Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Old Kogarah Boy 1

All these great posts reminds me why I love this club, and all you great fans and supporters of our Dragons.

All you guys are the Best in the league.

Thank God I was born in Dalcassia street Hurstville where it was a right, duty and honour to be a Saints kid growing up.

For 2019 I have big hopes.

Was it as classy and upmarket as the ABC Driving school house on the corner of Princess Highway and Grey street?

Dad sold ABC driving school that house as well as their previous address up in Montgonary street, Kogarah, opposite the Police station............... ahhh, those were the days.

I can still remember my brother coming back from the newspaper shop down on the corner ( still there today) ......... a SMH newspaper and the new change from pounds to decimal coins in 1967, l think.

Anyway, back to the future ...............Would be really interested to see things happen with Norman.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

OT, you have brought memories of the Taren Point's Skyline drive-in flooding back to me. It used to be such a special treat to go there especially if we had our dinner at the snack bar followed by some play time in the kids' playground. I can still picture the archway of lights that formed the entry to the playground. Then the real excitement took hold as darkness came and we headed back to the car for the movies.

Can also remember visits to the Savoy at Hurstville watching Sean Connery as James Bond and Peter Sellers as Inspector Clouseau in the Pink Panther.

Kids can't do without their phones today but I reckon we were the lucky ones with visits to the drive-in and local cinemas to add genuine excitement to the routine of our daily lives.

Well said, Dragonsteve2.

The old Taren Point drive-in brings back fond memories of the panel van days back in the late 70's, but that is another matter for which l'll leave it there.

(Photos are random from the net )
holden-hd-van-front-side-dusk.jpg

van-nationals-1896.jpg

a84c8808c449f6e777c9d45ff1d6ab91.jpg

Como Connection

This rumour just wont go away.

Before we jump to conclusions, it doesn't mean signing for 2019. It could be with the pending departure of Widdop in 2020, we are being pro-active now and securing him when he becomes off contract at the end of next season. 3 yrs as our 5/8 would be how I read this.
Could also mean Widdop goes now.
CC

ALSGI

OT, you have brought memories of the Taren Point's Skyline drive-in flooding back to me. It used to be such a special treat to go there especially if we had our dinner at the snack bar followed by some play time in the kids' playground. I can still picture the archway of lights that formed the entry to the playground. Then the real excitement took hold as darkness came and we headed back to the car for the movies.

Can also remember visits to the Savoy at Hurstville watching Sean Connery as James Bond and Peter Sellers as Inspector Clouseau in the Pink Panther.

Kids can't do without their phones today but I reckon we were the lucky ones with visits to the drive-in and local cinemas to add genuine excitement to the routine of our daily lives.

Ah, the Taren Point Drive-in brings back great memories. Apart from the films Mum had her her driving lessons from Dad there when it was empty during the day. It was usually on the way to the sand hills at Kurnell. Remember sitting in the back of our new EH station wagon, kangaroo-ing all over the joint. What a sight that would have been. She never drove again until we got an automatic (Powerglide) HR a few years later.

First theatre movie I saw was in Cooma - a Mary Poppins film. We were on a snow holiday and the EH lost a front wheel (it actually fell off) and we were stuck in Cooma.

I used to love Mondays at school, at Carlton South. We got 20 cents every Monday which would buy a pie with sauce, a sunny boy (triangle ice block) and a bag of lollies. The milk bar on JA used to supply the bought lunches which we’d order on a brown paper bag. Heaven.

I thought we were rich back then. I remember Dad getting the new EH filled up at the Esso in Hurstville around the corner from the first St George Building Society and he told the guy to keep the change from a green $2 note.

I also remember the first $50 note I saw was when Dad came home from a big win on the pokies at the Taj. We were so, so rich that night!

I remember going into the city with my mum to cash in the Lan Choo box ends. She certainly had lots to cash in. Can't remember what she got with them though.

Lots of things from the past gone, Choo Choo bars being one of them. Cracker night was always fun and the weeks leading up to it. Smith's chips used to be the best but these days don't compare to the past (change of oil to a 'healthier' type is my guess). The one that is gone that really irks me is G.I. cordial. Loved that stuff. Drank lots of it and it made great ice blocks for those hot summer days! Wish my kids could have tried it.

GI. cordial was tasty and as you said great ice blocks but I was sipping beer about the time that came onto the market Drakon . But cracker night or Empire day as it was known as then was indeed a great time for all , probably because of the half day of school . And those huge bon-fires that we all built lt the night skies for quite some time .

I think half the fun was collecting the branches of trees and accumulated newspapers with just a touch of kerosene to ignite it all in to a ferocious blaze . They were days when being a kid was all about having fun in the fresh air and open spaces of the bush , unlike today’s generation whom seem to have their heads stuck in front of computers and video games , well some of them not all .

Old Kogarah Boy 1

GI. cordial was tasty and as you said great ice blocks but I was sipping beer about the time that came onto the market Drakon . But cracker night or Empire day as it was known as then was indeed a great time for all , probably because of the half day of school . And those huge bon-fires that we all built lt the night skies for quite some time .

I think half the fun was collecting the branches of trees and accumulated newspapers with just a touch of kerosene to ignite it all in to a ferocious blaze . They were days when being a kid was all about having fun in the fresh air and open spaces of the bush
, unlike today’s generation whom seem to have their heads stuck in front of computers and video games , well some of them not all .

Bangers, Crackers & Tom Thumbs in a letterbox and .........................RUN!
Big-Tom-Thumbs-firecrackers-toy-fireworks.jpg_300x300.jpg

3838450031.jpg

Sorry folks for steering off course ......... back to the rumours!

stevedragon

Ah, the Taren Point Drive-in brings back great memories. Apart from the films Mum had her her driving lessons from Dad there when it was empty during the day. It was usually on the way to the sand hills at Kurnell. Remember sitting in the back of our new EH station wagon, kangaroo-ing all over the joint. What a sight that would have been. She never drove again until we got an automatic (Powerglide) HR a few years later.

First theatre movie I saw was in Cooma - a Mary Poppins film. We were on a snow holiday and the EH lost a front wheel (it actually fell off) and we were stuck in Cooma.

I used to love Mondays at school, at Carlton South. We got 20 cents every Monday which would buy a pie with sauce, a sunny boy (triangle ice block) and a bag of lollies. The milk bar on JA used to supply the bought lunches which we’d order on a brown paper bag. Heaven.

I thought we were rich back then. I remember Dad getting the new EH filled up at the Esso in Hurstville around the corner from the first St George Building Society and he told the guy to keep the change from a green $2 note.

I also remember the first $50 note I saw was when Dad came home from a

I think half the fun was collecting the branches of trees and accumulated newspapers with just a touch of kerosene to ignite it all in to a ferocious blaze . They were days when being a kid was all about having fun in the fresh air and open spaces of the bush , unlike today’s generation whom seem to have their heads stuck in front of computers and video games , well some of them not all .

big win on the pokies at the Taj. We were so, so rich that night!

Batman251

Not quite ol mate. Engadine boy. Out in what was the sticks and those “affluent types” called us Westies!

My ol pop built the cinema that was in Engadine, poor ol bugger dropped dead on the stairs outside that joint. My parents and uncle ran it for a while but careers with what was Sydney County Council meant it was all too hard, plus that evil invention “television” meant the patronage didn’t justify the cost. The old joint was sold to a bank “rural at the time I think” now the Comminwealth bank and News agent (I think) sits where the old joint used to be.
Used to drive the Rail Motors between Sutherland and Waterfall/Helensburgh

dragonssamy61

This rumour just wont go away.
5.15pm
Before we jump to conclusions, it doesn't mean signing for 2019. It could be with the pending departure of Widdop in 2020, we are being pro-active now and securing him when he becomes off contract at the end of next season. 3 yrs as our 5/8 would be how I read this.

Dragonslayer
Exactly as you say 3ys from 2020 but that is how it looks