Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Como Connection

Roy Orbison played at St George Leagues back in the day? What year would that have been? Could hardly imagine this given the state of it now. Would be lucky to get a Roy impersonator there now.

I have heard St George Leagues club was actually a "hot" night spot back in the 60s. Very difficult for us younger folk to imagine.
About mid 80's.
CC

RedV Resurgence

Current Top 30

1. Clint Gutherson
2. Tyrell Sloan
3. Valentine Holmes
4. Moses Suli
5. Kyle Flanagan
6. Francis Molo
7. Damien Cook
8. Luciano Leilua
9. Jaydn Su’a
10. Jack De Belin
11. Jacob Liddle
12. Hame Sele
13. Raymond Faitala Mariner
14. Loko Tonga Pasifiki
15. Dylan Egan
16. Hamish Stewart
17. Finau Latu
18. Toby Couchman
19. Ryan Couchman
20. Villiami Fifita
21. Michael Molo
22. Christian Tuipulotu
23. Corey Allan
24. Mathew Feagai
25. Sione Finau
26. Blake Lawrie
27. Mikaele Ravalawa
DEVELOPMENT
1. Corey Ackers
2. Nathan Lawson
So you reckon F. Molo should start in the number 6? JDB failed but sure why not. 😀

BigRedVee

Current Top 30

1. Clint Gutherson
2. Tyrell Sloan
3. Valentine Holmes
4. Moses Suli
5. Kyle Flanagan
6. Francis Molo
7. Damien Cook
8. Luciano Leilua
9. Jaydn Su’a
10. Jack De Belin
11. Jacob Liddle
12. Hame Sele
13. Raymond Faitala Mariner
14. Loko Tonga Pasifiki
15. Dylan Egan
16. Hamish Stewart
17. Finau Latu
18. Toby Couchman
19. Ryan Couchman
20. Villiami Fifita
21. Michael Molo
22. Christian Tuipulotu
23. Corey Allan
24. Mathew Feagai
25. Sione Finau
26. Blake Lawrie
27. Mikaele Ravalawa
DEVELOPMENT
1. Corey Ackers
2. Nathan Lawson
Say if we can add Atkinson, Lodge/May and Dewey, that’s a much better squad than in recent years with only a few planks remaining. It’s a significant improvement from positions 17-30.

Victoire

I just think we would have offered him more money to come to league than 100-150k whatever the max dev salary is, I think we just have to reshuffle a few deck chairs before next season.
From what I've gathered, since he's more of a 7s specialist, and there are now only 4 Australian super rugby clubs, the job market might be a little bleak in the grand old private schools' game. Plus the fact he plays for the Southern Districts team which is essentially a St George/Shire club would mean he doesn't have to account for moving costs. A minimum wage deal makes sense really

justadragon

Article I read today says Lodge is still on the market, will decide things after his boxing match. Personally I think this deal has been going on in the background for quite a while. Flanno is letting him have his boxing match then talk further. Odds with May probably are not good. Anyway I reckon we find out in a few weeks.

Dragon David

You would think with the Tigers and Dogs having the penrith connection those 2 clubs would be favourite over us, unless the connections he has made with the Samoan team may work in our favour as well
I know that Trent Robinson has said that the Roosters were going in a "different" direction and therefore while he considers May to be a good player, he doesn't think that May would be suitable to be part of the direction Robbo is proposing for the Chooks? I know that Robbo would set the bar high for his players, but letting May go seems very strange to me.

There must be some other aspects of May like with his attitude of some days he wants to play and others he doesn't and that he could give the sport away? So if Robbo can't fix that then I think that coaches like Benji and Ciraldo would find it hard to keep May interested in training and playing every week.

When a player has this type of attitude it won't help the other guys in the squad. Like he could say - "I've got the shits training and playing. I don't feel up to it this week. I might give the game away". These negative things could have detrimental effects on the other players. Do we need a guy like this?

Harry Bath

I know that Trent Robinson has said that the Roosters were going in a "different" direction and therefore while he considers May to be a good player, he doesn't think that May would be suitable to be part of the direction Robbo is proposing for the Chooks? I know that Robbo would set the bar high for his players, but letting May go seems very strange to me.

There must be some other aspects of May like with his attitude of some days he wants to play and others he doesn't and that he could give the sport away? So if Robbo can't fix that then I think that coaches like Benji and Ciraldo would find it hard to keep May interested in training and playing every week.

When a player has this type of attitude it won't help the other guys in the squad. Like he could say - "I've got the shits training and playing. I don't feel up to it this week. I might give the game away". These negative things could have detrimental effects on the other players. Do we need a guy like this?
He will go to the Dogs so no need to worry

Dragsters

This has been my primary concern with him ever since reading his statements around being unmotivated, uninterested in the game.

No doubt he has talent and potential but if if he lacks drive the that can be cancerous in a team environment.

Also explains why the chooks are happy to release him.

Massive risk imo...

mattw5

Article I read today says Lodge is still on the market, will decide things after his boxing match. Personally I think this deal has been going on in the background for quite a while. Flanno is letting him have his boxing match then talk further. Odds with May probably are not good. Anyway I reckon we find out in a few weeks.

Works in our favour the longer it drags on the less we have to pay him i suppose.

Dragonsteve2

Who on earth gave Lawrie such a long contract extension? ,you would think he was the dragons Nathan Cleary !!!
There are many things for which club admin/footy dept could be criticised forsince Bennett left but not for extending a local junior who was regarded as the club's best player in 2023 and captained the team once or twice. Who could have predicted that he would become the least valuable prop in 2024? Blokes like Max Feagai and BMM played much better in 2024 after Flano said they could look around for a new club a year ago. Who knows, with the attempt to move him on and his old mate Zac gone Lawrie may realise he has got to do better.