully the Dragons turned it on that day!

There are certainly some close bonds in your family Dragonsteve 2 knitted by the St.George club in one sport or another .

My mum would call St.George “ the George’s “ the old chook could not quite grasp the significance of the word Saint before George , however ever so similar to your own mum she would attempt to lighten the loss by saying
“ well there’s not much you can do about the result now , so you may as well go outside and mow the yard “ a kind but also a practical woman . :relaxed: