Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

TheRev

Heard a rumour today that it was actually Nelson & Lomax that were being discussed as a swap deal.. not sure if its still a thing.. I would reckon it was 2025 at the earliest, and I dunno.. we dont have many quality backs as it is... but we do need a big prop..... and Nelson will be 29 in a few weeks... which is still ok he prob has 3yrs left of decent footy.. but he's on the back end and Lomax is only 24.5yrs old.... feel like it suits the storm as he obviously has some coach issues down there.. but maybe it also suits us.. its intriguing anyway..

Nelson definitely will not get the referee leeway for us like he has continually had down south.

qld redvee

Heard a rumour today that it was actually Nelson & Lomax that were being discussed as a swap deal.. not sure if its still a thing.. I would reckon it was 2025 at the earliest, and I dunno.. we dont have many quality backs as it is... but we do need a big prop..... and Nelson will be 29 in a few weeks... which is still ok he prob has 3yrs left of decent footy.. but he's on the back end and Lomax is only 24.5yrs old.... feel like it suits the storm as he obviously has some coach issues down there.. but maybe it also suits us.. its intriguing anyway..

Nelson definitely will not get the referee leeway for us like he has continually had down south.

Rev, your last line rings true about referees. Nelson would have a target on his back if he played for us. But how good would it be to have that size and power in our team

denis preston

Graham signed a 3 year deal with us from 2018 to 2020 to be coached by Mary. Hook didn't start coaching us until 2021. We had one of the worst years under Mary in 2019 coming 15th and Graham was released early by us and he went to St Helens in June 2020 and won the 2020 Super League Grand Final.

If you heard him say that he was lied to then it would have been interesting to hear if the panel asked him what over.
It was Woods who said that the difference in feedback from the Manly coaches was far better than he got from the Dragons.

Jeremy Dragon

The quote from Flanno
If they are going to go to market, we would be interested,” Flanagan told the SMH.

“At the moment I don’t know if they’re going to consider leaving their current clubs. If they are, we will definitely look at it.

Parko1310

Bad timing trying to lure players from strong clubs after that debacle last week. Still they may be enticed by a big package deal and the chance to all play at the one club.
My interpretation was unfortunately there isn't much chance of this happening going on Flano's comments. Basically saying the same sort of things he was saying with Dearden and Manu about how he'd want to talk to them if they wanted to go to market. I mean Taylan is with Black Money. At the very least, he wants to test the market and it doesn't even sound like we're in the conversation. I don't really know how hard it is to pick up the phone to their agents and give them a potential figure. It won't take long to see if they're interested or not. Based on that, you'd have to assume something like this has been done already and there isn't much reason for optimism around this rumour.

Taylan is with Black Money.
That is obtaining money by devious means. Do explain. Seems this family has a conduct problem. Tyrone was sacked over his involvement in a sex tape scandal, Taylan an assault charge. Do we want these guys at our club, already have Luciano Leilua with a similar story. Is Terrell clean?

Mojo

I would think that many of our players who played under Mary's ways of coaching were not that happy. You could see it with Brett Morris's stints during the after match press conferences, same with Gareth Widdop and I suppose James Graham.

With Shane Flanagan though, he will be open and honest with his players and that's the way to maintain the respect that the players should have of their coach.
I reckon BBQ gate was a major turning point for the club - an over-the-top punishment that completely demoralized the team, destroyed any chance of Hook having any influence as a coach, compounded by the fact that he wasn't much of a coach anyway. It's been a long haul back from the rock bottom that was reached at that time.

Parko1310

Please explain? Tyrone was sacked over his involvement in a sex tape scandal, Taylan an assault charge. Do we want these guys at our club, already have Luciano Leilua with a similar story. Is Terrel clean?
Tyrone should be no where near the club, he will not play in the NRL again. Reading between the lines of that article there is no interest in Tyrone. Taylan's charge wasn't anything egregious. Terrell has no prior off field issues.

Black Money is a management agency that only cares about the $$$. Luai switched to them when he came off contract. Taylan has just switched to them as he's come off contract. They basically just look to get the most money they possibly can, and based on form, players will sign with them when they are looking purely for $$$ and not looking to stay at their current club (unless of course that club offers the most money)

Mojo

The Fegais are good size blokes, see how he uses that size in the Bronc try once he steps inside. Showed decent speed too back them. What happened to that. Recall last year Lomax was in the clear and he actually had to wait for Fegai to catch him before he threw him the pass to score.
Not a popular opinion I know but I reckon Feagai is a capable, even talented, player. The shit defence on our edges was a team-wide coaching issue - wrong structures and lack of fitness. The incessant coming in and leaving the line exposed out wide happened on both sides of the field. It left our wingers looking like utter clowns.

redVinme

Don't care about the other two but if we sign Tyrone May that'd probably do me. I can't see how these idiots think continuing to sign players with poor morals and attitude will fix the culture.

We wonder why they can't lift and be consistent, they can't even stay out of trouble with the police let alone play at a high level and adding a f**king like wanker like May will just make it worse.

Not sure if we are secretly trying to sign every player that has assaulted or abused a women in some way but we sure seem to have a type....

TheRev

Someone mentioned Lancaster chimed in at the function re: we dont want players just coming for the money, we want them to come for the jersey.. I mean I love the sentiment.. but thats something a Top 4 team gets to say..

It almost sounds like that line may be related to the Black Money / May camp... both players are off contract this year, so we would have spoken to them already.

"I want to be honest here - my talks are with whoever wants to sign us three brothers'' (Terrell May).

Those are impressive stats. Why has he not played rep.

Parko1310

Don't care about the other two but if we sign Tyrone May that'd probably do me. I can't see how these idiots think continuing to sign players with poor morals and attitude will fix the culture.

We wonder why they can't lift and be consistent, they can't even stay out of trouble with the police let alone play at a high level and adding a f**king like wanker like May will just make it worse.

Not sure if we are secretly trying to sign every player that has assaulted or abused a women in some way but we sure seem to have a type....
I would be shocked if any club signed Tyrone. I would be extremely disappointed in the club if they did this.. but nothing makes me think there is any interest on our behalf for him. Taylan and Terrell are probably another story

TheRev

"I want to be honest here - my talks are with whoever wants to sign us three brothers'' (Terrell May).

Those are impressive stats. Why has he not played rep.
Only a Red V fan could love this face..

1710908404495.png

Terrell May is basicly saying 'if you want me you have to also take my troublesome brothers'. Is this his way as a big brother of protecting them and seeing they stay out of trouble?