Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Crush

Didn’t the strongest club just lose their best prop, star half and a centre? They’ve lost more than they’ve gained.
As they should lose more than they gain! They are the strongest club.
It shits me that players like Dom Knight leave the knights, who need every bit of him, to go to Roosters who have a talent in every position.
Tigers are getting a couple of players from Penrith (an example of how it should work) but then lose their best props in Papali’i and Stefano to the top teams so they’re back at square one.
The top teams are strong enough to be competitive without taking the best players from the weakest teams.
And yes I know I’m living in fairyland and it’s just how it is.

jak

As they should lose more than they gain! They are the strongest club.
It shits me that players like Dom Knight leave the knights, who need every bit of him, to go to Roosters who have a talent in every position.
Tigers are getting a couple of players from Penrith (an example of how it should work) but then lose their best props in Papali’i and Stefano to the top teams so they’re back at square one.
The top teams are strong enough to be competitive without taking the best players from the weakest teams.
And yes I know I’m living in fairyland and it’s just how it is.
100% agree with you

Might as well break into two comps at this stage. It’s become a bit like the English Premier League where you have your super powers and then the rest are there for making up numbers despite the salary cap in place. In theory the cap should work but it doesn’t.

How much of it is privilege?
How much of it is just being a better run club with more aspiration?
How much of it is a pure rort?

I don’t know, I expect it’s all three but what I do know is we are wasting our time going after any players that those super clubs set their eye on.

This has all been demoralising. Losing Lomax is the icing on the cake.

Bin Chicken

Might as well break into two comps at this stage. It’s become a bit like the English Premier League where you have your super powers and then the rest are there for making up numbers despite the salary cap in place. In theory the cap should work but it doesn’t.

How much of it is privilege?
How much of it is just being a better run club with more aspiration?
How much of it is a pure rort?

I don’t know, I expect it’s all three but what I do know is we are wasting our time going after any players that those super clubs set their eye on.

This has all been demoralising. Losing Lomax is the icing on the cake.
Losing Lomax is a blessing

Parko1310

Whilst its painful and seemingly somewhat unfair how the stronger get stronger and the weaker get weaker in this competition, there is a pretty simple answer and that is get better. The Tigers have no one to blame but themselves for where they are. The Dragons likewise have no one to blame but themselves (the board mainly). It is clear, so clear, what the Dragons need to do. The potential for an absolute powerhouse club is there, and the idiots in charge won't cash in. Just pure incompetence. Millward and Ben Haran need to just get f**ked and go. Same story with Doust and Piggott. You get rid of those 4, you're already well on your way. We then need good people in their positions, but even people who are 20% as capable of someone like Gould for example would shit all over Ben Haran and Ian Millward. Craig Young needs to get out of there too, still meddling in the background the cretin.

Our facilities are terrible, lets face it, and that doesn't help recruitment. They've announced the CoE but nothing happening with that atm. We will be stronger and better once that is up. This is the sort of improvement that is important.

The main point is, stop whining about how unfair it is and get on with being better. Stop sitting on your hands and doing nothing and then complaining when you don't win. The Roosters for example have Politis, the Storm Ponissi, etc, etc. People mean to tell me these clubs aren't just simply better? We have Ben Haran in a high position for gods sake. Its a non-contest. Just do better.

Parko1310

With Stephano going to the Storm, I'd be doing everything possible to get NAS to the Dragons. Him and Saifiti make our forward pack so much more big, strong and powerful. They both give us options in the sense that we can start them, or bench them depending on form, team we're playing, etc. Atm we have no choice but to start Frank Molo for example who is basically just a bench prop. If we can't get NAS then RCG is nothing more than an okay alternative, wouldn't be excited about signing him but wouldn't be against it either. NAS needs to be the priority though. Bringing in NAS, Saifiti, Holmes and Cook makes us a much better outfit and a genuine shot at top 8 footy. We'd probably sit in the 6-10 bracket with those additions as opposed to our current 8-12

TheRev

I can’t help but feel Jack Williams from the sharks who is still off contract would be the gritty fast ball playing middle backrower that Flano likes
o I've heard his name, but never seen him play.. the only thing is he is listed @98kg, and we have a lot of guys in that sphere, including both couchmans which I reckon will be as good as any other ~100kg player (assuming we extend them.. I hate having to add that!), FMolo and Sele also similar body shapes.. JDB is 106kg i.e. a little bit bigger and u can see the way he punches the line a bit harder.

o This is why I think Flanno is specifically mentioning 'big bodies', I think he wants someone 110-120kg, possibly 2 of them... I think he will feel a lot better about the make-up of his pack then..

o For example DSaifiti is listed @121kg, NAS @115kg (surely well over 125 atm), RCG @117kg (also north of that atm), Horsburgh @109kg.

o A few commentators have mentioned that maybe the game is too fast now for big big guys.. and thats the question for Flanno.. esp as NAS/RCG are carrying extra weight.. but.. I think we need atleast 1 big guy regardless.. we will get the big minutes out of the couchies, but we need someone to start the 1st and 2nd halves or perhaps finish out the game.. just a weapon for Flanno to call on.

TheRev

With Stephano going to the Storm, I'd be doing everything possible to get NAS to the Dragons. Him and Saifiti make our forward pack so much more big, strong and powerful. They both give us options in the sense that we can start them, or bench them depending on form, team we're playing, etc. Atm we have no choice but to start Frank Molo for example who is basically just a bench prop. If we can't get NAS then RCG is nothing more than an okay alternative, wouldn't be excited about signing him but wouldn't be against it either. NAS needs to be the priority though. Bringing in NAS, Saifiti, Holmes and Cook makes us a much better outfit and a genuine shot at top 8 footy. We'd probably sit in the 6-10 bracket with those additions as opposed to our current 8-12
Yes I think Flanno is of the same mind, lets just assume both Couchmans stay.. he will likely phase out some of JDB, FMolo+MMolo and Sele over the next 2-1yrs.. as the Couchmans take their spot.. similar weight (probably actually a little bigger) and substancially more stamina and skill and just younger legs.

In regards to getting bigger bodies.. there is an available prop merry-go-round atm... Stefano seems like the first domino that had to fall.. NAS is the 2nd domino, then we get into the RCG's, the Saifitis', the Horburgh's.. options to bring immediate 2025 impact... I suspect that lots of clubs have been speaking with NAS's manager, but noone could have a realistic conversation until the storm were willing to let him go.. assumably now they will be... that is an assumption ofcourse.. but that domino might take another 3-4 weeks to sort out..

Is Campbell - Gillard available. Have him over NAS even tho he is older. Stats tell the story of this pair of 115kg men with NAS showing he no longer has the intent or heart to match his size. So dont let the fact he is with a strong side fool us. On the other hand RCG still has what it takes and is the big bookend this club needs.

blacksafake

Although Flano has alluded to recruiting a

spearhead prop
Strike back
Half

I can’t help but feel Jack Williams from the sharks who is still off contract would be the gritty fast ball playing middle backrower that Flano likes

ie if a few players move on you would think he may a worthy addition?

Birdy - Max F
Lawrie - another experienced value prop
Fafita - Jack Williams
Rava - ?
Egan - ?

If Fafita was on close to $250-$300k pa I would think the Sharks would offer more than $350k ish for Jack Williams

he brings intensity and we are seeing teams that get a roll on in the NRL this year just pile on points

big scores

he is quick off the mark, opportunistic and aggressive

He’s been linked to Souths a couple of times in the past.

blacksafake

Is Campbell - Gillard available. Have him over NAS even tho he is older. Stats tell the story of this pair of 115kg men with NAS showing he no longer has the intent or heart to match his size. So dont let the fact he is with a strong side fool us. On the other hand RCG still has what it takes and is the big bookend this club needs.
RCG looks overweight,unfit & slow these days

Auntie.Gerald

I just want more impact players, gritty players to rebuild our list

scott
Costigan
Smith

these controlled the ruck / edge with sting and smarts

I think we should expect more given our best is not nearly at the level of the best teams in the comp.

the defence and ruck work by the best teams is dangerous and too hard to control for the bottom 8 teams.

we need more impact and smarts through the ruck and when defending it we are mediocre

yes we have 3 spots

big prop
Class back
Half

but as we have all reviewed we may have another 4-5 spots extra Bird, Fafita, Lawrie, Rava etc

we need some serious zing around our ruck and we need for rd 1 , 2025

no waiting.

Jack William is a tough bugger and a serious 2yr contract would give us another ruck specialist. 115 NRL games experience.

Plays well above his 98kg Jack Williams but most importantly is really good in and around the ruck like a Victor Radley - both sides of the ruck

worth watching

I just went and found a 2023 video of his work through the ruck

he also hits hard

I just think players off the bench that can work the ruck area for quick play of the balls are gems to have in your 17. He is the guy in the pack that u want to play with.

TheRev

As for RCG, hes not on the market officially like all the others are.. but I think its just bluddy messy with their roster.. if the Eels get rid of him they need a prop in his place.. and they dont know how much money they are going to get for him yet.. they will be paying some of it.. the whole is thing is so messy... the eels do atleast have 1 spot in their top30 and some cash freed up, now that blaize is gone though.