Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

I dont know why but everyone thinks that we need Hunt so Deardon can learn off him.
Flanagan leading the way too justadragon. Is he wearing blinkers, unable to see what negativity the disloyal sook is bringing to this club, seeing how his last five years has not handed us one final. We had favoritism and nepotism from our last coach, seems we have the same with our new one. I for one wont put up with this.

JohnnoMcJohnno

mate, some of the people in here just make stuff up, its really tiring reading the histrionics at times. Even comments like we are the only club not signing people. LOL go through other clubs and besides the dogs not many other clubs have made many moves.

Flanagan has also knocked back a number of players who wanted to come
Thing is though, you wouldn't expect better performing clubs to make a lot of signings. They've gone OK this year, they just need to tweak their roster a bit. But you would expect teams that failed to look at making changes. Dogs decided their roster wasn't good enough and have been buying big. Tigers identified the halves as a problem and bought Sullivan and Sezer. Dragons know they're skinny on front rowers, five-eights and fullbacks and have done bugger-all about it.

It's not histrionics. It's looking at the roster and seeing it's not very different to this year, and possibly it's worse.

Parko1310

Thing is though, you wouldn't expect better performing clubs to make a lot of signings. They've gone OK this year, they just need to tweak their roster a bit. But you would expect teams that failed to look at making changes. Dogs decided their roster wasn't good enough and have been buying big. Tigers identified the halves as a problem and bought Sullivan and Sezer. Dragons know they're skinny on front rowers, five-eights and fullbacks and have done bugger-all about it.

It's not histrionics. It's looking at the roster and seeing it's not very different to this year, and possibly it's worse.
To some extent I get that, but do we really want to be signing players for 2024 without a contract? For example, Brandon Wakeham type players? They're awful so why would we bother? As Flanno has stated, they don't have a contract for a reason. They're either shit, have terrible attitudes, or more likely both.

Tigers: The jury is out on Sullivan, he may lose his place in grade this year, and is even more likely to do so down the track if they land Luai. Latu Fainu should and most likely will be their future, so if they get Jarome, where does that leave Sullivan? I don't think he's suddenly going to take off and shoot the lights out, especially at a club like the Tigers.

Dogs: Decided their roster wasn't good enough and bought a centre to play fullback on huge money, a drug cheat who hasn't played in years, and a bunch of second grade utilities. Taafe is one of the most overrated players I've seen from some comments on this forum. He is awful. Hutchison can barely run. Turpin is ass. Mann is okay but not going to turn their fortunes in any sense. Salmon was no more than serviceable at times in the best team of the modern era. They still have no game changing half, no proven fullback, a soft pack of middles, and average outside backs. They're not a threat next year and have just tied some of these guys up on multi-year deals.

My concern for us is not next year, I'm not expecting a great year, our roster is shit for 2024 and that can't be blamed on Flanno given by the time he was hired almost all quality was off the open market. Sele in my opinion was an astute pickup, aside from that, the market had dried up completely. I'm looking for clear improvement in the way we play next year, significant improvement. My concern for us is this: Who Flanagan wants to bring in for 2025 is exactly the right players for our squad, but what happens if he doesn't get them? What is Plan B/the alternative? Our club is such a shit show from management level and has the perception of being a shit show. If we can not land all/at the very least most of AFB, Dearden, Luki, plus a decent fullback and another decent half for 2025 then I will become very concerned. There's already some red flags being waved for me that we might not land any of these guys. Given they're the right players, where to next? Why should we have to always go for Plan B because management couldn't get Plan A done? So IF it turns out to be the case we don't get the right players yet again I'll be extremely demoralised. But this notion of not having anyone of note come in 2024 is not that much of a concern for me because you have to be realistic in looking at the situation. What front rowers, fullbacks and 5/8's on the current market would you like to sign for 2024? Because I don't see anyone that adds anything. Management f**ked us for next year, again.

Auntie.Gerald

the funny thing is that maybe between BMM, Bird, Russell and Ryan Couchman Flanno thinks he has the left second row covered. Right side and middle backrow he is happy.

Flanno has said what he wants ie elite level 3 spots.......... prop, FB, 5/8 half

he is not willing to compromise. Flanno wants elite so he truly changes the teams ability to compete with the top teams

Phantom V

Flanagan leading the way too justadragon. Is he wearing blinkers, unable to see what negativity the disloyal sook is bringing to this club, seeing how his last five years has not handed us one final. We had favoritism and nepotism from our last coach, seems we have the same with our new one. I for one wont put up with this.
I think Flannigan’s predicament is the old damned if you do damned if you don’t scenario regarding Hunt. Whenever he talks him up I cringe but I’d like to think that he’s just biding his time until he can get a better option. Let’s face it, in spite of what we think of our captain we need him until we can find a decent replacement.

Parko1310

the funny thing is that maybe between BMM, Bird, Russell and Ryan Couchman Flanno thinks he has the left second row covered. Right side and middle backrow he is happy.

Flanno has said what he wants ie elite level 3 spots.......... prop, FB, 5/8 half

he is not willing to compromise. Flanno wants elite so he truly changes the teams ability to compete with the top teams
Would like to see Ryan Couchman start the season at left second row. Think he'll do a great job. Obviously he's young and might need a rest at some stage but Russell and Eisenhuth can cover the spot adequately for 2-3 weeks if we need to rotate.

Phantom V

To some extent I get that, but do we really want to be signing players for 2024 without a contract? For example, Brandon Wakeham type players? They're awful so why would we bother? As Flanno has stated, they don't have a contract for a reason. They're either shit, have terrible attitudes, or more likely both.

Tigers: The jury is out on Sullivan, he may lose his place in grade this year, and is even more likely to do so down the track if they land Luai. Latu Fainu should and most likely will be their future, so if they get Jarome, where does that leave Sullivan? I don't think he's suddenly going to take off and shoot the lights out, especially at a club like the Tigers.

Dogs: Decided their roster wasn't good enough and bought a centre to play fullback on huge money, a drug cheat who hasn't played in years, and a bunch of second grade utilities. Taafe is one of the most overrated players I've seen from some comments on this forum. He is awful. Hutchison can barely run. Turpin is ass. Mann is okay but not going to turn their fortunes in any sense. Salmon was no more than serviceable at times in the best team of the modern era. They still have no game changing half, no proven fullback, a soft pack of middles, and average outside backs. They're not a threat next year and have just tied some of these guys up on multi-year deals.

My concern for us is not next year, I'm not expecting a great year, our roster is shit for 2024 and that can't be blamed on Flanno given by the time he was hired almost all quality was off the open market. Sele in my opinion was an astute pickup, aside from that, the market had dried up completely. I'm looking for clear improvement in the way we play next year, significant improvement. My concern for us is this: Who Flanagan wants to bring in for 2025 is exactly the right players for our squad, but what happens if he doesn't get them? What is Plan B/the alternative? Our club is such a shit show from management level and has the perception of being a shit show. If we can not land all/at the very least most of AFB, Dearden, Luki, plus a decent fullback and another decent half for 2025 then I will become very concerned. There's already some red flags being waved for me that we might not land any of these guys. Given they're the right players, where to next? Why should we have to always go for Plan B because management couldn't get Plan A done? So IF it turns out to be the case we don't get the right players yet again I'll be extremely demoralised. But this notion of not having anyone of note come in 2024 is not that much of a concern for me because you have to be realistic in looking at the situation. What front rowers, fullbacks and 5/8's on the current market would you like to sign for 2024? Because I don't see anyone that adds anything. Management f**ked us for next year, again.
Like I’ve said before, we need our players to talk up the joint next year at every opportunity including our bloody captain and hopefully the perception of other players will change.
You can’t work for a company and go around telling all your competitors how shit it is to work there and then expect the same people to want a job when there’s a vacancy.

Would like to see Ryan Couchman start the season at left second row. Think he'll do a great job. Obviously he's young and might need a rest at some stage but Russell and Eisenhuth can cover the spot adequately for 2-3 weeks if we need to rotate.
Also in one of the club updates (cannot remember exactly who said it, but think it was Flanagan), it was mentioned that both of the Couchman brothers have gained around 4kgs each in the off season.
Not sure if Flanagan sees either or both as more edge or middle forwards at this early stage of their careers.

Dragon David

You are right on the money there Parko ol' chap.

Parko1310

Also in one of the club updates (cannot remember exactly who said it, but think it was Flanagan), it was mentioned that both of the Couchman brothers have gained around 4kgs each in the off season.
Not sure if Flanagan sees either or both as more edge or middle forwards at this early stage of their careers.
They've been training Ryan as an edge 100%. I think they might be making Toby into a middle though. New interview with Kyle Flanagan on Dragons site where he specifically points those two out as well in a really positive way.

Dragon David

Has Eisenhuth been confirmed yet Parko?

Auntie.Gerald

They were 98kg at 19yrs of age and now just 20................if they have popped on 4kg that is a great effort at their age their type of build. These guys dont bend easy in tackles. They find the lines well to move forward post contact. Their work ethic in defence is very active.

I like them but i must they are sort in between a middle and a backrower at our first look at them.

Will be interesting to follow their development

Neither Tracey or Fonua- Blake available for 2024. So what's your point?
Well, I have no doubt that Hasler will get his man. The only problem is under what terms. Previously, we wanted a swap with one of their forwards, now if we can get AFB for 2024, maybe just a termination of Hunt's contract will do, as it frees up the salary cap to sign AFB.

I just don't like the idea and the Titans are going to get their target free of any freight.

ground zero

Well, I have no doubt that Hasler will get his man. The only problem is under what terms. Previously, we wanted a swap with one of their forwards, now if we can get AFB for 2024, maybe just a termination of Hunt's contract will do, as it frees up the salary cap to sign AFB.

I just don't like the idea and the Titans are going to get their target free of any freight.
Titans getting F all 4 nothing. Hasler a little Bitch.

hewi

No nepo baby love for Kyle Flanagan at Dragons​

Adrian Proszenko

By Adrian Proszenko

November 24, 2023 — 3.52pm
Save

Normal text sizeALarger text sizeAVery large text sizeA

There was once a time when Kyle Flanagan wouldn’t have responded well to news that his club was chasing a marquee man to play in his position.
The fact his father is behind the decision probably wouldn’t have sat well with him either. Yet rather than feeling threatened by the prospect of further competition for a first-grade spot, Flanagan welcomes the prospect of not having to be the main man after arriving at St George Illawarra.

Play Video
https://archive.md/FFXGA/again?url=...yle-flanagan-at-dragons-20231124-p5emiq.html#

Family health scare that rocked Bulldog

Play video
2:11

Family health scare that rocked Bulldog​

Bulldogs star Toby Sexton has opened up on the emotional moment he learned his dad was fighting for his life
In joining the Red V, Flanagan will reunite with his coach and father Shane at NRL level for the first time since 2018. Flanagan senior has insisted upon Ben Hunt remaining at the club, while also declaring an interest in signing Cowboys playmaker Tom Dearden.
“When I was probably coming into first grade, when I was 19 or 20, I was probably thinking ‘What’s going on here, I don’t want this,’” Flanagan said.

“But I’m at a stage in my career where I want these players to come to our club and fighting for spots. You want to be part of good footy teams. I’m open to anything like that.”
After making his debut under his father at Cronulla, the 25-year-old will rejoin him after troubled stints at the Roosters and Bulldogs. No longer is he burdened with the pressure of being the team’s main man.
“Yeah, I definitely feel the weight off my shoulders,” he said. “It’s not about me here at the Dragons, I’m just looking to play my role at the club. And wherever I fit in, I fit in …
St George Illawarra Dragons player Kyle Flanagan.

St George Illawarra Dragons player Kyle Flanagan.CREDIT: JANIE BARRETT, SMH
“It’s hard to explain, but it definitely feels so refreshing coming to the Dragons and I’m just going to play my role. I’m at a stage in my career now where I’m not too fussed about where I turn up, how many games I play or whatever it is, I just want to be happy. Go home and be happy with my family and enjoy stuff like that. Maybe it’s me getting a bit older in my life.”

Flanagan admits he’s not quite sure where he fits into the Dragons line-up. Hunt will wear the No.7 jersey, while there’s a cloud over his halves partner given that playmaker Talatau Amone will be sentenced next month after being found guilty over a hammer attack on a roofing contractor.
Flanagan can play at halfback, five-eighth and even hooker after spending time at dummy-half during his final season at Canterbury. He is also an option as a bench utility.
“I’m at a stage now in my career where I’m not too fussed about what position I play. I want good players in my team,” he said.
“If I’m playing off the bench or I’m not even playing, I’m not too fussed. I just want to be part of a good organisation and a good footy team that’s winning games. That’s the most important thing, is being happy and winning football games.”
While there has been ongoing speculation about Hunt’s future, Flanagan wants him to stay put.

“I think it’s crucial,” he said. “He’s the captain, he’s the halfback of the club. He is our best player, our representative player. I hope he sticks around for plenty of young guys here that could learn off him. Just having him running out on the field in front of you, leading the boys around, it’s invaluable.”
Flanagan said it was beneficial spending a chunk of his career away from his father, but is relishing being back with the premiership-winning mentor.
“When he went through his suspension and I was at another club, I never thought that our paths would cross again,” he said

TruSaint

No nepo baby love for Kyle Flanagan at Dragons​

Adrian Proszenko

By Adrian Proszenko

November 24, 2023 — 3.52pm
Save

Normal text sizeALarger text sizeAVery large text sizeA

There was once a time when Kyle Flanagan wouldn’t have responded well to news that his club was chasing a marquee man to play in his position.
The fact his father is behind the decision probably wouldn’t have sat well with him either. Yet rather than feeling threatened by the prospect of further competition for a first-grade spot, Flanagan welcomes the prospect of not having to be the main man after arriving at St George Illawarra.

Play Video
https://archive.md/FFXGA/again?url=...yle-flanagan-at-dragons-20231124-p5emiq.html#

Play video
2:11

Bulldogs star Toby Sexton has opened up on the emotional moment he learned his dad was fighting for his life
In joining the Red V, Flanagan will reunite with his coach and father Shane at NRL level for the first time since 2018. Flanagan senior has insisted upon Ben Hunt remaining at the club, while also declaring an interest in signing Cowboys playmaker Tom Dearden.
“When I was probably coming into first grade, when I was 19 or 20, I was probably thinking ‘What’s going on here, I don’t want this,’” Flanagan said.

“But I’m at a stage in my career where I want these players to come to our club and fighting for spots. You want to be part of good footy teams. I’m open to anything like that.”
After making his debut under his father at Cronulla, the 25-year-old will rejoin him after troubled stints at the Roosters and Bulldogs. No longer is he burdened with the pressure of being the team’s main man.
“Yeah, I definitely feel the weight off my shoulders,” he said. “It’s not about me here at the Dragons, I’m just looking to play my role at the club. And wherever I fit in, I fit in …
St George Illawarra Dragons player Kyle Flanagan.

St George Illawarra Dragons player Kyle Flanagan.CREDIT: JANIE BARRETT, SMH
“It’s hard to explain, but it definitely feels so refreshing coming to the Dragons and I’m just going to play my role. I’m at a stage in my career now where I’m not too fussed about where I turn up, how many games I play or whatever it is, I just want to be happy. Go home and be happy with my family and enjoy stuff like that. Maybe it’s me getting a bit older in my life.”

Flanagan admits he’s not quite sure where he fits into the Dragons line-up. Hunt will wear the No.7 jersey, while there’s a cloud over his halves partner given that playmaker Talatau Amone will be sentenced next month after being found guilty over a hammer attack on a roofing contractor.
Flanagan can play at halfback, five-eighth and even hooker after spending time at dummy-half during his final season at Canterbury. He is also an option as a bench utility.
“I’m at a stage now in my career where I’m not too fussed about what position I play. I want good players in my team,” he said.
“If I’m playing off the bench or I’m not even playing, I’m not too fussed. I just want to be part of a good organisation and a good footy team that’s winning games. That’s the most important thing, is being happy and winning football games.”
While there has been ongoing speculation about Hunt’s future, Flanagan wants him to stay put.

“I think it’s crucial,” he said. “He’s the captain, he’s the halfback of the club. He is our best player, our representative player. I hope he sticks around for plenty of young guys here that could learn off him. Just having him running out on the field in front of you, leading the boys around, it’s invaluable.”
Flanagan said it was beneficial spending a chunk of his career away from his father, but is relishing being back with the premiership-winning mentor.
“When he went through his suspension and I was at another club, I never thought that our paths would cross again,” he said

I have a feeling this kid may surprise us. It's not just what he is saying ( which may or may not be spin ), but he's at a stage now where its pivotal for his future.

With the right attitude, and fighting for a spot, we may well see a good player here.

justadragon

I have a feeling this kid may surprise us. It's not just what he is saying ( which may or may not be spin ), but he's at a stage now where its pivotal for his future.

With the right attitude, and fighting for a spot, we may well see a good player here.
100% TruSaint, just the attitude we need, give him the captaincy !!!